Find companies:
Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intersting working at the airport
Engineer (Temporary Project) (Former Employee), Dulles, VAJuly 1, 2014
when you work at the airport you see different problems that require different type of engineering solutions. I truly enjoyed my work in MWAA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good people to work with.
Police Sergeant (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 20, 2014
Pros: good compensation, benefits, and training.
Cons: 24/7 operation work on holidays and weekends
For the most part I enjoyed working there. The majority of people working there were great. Every organization has its problem people so for the overall experience, I really liked working there and would go back if it was an option for me. I have retired and it would not benefit me to return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Lead Public Safety Dispatcher (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMarch 20, 2014
Provided 24/7 dispatch services with a team of professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I've learned
Student Ambassador (Intern) (Former Employee), Sterling, VANovember 21, 2013
Pros: learning something new everyday
Cons: standing on your feet all day
Dulles has significant capacity for future growth. With minor expansion, the current facilities could accomodate 45 million annual passengers (22.5 million enplanements). With all future facilities in the master plan constructed, the airport could accomodate 70 million annual passengers (35 million enplanements) operating out of 250 airline gates. The – more... current four-runway configuration has a capacity of up to 600,000 aircraft operations per year. With a future fifth runway constructed, the airfield capacity could increase to 1 million aircraft operations per year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Project and Asset Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, VANovember 17, 2013
Friendly environment. Many deadlines that must be reached.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult yet rewarding
Desktop Support Technician Tier II (Former Employee), Sterling, VANovember 9, 2013
very large area of support. customers were mostly encouraging. no tools or replacement parts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 20, 2013
Pros: operate various small and heavy equipments
Cons: low otr miles
Operate various Heavy Equipment in all phase of construction. Transport Heavy Equipment to and from storage and Jobsites. Training Co-worker for their CDL. Temporarily supervise 19 employees, while completing Works orders in 24hrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally cares about welfare of employees
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Great place to work, just to much government bureauracy. I was Office Administrator at which I worked for 6 staff members performing administrative duties like travel arrangements, setup conference calls and meetings, produce form letters. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance, everyone is nice to everybody
Audit Senior (Current Employee), Washington DCJuly 18, 2013
Pros: free mass transit
Cons: media meddling
A typical day at work is to attend meetings, conduct fieldwork and write reports. I've learned multiple discipline in the aviation industry as well as the regulations impacting the aviation industry. My co-workers are great, I enjoy dealing with them most of the time. We respect each and everyone's privacy. The hardest part of the job is when you work – more... at something at a very pressing deadline. The most enjoyable part of the job is the authority's health initiative. We are encouraged to walk, exercise, get physical. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OBIEE/ETL Consultant (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJune 25, 2013
great environment, the management team goes a great length to accommodate its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot and was given a lot of independence.
Intern, Risk Management (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 31, 2013
Pros: independence
Cons: lack of communication
The company is in transition.
Many people are resistant to change and new technology.
There is a large lack of communication.
People get stuck in their ways.
Transitioning to a full time position as an intern is almost impossible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work that fosters teamwork and growth opportunities
Police Sergeant (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 21, 2012
Pros: compensation and benefits, fellow employees
Cons: working hours shifted with little to no notice.
This is a cusomer service oriented organization. Most days involve assisting travelers using the airports in the Washington DC area.

Safety is a high priority. All divisions work in concert to ensure that customers and employees alike are provided a safe environment. All divisions work interdependently, which means each employee understands their role – more... and how it impacts on others in the organization.

The most challenging aspect of working here may be the 24/7 operation which can require work at odd hours and on weekends and holidays.

What is most enjoyable about working here is the people you work with. There is a sense of pride in the work being done by the workforce. Employees are willing to go the extra mile to provide quality service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high profile and security
Public Safety Dispatcher (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 4, 2012
Working here at Reagan National Airport in there Police Department was very interesting. I had to Receives emergency and non-emergency calls; enters accurate and pertinent information into the Computer Aided Dispatch system; maintains status on all personnel units assigned to the channels; responds to the public safety personnel requests for information; – more... and performs other related assignments as directed. While doing this I had to make sure that I was very alert – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooest job I've ever had
General Engineering Trainee (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 7, 2012
Pros: good pay
A typical day at work would consist of file management. This is filing papers, photocopying thing - administrative stuff. Sometimes we would get the chance to get tours around the airport to see what it is that their engineers do on a daily basis. I found this pretty interesting. We would have daily meetings about how we could possibly make the environment – more... for future interns better at the aiport. Also, I found an interest in photography from this job because one of my co-workers was a part-time photographer and engineer at the airport and he had great pictures of the airport. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Assistant, Airport Manager's Office (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 17, 2012
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: parking for employees is not greats
Airports never sleep; something always happening; love the planes