Find companies:
Methodist Dallas Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Methodist Dallas Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, extremely stressful, great people to work with
Labor & Delivery, Triage Tech, and OR Scrub Tech (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 7, 2014
I typically hit the floor running. Extremely busy L&D Unit. It is a Level 3, Trauma hospital so naturally I saw and learned a tremendous amount about the birth of babies. The people that work there are absolutely wonderful to work with, I made lifetime friends. The best part of the job was naturally the miraculous birth of a child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: free $6 meals, great friend staff
I enjoy Volunteering at Methodist Hospital. I meet many different people, get to interact with many employees and patients. Great place to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
OR Staff Nurse Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 3, 2014
Learning experiences were good and many different things came through. Management was new and did not run things very efficiently but did a good job. co-workers were willing to teach and I learned a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasSeptember 30, 2013
Excellent opportunity to work with at a wide range of populations in crisis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I truly enjoyed working at this hospital. They were 100% in support of my skills as a LVN and supported me going back to school.
Staff Nurse - 4NE, Med-Surg Telemetry (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great environment to develop nursing career, "patient is 1st" attitude, great coworkers
Cons: had to work night shifts, weekends and holidays, very stressful most fo the time but can't be helped due to the nature of the job
Methodist Dallas allowed me to grow as a nurse, personally and professionally. I was given opportunities in many areas....med-surg, telemetry, rehab, ortho, neuro, wound care, auditing, management, staff education and patient teaching and advocacy. While at Methodist, I was awarded the Allie Rae Dixon award for patient advocacy. I developed nursing – more... friendships that I continue to have today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 19, 2013
Worked on the Liver & Kidney Transplant floor where I performed vital signs, phlebotomy, assessment of patient status and status changes, assist patients with needs and morning care, I&Os, support nurses and fellow staff with patient care and any other needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive work environment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 10, 2013
I spent a decade at this facility and have been invited to return after having decided to take some time off for myself (new grandchild).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait and Switch (a Sinking Ship)
(a part of the leadership) (Current Employee), Dallas, TexasFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: nice (but naive or fearful) managers, directors and co-workers; compensation was adequate for the job description, but not for the actural work
Cons: everything else
Be very cautious, ask the tough questions, and get everything in writing. If you are talented, Methodist Dalllas will lure you in with a nice-looking comp package and then try to curtail your actions so that they can try to justify their own corrupt actions.
They are failing miserably and are robbing Peter to pay Paul. They are only interested in appearing – more... to be strong and competitive and have no chance of survival in this google-aware and quality-driven culture. They continue to make the same mistakes and are not serious about implementing permanent and proven solutions. They lead through intimidation and are not open to outsiders' suggestions. Most of those in leadership have only worked within this system (the Methodist way). They will use you to 'check' a regulatory box (so they can appear to be doing the right things). They expect you to go along and do what you are told and not question the very tainted leadership. You are suppose to go to the gatherings, eat, greet, smile, and keep your mouth closed.
What they don't tell you: not enough staff; no budget for continuing education or professional development; no budget to replace failing equipment; they are still using an outdated operating system; the wireless environment fails and most of the time you are prevented from doing your job.
The Dallas Methodist hosipital is connected to the DFW MHS, but is not connected with the other Methodist hospitals around the country. It gives other Methodist hospitals a bad name. If you are a newbee to healthcare, this is no place to begin your career. If you have solid work experience, you will be disappointed. If you are burned out and want to coast to retirement, this is just the place for you (if they last that long).
Do your homework. Then RUN, don't walk, away from this 'Good Ole Boy' sinking ship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Excellent Work Environment
Volunteer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 24, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short brakes
Friendly environment that exercises good service to the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
n/a (Former Employee), n/aOctober 25, 2012
Very unprofessional and rude. Sent me to the wrong location for an interview for a position that had already been filled. Then all the recruiter had to say was sorry. The recruiter is the weakest linkm
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are the best
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 4, 2012
Good place to get a lot of experience.
Lots of tram, OR c-arm, portables.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i have ever worked
CT/X-ray Technologist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 25, 2012
Pros: wonderful cafe, great ppl
Cons: the cons no longer work there
This employer taught me alot. I had great coworkers! The hardest part of my job was managing my emotions for our trauma patients. However it was also the most enjoyable part when I knew that what I was doing was going to make a difference in saving their lives. This facility offered a lot of learning and advancing opportunities. I had a bad experience – more... with this opportunity however I feel that since my experience the policies have improved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital, great values
Radiology Technologist II (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 22, 2012
Pros: occasional opportunities to cross-train into ct, rotation through variety of assignments
Cons: expensive healthcare, compensation below market rate, not so safe location
A great hospital that regards compassionate patient care as a priority.

Zachery – July 31, 2012

This hospital used to be a good place to work for nurses but has really gone down over the years. Nursing management is disrespectful toward job applicants when it comes to setting up interviews and then not showing up to the scheduled interview. The hospital location has never been in a safe environment.

– March 2, 2013

I do not know what Methodist is like to work for but there is nothing unsafe about the location. Oak Cliff is perceived to be unsafe and some areas are below pare, but Methodist lies at the edge of Kessler Park, a very nice and affluent part of Dallas. I have lived 2 miles from the hospital for over 20 years and feel perfectly safe.

About Methodist Dallas Medical Center

Why does a career at Methodist Health System outshine the others? To start with, we truly value our employees and we show it by – Read more