Find companies:
Metro
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
390 reviews

Metro United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very educational
Bus Operator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 16, 2013
I enjoyed working with the public and I enjoyed working with most of my co-workers I really enjoyed driving the buses. most of my days were very interesting and really helped me to understand what working with the general public was really like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a temporary position.
Diverse Staff (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 11, 2013
Pros: traveling around the city. seeing new things.
Cons: temporary.
It was a surveying job thru a surveying company hired by Metro Transit. We had to get on different bus routes everyday for two to three months asking the customers to fill out a survey and give their opinion about Metro Services. It was great learning new things about the city of Houston,like I did not know that Metro will take you to both of the major Airports. I love meeting new people. The only thing it was just temporary and not a permanent position. Also it can be dangerous being on public transit. A guy tried to rob me but I did not have my valuables with me. Also a customer had a seisure on the bus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work but fun
Seasonal Park Worker (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 26, 2013
It was fun to work with the people at the park, and the supervisors and rangers were helpful and courteous. Didn't make me feel... out of place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring
assistant game official (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDNovember 15, 2013
Had to be up pretty early, the travel time was ridiculous. Had some free time but work conditions were unbearable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable workplace, not allowed to talk to each other
Patients Account Specialist/Data Entry (Former Employee), Oxon Hill, MDNovember 2, 2013
Pros: 2/15mins breaks
Cons: no health insurance and direct deposit
I start my day very early clock-in first, check the phones for any messaging, turn phones on, I have learn how to deal with the customers in a very effective and friendly manner. Management is excellent in giving assignments and assisting. The hardest part of my job is having nothing to do I'm there to do a job so I like to stay very business. The most enjoyable part is making a customer or a client happy and a smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced type of environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 5, 2013
Pros: relaxing space available;room to advance
Cons: no breaks, short lunches
Working with this company was very fast paced and there was no time for breathing.This was a non-stop customer service position that became very over whelming. The staff was very nice and understanding group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Center providing a variety of services to New York State
Technology Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 12, 2013
Center provides a variety of technical assistance and support for the changing educational needs of K-12 professionals in New York State.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Experience
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 5, 2013
Participated in forecasting and budgeting. Reviewed financial statements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Office Manager (Current Employee), DTMSeptember 4, 2013
Good place to learn. Learned how to take trash and turn it into cash. Management is by on hands owner. Co-worker's are a great people to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Operator
Bus Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 20, 2013
Drive buses on regular routes; make periodic stops to load or discharge passengers; perform related work and assigned tasks as required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job decent pay
Traction Power Electrician (Current Employee), St.louisAugust 6, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no advancement
Metro is a good job to have if you don't care about advancement. The pay is really good for the area and the atmosphere is real layed back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 20, 2013
Pros: people friendly
Cons: crime/assault
A very customer friendly enviromental people moving company with a great community connection of all facades of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job position bad mangement
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 17, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: vacation time not respected
I enjoyed workin because its an easy position and well paid but the supervisor and management team are horrible they are unexperienced on their position and handle different situations bad without knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STH Call Center
St. Thomas Heart Physician Services (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 17, 2013
The STH Call Center consist of 15 associates who maintain 55 physician schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
security guard (Former Employee), baltimore mdJuly 11, 2013
Pros: work with cool peoples
Cons: encounter with someone having a bad day
a day at work here can be frustrating but for the most part it build me as a individual in the work field to learn how to deal with different types of people from the nice to the mean ones. Management was not the best but ok. but the hardest part was to stand up for a 12 hours shift sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with the public
Driver/Operator (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 10, 2013
Pros: work schdule change every three months
Cons: may not get more then a break at the end of the line
There is never a typical day at work cause you never know what traffic may be like or what type of customers you may board.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Director of Operations (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 4, 2013
Nice place to work, demanding and rewarding. Customer and employee driven environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
staff writer (Former Employee), LA, CAMay 30, 2013
daily newspaper, focus on Korean-American life related issues,
good experience but not a good career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2013
Pros: seeing a student achieve goals, and show results.
Cons: administration is not involved, not understanding with population.
Very involved with students and rewarding to see
a chiled with a disability reach a goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job not a career
Van Operator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 2, 2013
Pros: pay & benefits
Cons: managment's lack of knowledge on the road & no accomendations for drivers
Overall I had no problem with Metro. My coworkers were great and most of my passengers were as well. However the atmosphere was bad. Not professional at all. Company does not help drivers in any way and they will use you when they can and place blame on you for everything under the sun, even when the facts say otherwise. Pay can be good but you will go through a lot because Metro does not accomodate for their drivers going through dangerous conditions whether its dealing with the sickly, unruly passengers, road conditions or weather.

About Metro

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) is unique among the nation's transportation agencies. It serves – Read more

Metro Salaries

Part-time Associate
$17.29 per hour
Bus Operator
$15.38 per hour
$46,000 per year
Lead Cook
$13.46 per hour
Restaurant Worker
$9.41 per hour