Metropolitan Transit Authority Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 57 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Assistant Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2016
Great Organization to work for. Exciting! I love working here. I would just like to work for an organization that ties in more closely to my personal mission, which is helping others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Metro!
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2016
If there was not an event where I had to relocate, I do believe that I would have still been employed by this great company! I loved the people, the environment, and the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a challenge job.
Professional Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2016
As a normal day driving passenger to they destination with safety procedure, in typical rush hour with a full bus. Is a park and ride route people greeting and help them with they needs, as information of the schedule or bus stops.
By the end of the route people or passengers satisfied.
Pros
Meeting and helping people.
Cons
Traffic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Bus Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2016
this job was a pretty decent job giving the company it was for sometimes its best to keep it pushing and count your blessings in the previous employer and tough it out,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bridges And Tunnel Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 25, 2016
Amazing I love It!, Its A temporary job for a year but worth the time
A little nerve wracking but thats with any job.i hate the hours sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing rules
Operations Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 26, 2016
It's ok the management is sloppy along with there regulations. High turn of rate and lack of support makes work life balance hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Place
Claims Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 20, 2016
My job various and i work with very different type of personality, i rarely have a dull moment. i have great relationship with my peer, supervisor and managers, they are very hands on what i do daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2015
i really enjoyed working for mta, it was a great opportunity.A large organization where you can learn much things.The people are great and its just a great organization
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a living
Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 23, 2015
I worked for MTA for 14 years. I enjoyed working with the public. I worked all shifts starting wit Graveyeard ended working on dayshift. Always had a great rapport with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job and exciting place to work at.
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2015
A typical work day is busy, especially when the Bus Operators come in from their runs. I have learned to work with the different personalities every day. My management team is good. My co-workers are amazing I can truly say that we are a TEAM. Hardest part of the job is not being able to solve a problem when a Bus Operator needs help. I enjoy the TEAM that I work with. We run everything by each other so that we all can know what is happening.
Pros
Enjoy working with the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoying new people everyday
bus operator (Former Employee) –  los angeles californiaAugust 25, 2015
I enjoyed working for this company. I enjoyed meeting new people everyday . knowing I got to the location where they needed to go .
Pros
enjoyed taking people to work
Cons
some passengers having problems for no reason
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than minimum wage
Warranty Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 19, 2015
Has some good, but bad outweighs the good. Compensation is unfair, too subjective. Not a lot of incentive to keep veteran employees. Loyalty and longivity doesn't carry a lot of weight.
Pros
Weekends off generally
Cons
Unfair compensation for pay increases
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but Ok
HRIS Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 30, 2015
The company is great to work for. However, certain Departments are managed incorrectly. Managers are not professional. Majority of the departments are understaffed.
The work load may prompt you to work overtime.
The company caters to more experienced workers.
Cons
work load, under staff
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 22, 2015
My position as an administrative assistant was a cake walk. Slow-paced work environment and the co-workers are very nice. Sad it was only an internship, but I did enjoy my time working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive environment
Computer Specialist Support Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 20, 2015
I love my internship, just wished it was paid. The people are great to be around and the atmosphere is very positive. Being around the employees, makes me more determined to finish school by next spring and hopefully obtain a position within MTA.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 1, 2015
Driving passengers to & from destinations. I've learned how to operate MCI-Buses. Management did a great job of keeping us informed with safety tips. Great team of co-workers. The hardest part of the job was operating the bus in bad weather conditions. The most enjoyable part was providing customer service to the the riders.
Pros
TV's & Pooltables in the break room area
Cons
Worked Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job friendly
City Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 19, 2015
Provide significant schedule delays, and report mechanical problems
 Performed safety checks daily before departure from work area.
Pros
something diffrent every day
Cons
public did not wont to pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the MTA is a daliy learning experience.
Train Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2015
I start my day the anticipation of helping someone each and everyday, customer or coworker. I have learned how to balance my time well and to communicate effectively with my managers to keep the unit running smoothly. The hardest part of my job is realizing that I am close to retirement but the most enjoyable part is knowing that I have been in service for over 30 years.
Pros
Pension and health benfits
Cons
Winter weather assignments can be tough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent opportunities for advancement
Car Inspector (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 4, 2015
willing and able to learn and carry out various new tasks. given the chance i can offer opinions and/or advice to further help one become more productive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director Labor Relations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 25, 2015
This company affords great opportunities. It is has a great working environment. Employees are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metropolitan Transit Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 57 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

Metropolitan Transit Authority Reviews by Location