Find companies:
Metropolitan State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Metropolitan State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly educational
Volunteer (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: work experience
Cons: no salary
The most enjoyable part is collaboration with other professors and students on projects and seeing a positive results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new tools and very produtive
graduate student worker (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 8, 2014
Productive and fun workplace. Co-workers are motivating and finding new strategies in projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for working adult students looking for supplemental income to manage while in school
Admissions and -Disability Services assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 25, 2013
Pros: very flexible for working adults who are students
Cons: not a safe environment to speak up or out about issues that need attnetion; r
Not racially diverse; extreme amount of nepotism and favoritism. Not a chance to move up or get recognition unless you know someone or have a family or personal connection. Unfair and unethical hiring and promotional practices

Retaliatory and hostile work environment; inconsistent work environment from rules to management, constant changes in administration – more... and upper level staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experiences
Student (Current Employee), Denver, CONovember 20, 2013
Pros: knowledge and experience of professors.
Cons: long study hours after school.
Class consists of many a typical things such as conducting a trade-show and expo, interviewing hotel managers and writing reviews on them. Management of time is essential to be successful in completion of tasks. The hardest part of the job is finding time to join clubs and extracurricular activities. The most enjoyable part of the job is applying the – more... information that I am learning to real life experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BA in Psychology
Research Experience (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 28, 2013
The Campus experience was very diverse. I was given the opportunity to learn and interact with so many cultures throughout my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Student Help-Desk Technician (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 14, 2013
- Troubleshoot over the phone
- Provide technical support to faculties and students
- Assist faculties and students in using computers
- Deal with difficult people on the phone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 4, 2013
Very political. career advancement depend on who you know and who you share the same value with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There should be ample room for growth.
Graduate Assistant/ Disability Services (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNMarch 7, 2013
In the workplace there should be ample opportunities for growth within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work with.
Office and Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 5, 2012
Interacting with co-workers by sharing job related and personal situations. Checking email and providing the services requested, providing customer service via phone or in person, general office duties.

I've improved my computer skills.

The hardest part of the job is not being able to supply assistance to students, and dealing with bad attitudes from – more... some co-workers.

At the end of the day, I know I was very productive and beneficial. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Originally a creative program for working adults. It became a more conventional program, with more young students.
teacher, part time, adjunct (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 15, 2012
Very fine teaching largely working adults, putting themselves through a delayed university program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Stadent work study (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 22, 2012
Pros: great expierence
Cons: a little unstructured
I don't get benefits because I am only doing a work study. I like the expierence I am getting with this position. I have learned a great deal about how needed computer forensics in the business world. I work for the IT dept head and he is a smart mentor. I think he really carried the interest in the field that had me really take a look at it. He asked – more... for me personally to head up his work study, so I guess that I too made an impression on him. I enjoy learning the most, and I have learned more than i can write in this short paragraph. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Writing consultant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 15, 2012
Pros: fun place to work
I loved meeting with students and helped them with their papers for classes. Met with undergraduate and graduate students to help them review and proof read their papers/outlines for thesis. I couldn't work there because I was required to commit more study hours towards my graduate studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
HR Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 7, 2012
Pros: gain hr experience
Cons: lack of moral and leadership
Poor management and people skills including training employees. Did not have proper work/life balance for mothers or families in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial to academic success
Peer Tutor (Former Employee), St. PaulApril 14, 2012
Tutoring was a wonderful experience, it helps to greatly reinforce what you already know, along with the benefit of helping fellow students with their accademcis.