Find companies:
Metropolitan Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Metropolitan Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Teaching the Trade
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Omaha NeOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: un organized
Vatterott was driven by the amount of students entered into the program, There was a need for more promotions of the school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hires various professionals to teach students
Consultant, Part-time (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 7, 2014
As part of the CUNY system, this school is a good stepping stone to achieve an affordable education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee), KSAugust 7, 2014
Pros: fun and flexible
Cons: short
Assisted students with computer-use
• Refined skills in Access and Excel
• Refined customer service skill in handling the variety of student backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place!
Adjunct Professor - Ground Courses (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 10, 2014
The Dean is amazing and trusts the instructors to provide an enriching and engaging learning environment to their students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with a great mission
Student Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJune 23, 2014
Metropolitan Community College is a wonderful work enviornment and has great facilities for it's staff and students. I work with students with helping them obtain their high school diploma while transitioning into college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, but management doesn't listen to its employees
Science Department Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Elkhorn, NEMay 12, 2014
It is an academic environment where students are learning. It is typical of any school, but the management doesn't listen to its employees needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin. Asst./Tutor
Admin. Asst./Tutor (Former Employee), Omaha, NebraskaMarch 19, 2014
Worked part-time for continuing education department and part-time as tutor for medical terminology and medical ethics courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and moving
IT Analyst (Current Employee), omaha NebraskaDecember 17, 2013
Pros: benifits pay
Cons: no breaks, no chance of moving up the ladder
jack of all trades master of some. Ive learned alot about differnt softwares. managment is not the best they run there campus like thereoun ship not a college.I like my co workers alot, hardest part of the job is to get classrooms set up right before the class starts because managment didnt get the instrutions right and right times. the most fun is – more... the job and the Anaylst they know and work as a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Tutor (Former Employee), Lees Summit, MODecember 11, 2013
Being a tutor is no easy task. It really helped keep my brain sharp during the three and a half years of my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opporutnity to play a role in someones education
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee), Omaha, NEDecember 6, 2013
Pros: chaning lives
Cons: no negatives its all about growth
A typical day of work for me would immediately begin assisting students who were seeking additional assistance in their course of study. I make student inquires and handle student request. The hardest part of my job is having a student that is failing. I ensure them by letting them know that they have a support system here. The most enjoyable part about – more... my job is changing lives. Seeing a student start from the beginning and finishing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee), kansas city, MOOctober 8, 2013
Pros: educational
Cons: minimal pay
It is very good place for student to work. It is much more better than working at a restaurant. It has friendly, professional, and educational environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a certified tumor registrar who have the required the skill, experience, and knowledge to complete the task with enjoy
Medical Information Specialist (Current Employee), Kansas City KansasSeptember 25, 2013
My job is specialized to identify reportable cancer cases by confirming the diagnosis clinically or pathologically; abstract patient demographic information, diagnostic workup with clinical and pathological staging, and epidemiologic treatment. Also provide the training to the reporting hospitals, physician offices, and outpatient setting facilities.
I – more... love my job and I love abstrating cancer cases; it tells many cancer stories. I was a nurse before and now I am a certified tumor registrar. So glade to put my previous experience in use.
After three years work together, I like my boss and co-worker. There is nothing nicer than your boss and co-worker can understanding you as a friend, a family; and so do I. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment but needs improvement in some areas
Student Services Assistant (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 9, 2013
Metropolitan Community College can increase there diversity in upper level management. I think they need to increase there communication between executive board and employees. Overall it's an excellent place to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City,MO.May 2, 2013
Pros: i was constantly learning all the time.
Cons: there wasn't enough work hours, it was a seasonal/temporary/part-time job.
I learned so much,right on the job,skills that I can take with me,wherever my next job may be,truly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Relations
Lab Technician (Current Employee), Lee's Summit, MOApril 25, 2013
Pros: flexability
Cons: compensation
• Provided student assistance with computer related task
• Maintained a safe and clean environment
• Enforced policies and procedures outlined in the computer lab’s operation manual
• Recruited and scheduled students in compliance to the computer lab’s hours of operation
• Facilitated new employee orientation
• Oversaw computer operations and troubleshooting – more... IT related issues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the greenhouse and with teachers and students
Greenhouse Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 19, 2013
A typical day was filled with taking care of the greenhouse and garden beds where the horticulture department was located. I also instructed and managed the work study students in the daily duties needed to be done. The teachers also required me to help with classes and with projects needing done for their students. The hardest part of this job was – more... learning to work with a diverse group of people, from older people to young people just out of high school. I enjoyed most about this job was that their was always something new to take care of. This helped keep the job fresh and interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Technology/Special Projects Coordinator (Former Employee), Lees Summit MOFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: reviews, communication
Difficult to work with. Environment a bit strange. Expectation for actual job description convoluted. Attempted to fill the void with a very generic job title: "Technology/Special Projects Coord", where "Special Projects" ended up far too vague.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got some good training. Good pay and benefits. Bad superviisors
Day Custodian (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 15, 2012
Pros: great pay, benefits
Cons: abusive management
I was assigned to a certain part of the campus.
This was my third campus in 4 years.
I got good compliments on my work from the teachers. I recieved training in floor stripping and waz, carpet extraction, and restroom cleaning.

The management was to "old school" but it was maintenance and this is how they were taught.
I heard recently there was some – more... "house cleaning"
going on, so maybe someone got wise.

Toward the end it was obvious due to the recession budgets were being cut. The called me in and offered to let me resign with all my vacation and serverance(about $4000.) I took it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and fun, supportive place to work
Office and Art Studio Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOOctober 3, 2012
Pros: flex time
Cons: worked mostly by myself
*Greet students, help them with directions and computers. Monitor computer lab so students could use it.
* Answered phones and made needed calls.
*Made address mailing files along with labels.
*Self-paced was the best part of the job along with the freedom to design displays for Art work and student information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly working environment, autonomy, good pay, good benefits and no weekends
Surgical Technologist Instructor (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: weekdays, clean and comfortable learning environment, garage parking, awesome opportunity for me to grow.
Cons: the college a good distance from where i live, there were times we ran out of supplies because of the ball getting dropped somewhere along the line, but overall it was really very positive, i can't think of many cons.
I get to share my skills and knowledge with students who have the desire to enter into the field of Surgical Technology. It keeps me on my toes and I am learning new things from the students as they do their clinicals.

I have the support and backing of my Director and Administration to have the freedom to Instruct my class how I see fit, within the – more... guidelines of course.

I think the hardest part of the job for me was getting comfortable and confident in my skin as an Instructor, keeping that professional line drawn but still be approachable, and having to tell a student they are no longer in the program due to various types of circumstances. I want all my students to succeed so when I have to deal with that kind of situation it is sad

The school values the Allied Health programs and evidence of that is 2 state of the art O.R labs we have to teach hands on skills and expose and prepare the students for the real O.R .

They are very pro community and encourage classes and/or programs to do community outreaches. My class collected baby items for a home that housed teen mothers. The school sent an event employee to take pictures and write an article about our class. It was put in the faculty monthly magazine. It encouraged others to do the same, reach out beyond the 4 walls of the classroom to our community

It has been a positive and fun experience. – less