Methodist Children's Home Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad morale at the campus and ranch
Staff (Current Employee) –  Hewitt, TXDecember 5, 2016
this campus lost some good adminstrators, hence the place has gone downhill for care. Management come and go as the please. They will always keep there jobs because they abide by the ridiculous rules that come down from above, and are able to do nothing and work what they want. The children's are amazing and it was so much fun working with them. Loved my job but couldn't handle the higher ups.
Pros
Relax environment
Cons
Management and all the higher ups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Youth Care Counselor - YCC II (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 20, 2016
Methodist Children's Home is a great organization to be a part of. If you love to build relationships with at risk youth and help them achieve success in life, this is the place to work.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christian ministry to at-risk children and families
Program Administrator (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 22, 2015
Excellent services for children and families. MCH offers residential care at two locations with an on grounds charter school. Programs include recreation, athletics and FFA. Working with at-risk children is always challenging but has rewards also. Administrations seeks to treat everyone fairly. Staff are dedicated to the mission.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
El Paso Outreach Office Program Director (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 23, 2014
Flexible and providing good services for the community. A small staff office where you can work as a team to be able to provide the proper services to families within the community.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Traveling within the community
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 2, 2014
I got my first start with working with children and I absolutely loved working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Recreational Therapy Intern (Current Employee) –  Redford, MIAugust 7, 2014
A typical day at Methodist Children’s Home varies depending upon which day of the week it is. Every day there is an activity that is planned, budgeted, and carried out by me. I also plan group therapy sessions two times a week for 4 different groups of children. I also plan and develop individual therapy sessions.

What I loved most about my internship is how much I have learned in the months that I have been a part of Methodist. I feel confident that my skills and fresh ideas will make me an excellent attribute to any team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found my calling
Therapeutic Recreation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 19, 2014
Working at Methodist Children's Home helped me find my calling to work with children and staff. I fell in love with training here and it has defined my life since.
Pros
Colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for and great benefits. Plus it was rewarding!
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 23, 2014
Over-all I was very pleased with the organization, I left because I was very tired after working most of the last year 24/7
Pros
Great retirement and medical benefits
Cons
too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Group Home Parent (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 22, 2014
Great job. I had the most lovable supervisor and co workers. Everyone worked as a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location and beautiful campus
Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 23, 2013
A typical day at work depends on how the kids are feeling. If they are wired up, so is your day. It is very challenging but the relationships you build are priceless.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable Workload, Flexible Hours, Productive
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 29, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job was reuinifying children with their biological families or placing children in permanent adoptive homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work!
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXJune 25, 2013
Methodist Children's Home was a wonderful place to work. Everyday I looked forward to going to work. Although some days brought forth a challenge, I was truly blessed to have such a wonderful job. I enjoyed learning and growing not only in my position, but from those who worked along side me. Management made me feel appreciated and was always encouraging. The hardest part of my job was finding out that our campus was closing.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
The campus closed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Ruston, LAJune 24, 2013
After the first year of employment management changed and things went downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
can't think of a con (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 26, 2012
Worked with at risk youth. Loved it! They work with you on you going back to school and hours.
Pros
school
Cons
cant
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very rewarding working with young people.
My job was Psych. Tech. (Former Employee) –  Ruston, LA.January 5, 2012
I was employed in this field for 10 years. I found the work personally satisfactory. I enjoyed helping the young kids structure their daily routines so that one day they would become productive members of society.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Methodist Children's Home. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.9

Methodist Children's Home Reviews by Location