Find companies:
Metro Storage LLC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Metro Storage LLC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work that involves heavy customer service.
Storage Consultant (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TexasMay 6, 2014
Pros: flexibility
My work includes renting storage units, cleaning storage units, lead calling and tracking, successfully completing contract and lien paperwork. We track our competition as well. Most days are activity filled and require the ability to be detail oriented, mulit task, completion of assignments and reports, heavy customer interaction on the phone and in – more... person. I like it because it allows to me work inside and outside the office.

I work well with my co workers and it is wonderful team environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Assistant Storage Consultant (Former Employee), Batavia, ILApril 14, 2014
I worked here for 10 years with very minimal advancement. Not many raises nor incentive to grow. Worked really hard and never seemed to pay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work at your own pace.
Storage Consultant (Current Employee), Stanhope, NJMarch 4, 2014
Open up the store. Count the cash and petty cash. Go over any emails and take care of anything in the emails that need addressed. Prepare reports for the day. Assist any customers that come in, needing to set up an account or make payment. Make collection calls every 2-3 days. Walk the property 2 times a day to check to make sure locks are on properly, – more... and to clean the facility. Clean the office and restroom. prepare end of day reports and then lock up and leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1
Site Operations Manager (Current Employee), Lithonia, GADecember 1, 2013
renting storage, collections completing a property check daily, curb appeal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling units for customers was fun.
Property Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaJuly 28, 2013
Pros: when having down time, got to sit at a desk.
Cons: uncertain if company would stay.
The company was going thru changes when I worked there. The company was sold and the Regional Manager was replaced twice. Had only 1 co-worker, who worked hard, but left soon after I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DM inept, horrible pay and immature employees.
Property Manager (Former Employee), FloridaJune 30, 2013
Cons: leaving was the best decision i ever made
I was miserable while working for this company. The DM played favorites and only told you what you did wrong and never complimented you on job(s) well done. They pay you an insulting wage and give you a rent free apartment in exchange but the wage is so bad and the bonuses are such a joke that the free apartment does not offset the monthly paycheck. – more... The staff are extremely immature as they constantly gossip and also, they do not pull their weight when it comes to assisting the property manager. I would not only NOT recommend working here but I would not store here either. They do not spray the units for bugs like most other storage companies do. If you choose to store here be prepared to find roach and rat droppings in your boxes and furniture and if you choose to work here be prepared to work for a horrible hourly salary and absolutely never move up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Growing Company
Property Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 7, 2013
Pros: health care, working for a company that cares for their employees as well as the community, ability to work independently as well as with others, etc
Cons: compensation, hours
I have managed a storage facility for the last five years. I handle payments, leases, customer issues, vendor relations and general administrative tasks. I have learned how to work independently and efficiently. I have worked under strong district managers who push for us to excel in all levels of our positions.

The hardest part of my job is dealing – more... with customer issues regarding past due rent. In the state of Illinois, when a unit is past due, it is liquidated. I do my best to work with customers to settle out on accounts so they can keep their belongings but unfortunately, it does not always work and we do have to proceed with auctions.

The most enjoyable part of my job is problem solving. I love the sense of accomplishment when I can overcome a difficult situation. It is rewarding coming up with a solution that is beneficial to both my company as well as our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, management and properties
Resident Property Manager (Former Employee), Sarasota FloridaMay 19, 2013
Pros: great management, empowering their employees, wages and benefits
I worked for Metro Self Storage for 3 1/2 years in Sarasota FL. I thoroughly enjoyed working for this company, they provided me with their support and backing during the entire time of my employment. They were excellent in empowering me to do the job needed at my property. I am still in the self storage industry in Texas and always look back on my time – more... with Metro as a great learning and development experience. I compare other companies in the industry to Metro, too bad all companies can't be like this one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, friendly staff, reasonable wages.
Property Manager (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILApril 17, 2013
Pros: fair wages, organized, friendly work environment.
Cons: little room for advancement, poor benefits, micro management.
Having worked for three other self storage companies, I can say that Metro Self Storage has a very organized infrastructure. They do seem to care about the quality of the working conditions for their staff. Their wages are comparable and fairly reasonable, though their benefits packages leave much to be desired.

It is an mostly rewarding job but there – more... are a few draw backs. I can say that with 14 years experience in the self storage industry that I have worked for much less pleasant companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume Property, Love It
On-Site Property Manager (Former Employee), La Marque, TXMarch 28, 2013
This property was very challenging. When I first came to this property, it was at 67% occ sq ft. With a lot of strategic marketing, gaining the trust of the current tenants, delivering Superb Customer Service, and a whole lot TCL, I was able to increase the sq. ft occ to 88.6% in the 1st part of March of 2013.

I love challenges and challenging properties. – more... I have an eye for the smallest detail and no task is too small or too big. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically advanced company
District Manager (Former Employee), Western United StatesFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: great company
Cons: centered in mid west
Metro is on the cutting edge in systems and procedures in the storage industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Economy changed style of management to lower standards
Property Manager (Current Employee), Palatine, ILNovember 14, 2012
Pros: facility prospered and budgets grew with improvements
Cons: poor leadership, changed three times in four years
Took advanced position with higher compensation and plus benefits with better bonusing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the best company I ever worked for!
Resident Property Manager (Former Employee), Largo, FLOctober 19, 2012
Pros: living on site fantastic apartment, compensation, owners
Cons: nothing loved it!
I loved the owners of this company, the upper management team, my coworkers, I love to interact with people and customer service is my top priority. This job allowed me to do that and never get bored with the cleaning of the storage units, and showing them and taking care of the grounds you were always busy. I would have retired here if I had not gotten – more... married and had to move to North Carolina where my now ExHusband was stationed in the military at Fort Bragg. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Manager
Property Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2012
Pros: leaving the job
Cons: working for the company
Wondering if the boss would come in to let me know what a bad job I was doing.
I learned not to trust the owners.
My co-workers kept to themselfs which we all learned to do.
Hardest part was just working for the company
The best was leaving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILMay 30, 2012
Responsible for preparing and maintaining customer
Accounts; Processed, verified and managed insurance on accounts;
Accounts payable and Accounts receivables duties. Responsible for end of
month duties, cash handling, and the scheduling of monthly meetings.