Metropolitan Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Blood Bank Midnight Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2016
workload is light management is flexible and people are wonderful. Best part of the job is autonomy. I would recommend people to stay and work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job Experience
ASSISTANT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH THERAPIST (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 2, 2016
I was not able to relocate at the time with my employers and so I had to resign. I had one of my best experience working with an individual client. I learned a lot about autism and gained a lot of respect from my employers as well as the organization I was assigned to. I love mental health and the roles I play while delivering quality service and care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ER Nurse Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2015
I learned a lot at Metropolitan Hospital. The staff nurses taught me a lot especially on how to handle a patient. They allow me to do vital signs, some assessments and some procedures to their patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work environment
RRT (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2015
Best place that I have been working since so far in Respiratory therapy in NYC.
Best environment , best people, and best Director.


Overall, The best of the best !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, challenging and rewarding
Clerk Associate (Former Employee) –  New YorkJuly 16, 2015
I really enjoyed working there because I had the experience to interact with a diversity of patients with different personality. It was gratifying to help and assist those in needs.
Pros
being able to interact, serve and care for people
Cons
temporary employees are never hired. I was there for a few years with no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2015
a typical day i just organize the room making sure everything is clean for patients. Do the census and making sure the nurse give us the ok for patients who can go to the playroom

What i learn its not always fun and games in the playroom. yes i can at time have fun with the patients but i also have to be ready when it comes to safety and the well being of the patients

the people i work with are fun to work with i don't have any problems with them since i'm close to there age

The hardest part of the job would be when our room is filled with patients while there's only 2 of us keeping a watch but even so its a good challenge at times
The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction i have with the patients.It's a playroom a place for the patients not to worry about tests and not feel like they are locked up in there room
Pros
free lunches, fun experiences with young volunteer, patient and people i work with
Cons
My boss work me abit too much. most of the time its just me doing all the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hospital and medical staff with a mission to serve!
CAO/COO- PAGNY @ Metropolitan Hospital (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2015
Great safety net public hospital with a caring staff. Very find physician staff that provide quality care to people in need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent Hospital
Vascular Technician (Temporary Work) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 29, 2015
Nice Hospital and a good Team.
with excellent benefit.
Pros
They're very well managed. Opportunities to learn all aspects of the hospital.
Pay for your education, good experience that will prepare you for future jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good nursing experience
Radiological Nurse (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 13, 2015
I gained a lot of new skills working at Metropolitan Hospital Center,
learned many procedures, participated in emergency situations. I received a great experience as a nurse working in that facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work with the satisfaction of knowing people in need were being helped everyday.
Behavioral Health Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2015
I took care of patients with mental illnesses inside of an inpatient psychiatry unit. Through teamwork with Social Workers, Doctors, and Nurses we created a therapeutic environment to facilitate safe discharge of patients based on their individual needs. My responsibilities included writing daily reviews of patients behavior and any changes thereof, as well as conducting group therapy sessions. I also was responsible for doing rounds every 15 minutes to ensure the location and safety of our inpatients.I learned much about different mental illnesses I was never aware of before, I learned how to take advice and criticism from management such as my head nurse and unit Chief Doctor. The hardest part of the job was dealing with patients while they had emotional and physical outbursts with other patients as well as myself and my colleagues. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing our hard work pay off and patients activities of daily living return to normal and seeing them safely discharged home or to an assisted living facility and knowing that we helped them achieve this goal.
Pros
having two weekends off every month, as well as the fact i knew i was helping people in need, another pro was having comfortable lounges for breaks and employee celebrations
Cons
when patients would quickly return after being discharged, despite the hard work our team had done to get them back on track
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern in the OB/GYN Department
Intern in Obstetrics/Gynecology Department (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 3, 2015
I learned a lot about the ins and outs of hospital life. There are a lot of strict procedures to be followed. Very unpredictable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and extremely busy enviorment
Clerical Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2015
A friendly enviornment
Team work
Hardest part of the job is being exposed to many sick people and having no insurance working for a temp. agency
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast work place
Clerical Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2014
A typical day at work would be registering and admitting patients. The hardest part of the job is to find the patients because sometimes they're not at the location indicated to us employees. The most enjoyable part of my job is hearing a thank you from a patient that I have helped.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and fun i really love working there.
MEDICAL TECHNOLOGIST II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2013
its good this is a gov't hospital and i'm enjoying with my stay there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
photographic & audio visual media opportunity position
Public Relations Photographer/ Media Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2013
Preparing conference rooms for presentation and setting up audio visuals. Checking equipments for leasing out to staff. I learned how to be neutral in the midst of office politics. I learned how to work around other people that were not happy. Management did all it could to support my efforts. Co-workers were not team players. I had ideas that didn't happen because others did not want them to succeed.
Best part of job was I developed some photography skills and interfaced with all departments.
Pros
good neighborhood, self contained facility-no need to leave premise.
Cons
too many politcal camps that didn't want to work together. always threatening layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly, Approachable and Caring Staff
Volunteer RN (Emergency Department) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 26, 2013
Based on my experience and people I have met. Would gladly want to be a part of their Nursing Staff and work for this hospital.
Pros
staffs are willing to share information in providing care and how procedures are to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 22, 2013
I like that my coworkers make a great team and it feels like a family as we work together. I appreciate the open mind to new changes.

It is a true team environment without micromanagement or loss of autonomy throughout.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 2, 2013
i learned how to utilized Quadra Med to abstract patient’s demographics.
Collaborated on special project on Consents.
Collaborated on a project on National Patient Safety Goals.
Worked on a surgical verification project in operating room.
Participation in Breakthrough.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 5, 2013
In my job we all gets along, we have fun. The most hardest part of work is transport a patients that are heavy. Sad part is taking bodies down to the morgue.
I love my job.

I was a Supervisor for a year.
Pros
lunches
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is great
Coordinating Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 22, 2013
Overall an ok place to work. The management needs to listen to the staff in some departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Metropolitan Hospital Center Reviews by Location