Methodist Dallas Medical Center

Methodist Dallas Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work in the ICU
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 18, 2017
management is awful - definitely do not have the qualifications to qualify for magnet status and are too busy talking bad about their coworkers instead of congratulating them for saving lives
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retain hard working employees
NEUROPHYSIOLOGY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 5, 2017
Show up to work and give it your best, if so you will easily keep your position. Little room for growth if in a dead end position. High intensity every day. Depending on job role, experience high acuity medicine across many specialties. Large hospital with plenty of room to take a quiet lunch break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a weekender in the Operating Room, the work-life balance is excellent
RN Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Working weekend nights at a level 1 trauma center, there is truly not a "typical" work day. The "feast or famine" rule definitely applies. There is always work to do, of course, but the stress level can be intense in the event of severe trauma.

Although there have been some management issues in the past, the current department management are very involved in day to day operations and employee morale has improved immensely. This is a very busy facility but the workload is distributed equitably. The staff are friendly and cooperative and new employees are quickly accepted as team members.
Pros
Multiple specialties, continuing education opportunities, supportive management staff
Cons
At times, very busy, with long intense cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with some of the physicians.
HIM Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 10, 2017
Worked with many departments doing research and audits. The workplace culture could be very complexed. Working in the department was knowledgeable.
Pros
Enjoyed some of the management in-services.
Cons
Employees did not always cooperate with each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to grow
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 1, 2017
I started here as a nurse extern and transitioned into the RN role. The highlights are the education programs. El Centro does a collaboration for hospital employees/volunteers and employee family members to get their ADN. There is tuition reimbursement for BSN and some graduate schooling. There is also reimbursement for certification in your specialties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registration
Registration Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 11, 2017
Worked 12 hour shifts registering patient in the ER. Very busy atmosphere. Hours are good for students. Pay was not so great but you learned a lot about how things work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sitter/Patient Safety Technician (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 7, 2016
Methodist Hospital is a great place to work. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the work hours are hard to beat, and the pay is fair. You have to be willing and able to handle stressful patients and long shifts however, so it isn't for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support team
Neuro Critical Care & Wound &Ostomy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 1, 2016
12-hr shifts caring for neuro critical care patients with overflow from the intensive care unit. Great team support. I love what I do and the patients I care for.
Pros
Flexibility, occasional free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load
Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 19, 2016
i loved working there as an educator.
friendly staff
great Human Resource team
felt the expectations were unreasonable at time. high standards are good but unreasonable at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving patients, helping patients and oher employees
Student Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 6, 2016
A typical day at Methodist Hospital was always interesting, you never know what problems your were going to run into. It definitely was a challenge which is what i like.
I learned pushing patients in wheelchairs to their correct locations is just as important as saving them.
Management was fantastic, they knew how to talk to everyone respectfully and full of passion about their jobs, and if you had any questions they weren't unapproachable to ask.
Hardest part of the job was that the hospital so big that it was honestly like a maze to find the patients proper rooms.
The enjoyable part was talking to the patients to get them more comfortable and putting smiles on their faces while walking them to their locations, and I love mazes so it was hard but fun also
Pros
Meet different people everyday, excerise, entertaining the patients
Cons
chances of getting sick, and getting lost
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underappreciated
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 20, 2016
Methodist Dallas expects a lot from their nurses. You are the main point of contact for everyone, phone is constantly ringing, high demands placed on nurse while management sits in their office and doesn't offer to help. Nurses are all new and most inexperienced. You have to float a lot to help other short departments. Nurses and techs don't stay more than a year due to high stress environment.
Pros
pay is okay
Cons
poor manaement, nurse does everyones job, high turnover, stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nurse Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 27, 2016
A typical day at work is fast paced .
You have to attend to a high number of varied priority requests (interruptions) while still trying to produce your expected numbers daily.
The line managers need to have management training. they need improvement in delegation and micro management minimization.
Pros
Warm Atmosphere
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited opportunity for advancement
Registered Nurse- ED (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 9, 2015
-limited opportunity for advancement
-management purposely keeps staffing low to cut costs
-management does not care of the employee's hard work and dedication to the company, does not compensate them appropriately, does not care if they stay or go
-high employee turnover due to poor management
Pros
self-scheduling
Cons
poorly staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2015
I like the other nurses working here. The place was fun and peaceful making the night go by quickly and efficiently. Had a lot of fun, learning and being able to care for those who needed care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
Patient Care Tech (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 25, 2015
I worked on a cardiac /med surg unit with a great group of nurses and techs we worked as a team to make sure all of the patients were taken care of adequately.
Pros
self-scheduling
Cons
management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
EVS Aide (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXOctober 7, 2015
I learned alot from the staff and found working around the patients very comfortable. The experience is wonderful.and i would recommend those interested in working with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work, meeting new people and great staff
Volunteer Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 19, 2015
I enjoy what I do, meeting new people, getting to know them and helping when they need help. What I enjoy the most is putting smiles on their faces when they walk through the doors showing hospitality. I am able to take classes for free, lunch discounts and most of all getting to help the patients that come to the hospital. Working with the staff is good it has it's up's and down's but more up's then down's. It's a fun place to work at, I get to move around and work other departments through out the hospital and just enjoy what I do.
Pros
educational classes (free)
Cons
sometimes short handed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Environmental Services Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 3, 2015
•Answered telephones and transferred calls to appropriate supervisors
•Purchased office equipment, housekeeping supplies and submitting requisitions for major contracts by contacting vendors
•Organized the scheduling of department meetings to include catering and distrusted minutes
•Responsible for providing orientation to new employees using HHA Services training videos and administering test
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Change in Directors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 29, 2015
I absolutely love working at a Level 1 Trauma Center! Methodist is the BEST! I have learned so much in just 6 months that I am excited for the future here!
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 23, 2015
It was a typical day at work. I enjoyed the work. Most of the co-workers were very helpful. The most enjoyable part about the job was the learning of new things.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Methodist Dallas Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

Methodist Dallas Medical Center Reviews by Location