Metropolitan Transportation Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 130 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conditions were Excellent
MTA Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 22, 2017
I retired because it was time and I was injured. Working there was a pleasure wish I could have been there longer. Management and co-workers were amongst the best set of people you would want to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
MTA Brigde and Tunnel (BTO Temp) (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 21, 2017
Amazing place to work if it was Permanent. Also for easy and non stressful work place. Amazing pay and overtime pay. And great people to work with also
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced but very rewarding
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 10, 2017
this was a great first job to work at although it was temporary for me they offer college student to stay after the summer is over if they would like to continue with their internship. overall cool place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Cab Driver (Former Employee) –  Highland Park, MISeptember 9, 2017
Very rude and nasty. The drivers smoke weed and drink while on the job. Their cabs drive very rough and the drives are not helpful at all. Not safe at all!!
Pros
Cheap fare
Cons
Poor Transportion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many paths
Deputy Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 7, 2017
The MTA can be a great place to work, the work life balance is excellent and there are a lot of talented people who want to contribute and make a difference.
Pros
Work Life Balance, Benefits
Cons
Can be very difficult to navigate to accompish tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 26, 2017
Did not enjoy the work schedule or how it took a whole day to make 8 hours. I did not like the fact you work splits on the weekend, made no sense to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 10, 2017
Good pay and great benefits. Lots of opportunities to move up in the company. Starts you off part time and promotes you to full time driver. Takes nearly a year.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Salary rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Computer Support Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10004August 7, 2017
I worked at Metropolitan Transportation Authority for about two years. Its a five day, 9-5 work pace type of job. I learned how to manage a large sum of inventory supply via a database. Everyone at MTA is really professional in their area of expertise. The job computer support aide,wasnt hard at all. I met a lot of people and i enjoy every bit of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 5, 2017
the pay was good need better managers lots of talking dealt with a lot of people in the public lots of stuff to watch out for but with the companies pay it was all right
Pros
great pay
Cons
working around the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a job
Administrative Assistant to the President's Office (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2017
Good for employment that is steady. Not good for advancement of the hard workers. Mostly union workers who go at a slow pace and do minimum work. Good vacation and sick time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always stayed busy nice paced job
Bus Detailer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 17, 2017
being a bus detailer was really fun...we cleaned bistate buses
we had to windex the windows dust the ceiling and seats
mop and sweep the floors make sure all the air on the bus was working properly
Pros
free lunches nice timed break
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
descent place to work for extremely responsible people
Bridge and Tunnel Officer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 3, 2017
Very fast paced, a multiple of responsibilities in safety and road hazards. The pay is great and you are compensated for your hard work. The enjoyable part of the job was the ability to help so many people in so many ways imagined. The hardest part was the unforeseen dangers that could come from the traffic due to road rage and distracted drivers.
Pros
great pay
Cons
danger and hazards
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent benefit
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 20, 2017
Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Metro in short is a stable company, busy work place, a lot to learn and fun to work with people though sometimes stressful.
Pros
excellent benefit
Cons
sometimes stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but 40 hours a week of work must apply
Assistant Conductor Trainee (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 14, 2017
Lots of hours. Not the best job but the pay is great. Must be able to comply with the work hours meaning night shifts, holidays and weekends. Also great benefits. p
Pros
Great pay
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more organization and better service
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 13, 2017
evening schedule, worked all over, there is a lot people from different countries there. the hardest part is to be send to different locations. It is an excellent company for people who is single.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work place
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 30, 2017
Well mostly we would clean the trains getting them prep for the next day of service this was a good job i loved the environment an the people working there co worker's it also gave me the opportunity to take care my family
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2017
Many opportunities but you have to make them. Highly dependent upon your supervisor. The work culture at each agency is different. External stakeholders often drive priorities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2017
My experience at the MTA consisted of a large amount of administrative work. Managers and coworkers are very friendly and create a good workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picking and dropping off clients
Metro Lift Transporter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2017
worked in the morning, my off days were on the weekends. Picking and dropping off disabled clients to there respectable destinations. Drove a van and would hook them up if patient was in a wheelchair
Pros
bonus every month
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work place
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 14, 2017
The managers and Supervisior are very rude and disrespectful I feel that MTA need a whole new management that is not a great place to work too many fees are taking out your check like you working for nothing. Great health Benfits only
Pros
None
Cons
Horrible Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metropolitan Transportation Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

75%
49 ratings
Add your rating