Find companies:
Metropolitan State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Metropolitan State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Work-study student (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 10, 2014
Metro State is a good place to work and gain experience while in school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Head Mineralogy Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Denver, COOctober 7, 2014
Pros: more experience in the geology lab.
As a student who was able to have the opportunity to be a teacher's assistant for mineralogy, was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Student worker (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: diverse staff and participants
Cons: not a full time position
I enjoyed working as a student worker with the disabled population and assisting the Director of Disability Services with accommodations for disabled students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Faculity
Adjunct College Instructor (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 13, 2014
Teach courses in Information Technology including server and systems architecture, computer forensics, security policies and procedures, and network system communications. Instructed material includes: Managing Active Directory domains and GPOs, information security best practices, incident detection and response, digital investigations, building virtual – more... servers and workstations, vulnerability scanning, penetration testing, and network packet sniffing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning Environment
Research Associate (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 22, 2014
There are opportunities in any position to learn and grow and if you are determined then this is the place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time position teaching nursing. Enjoyable job and atmosphere, but no guarantee of job from semester to semester.
Nursing Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 20, 2014
Pros: enjoyable people to work with (fellow faculty and students)
Cons: some days there wasn't time for a lunch break
I taught simulations labs and taught clinicals with students in long term care facilities. I enjoyed working with the students and the staff was fun to work with and worked well together. The hardest part of the job was working with students that couldn't pass the classes. They needed a lot of extra coaching and tutoring to keep them in the program. – more... It could be difficult at times. The best part of the job was seeing when a student suddenly figured something out and things just clicked for them. You may have to teach things several different ways to reach different student. It is a great feeling to finally see someone finally make the connection of how things work and see them grow as a nurse when they interact with the patients that they are caring for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Development
Information Technology Work Study (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNJune 10, 2014
As a work study of Metropolitan State University, I figure this was an opportunity to learn and gain as much experience as I could. I really tried to understand everything about the university. I attempted to work on assignments on the staff level in order to gain experience and grow.

In my years of working as a work study, I have notice the professional – more... change in myself. It has also spilled into my personal life. I am certain I will see more professional development as I pursue my career.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to know that you made someone's else day that much more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best fit for student worker.
Desktop/IT Student Support (Former Employee), Inver Grove Heights, MNJanuary 21, 2014
Best place to work while going to school and working at the same place. Got to know more students, employees and instructors at school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly educational
Volunteer (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: work experience
Cons: no salary
The most enjoyable part is collaboration with other professors and students on projects and seeing a positive results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new tools and very produtive
graduate student worker (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 8, 2014
Productive and fun workplace. Co-workers are motivating and finding new strategies in projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for working adult students looking for supplemental income to manage while in school
Admissions and -Disability Services assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 25, 2013
Pros: very flexible for working adults who are students
Cons: not a safe environment to speak up or out about issues that need attnetion; r
Not racially diverse; extreme amount of nepotism and favoritism. Not a chance to move up or get recognition unless you know someone or have a family or personal connection. Unfair and unethical hiring and promotional practices

Retaliatory and hostile work environment; inconsistent work environment from rules to management, constant changes in administration – more... and upper level staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experiences
Student (Current Employee), Denver, CONovember 20, 2013
Pros: knowledge and experience of professors.
Cons: long study hours after school.
Class consists of many a typical things such as conducting a trade-show and expo, interviewing hotel managers and writing reviews on them. Management of time is essential to be successful in completion of tasks. The hardest part of the job is finding time to join clubs and extracurricular activities. The most enjoyable part of the job is applying the – more... information that I am learning to real life experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BA in Psychology
Research Experience (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 28, 2013
The Campus experience was very diverse. I was given the opportunity to learn and interact with so many cultures throughout my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Student Help-Desk Technician (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 14, 2013
- Troubleshoot over the phone
- Provide technical support to faculties and students
- Assist faculties and students in using computers
- Deal with difficult people on the phone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 4, 2013
Very political. career advancement depend on who you know and who you share the same value with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There should be ample room for growth.
Graduate Assistant/ Disability Services (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNMarch 7, 2013
In the workplace there should be ample opportunities for growth within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work with.
Office and Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 5, 2012
Interacting with co-workers by sharing job related and personal situations. Checking email and providing the services requested, providing customer service via phone or in person, general office duties.

I've improved my computer skills.

The hardest part of the job is not being able to supply assistance to students, and dealing with bad attitudes from – more... some co-workers.

At the end of the day, I know I was very productive and beneficial. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Originally a creative program for working adults. It became a more conventional program, with more young students.
teacher, part time, adjunct (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 15, 2012
Very fine teaching largely working adults, putting themselves through a delayed university program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Stadent work study (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 22, 2012
Pros: great expierence
Cons: a little unstructured
I don't get benefits because I am only doing a work study. I like the expierence I am getting with this position. I have learned a great deal about how needed computer forensics in the business world. I work for the IT dept head and he is a smart mentor. I think he really carried the interest in the field that had me really take a look at it. He asked – more... for me personally to head up his work study, so I guess that I too made an impression on him. I enjoy learning the most, and I have learned more than i can write in this short paragraph. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Writing consultant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 15, 2012
Pros: fun place to work
I loved meeting with students and helped them with their papers for classes. Met with undergraduate and graduate students to help them review and proof read their papers/outlines for thesis. I couldn't work there because I was required to commit more study hours towards my graduate studies.