Metso Minerals Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clarksdale, MSMay 1, 2017
Metso closed its doors August 2016, but during my tenure there it was a really great place to work. Really good manager, labor union, part of an employee team..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 1, 2017
Excellent training and staff. The pay is compatible with the work being performed Only wish the projects lasted longer. If METSO is given another contract soon I would not hesitate to apply for a position again.
Pros
Great staff and management
Cons
Projects do not last more than 6 months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like to travel.
engineer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 6, 2017
Locally it was a great place to work. But it is headquartered and managed oversees. The upper management are way to far removed from the operations to make the micro decisions that they do. Thus poorly run with way too much overhead.
Pros
Travel/ Fare Wage
Cons
Travel at an hours notice. Poor Operation Structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never any set schedules
Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 18, 2017
While employed here I was shuffled between 3 different departments due to lack of work to be done and was bounced between 4 different shifts. The senior management is extremely indecisive, and terrible at planning production schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No negative things to say
Warehouse/Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 2, 2017
Overall I would hope to find a position such as this in the future... every day was a joy. Duties were well defined tasks we well laid out
Pros
Caring and helpful management and staffers
Cons
None as long as you do not mind a hard days work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Product Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 15, 2016
Good company if looking for benefits for family. Not the best place if looking for advancement. Management needs to be more involved in lower level work functions.
Pros
Many catered lunches
Cons
Somber workplace if you are an outgoing energetic person
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot, noisy, dirty,
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, MONovember 11, 2016
A low wage ceiling. Less than knowledgeable management. Even after 11 years, my shift could still change at any time, without notice.
Pros
insurance, 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good local work environment
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Canonsburg, PASeptember 21, 2016
Relocating to York PA. a typical day is an 8.5 hour work day Monday through Thursday and a 6 hour day on Friday. I was held back at this position nothing challenging. My immediate manager was very good to me.
Pros
Work 8.5 hours monday through thursday and 6 on friday
Cons
Finnish company, enough said
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  PASeptember 17, 2016
There is no typical day at work. Each job has unique application and customer. Customers are foreign and domestic. Our responsibility from meetings, specification, troubleshooting, design is to resolve any issues.

It is a place of constant learning with co-workers that will go the extra mile.

Hardest part of the job is the current market situation.

Most enjoyable part of the job is accomplishing the project with a pleased customer.
Pros
Family Atmosphere
Cons
Market
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distinguished company globally but has areas that can be improved
Customer Service/Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMay 30, 2016
Well established company with great reputation amongst customers

Communication channels could be improved internally

There are some opportunities for growth within the company, but they seem difficult to obtain

Training needs to me more thorough for those that don't have experience in this industry
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Training could be improved so that it can be more impactful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metso Minerals
Engineering Project Manager (Former Employee) –  York, PAMay 27, 2016
Incompetent management. The least pragmatic group I've ever seen, which is why they continue to have layoffs and struggle beyond comprehension. Stay away from this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job in a fast paced environment with plenty of opportunities for improvement
Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Clarksdale, MSMay 17, 2016
Metso was a pleasure from the initial contact, until now. I will always retain fond memories of the place, and enjoyed everyone i worked with. Constant challenges were presented to me on a regular basis, and the support was always there to overcome those challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful place to work
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  clarksdale, msFebruary 23, 2016
taking care of employees needs.
learned different responsibilities, such as Receiving clerk, shipping clerk, and purchasing.
attend union meetings for the last 25 years
enjoyed assisting co workers
laying employees off
being able to stand in for other co-workers when there was a need.
Pros
the job itself
Cons
seeing the job going away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
CADD Operator/Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAFebruary 16, 2016
The management was great and personable with knowledge to let you work to accomplish the project goals. The work atmosphere was very pleasing and good natured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and wonderful work environment
Aftermarket Sales Support Manager NAM & SAM (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 15, 2016
Pay and benefits are great but with the mining industry down right not a lot of opportunities are available. They tend to keep the same people in charge and just move them into different slots. Not open to knew technologies or concepts. Very difficult to get them to invest in new ideas or technology
Pros
Easy to work for
Cons
not a lot of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward
QA/QC Inspector (Current Employee) –  CanonsburgSeptember 22, 2015
Management is confident in the positions held, but with little input on your job performance.
Inspections are received and divided up to inspectors.
Open schedule to plan out the week according to urgency of work.
Fellow employees hard working and friendly.

The job can be very stressful at times when contracted shops have delays in work orders and the vendors have to be contacted.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
not enough inspectors
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, I like the people
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  columbia, scSeptember 11, 2015
People are very helpful to see your success in the company, they are team player, pro-active and generous. I like working with the group of people here at Metso.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I manage technical products such mills, apron feeders, process equipment
Sales Engineer - ETO Products SBL (Current Employee) –  Ghana, Western AfricanAugust 3, 2015
Metso Minerals is leading service provider of mining and construction equipment. We support our clients to achieve their ultimate goal sustainably.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of overall direction by local management
Planning Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 27, 2015
Non-productive environment with lack of direction and overall teamwork. Lack of collaboration between departments and duplication of efforts across teams lead to numerous inefficiencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive fun place to work but work get accomplished
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 3, 2015
A typical day at work would be finishing purchase req's , making sure the scheduler has the parts to maintain the production plan. Contacting my employees and vendors to establish communication. Talking with management for goals to accomplish. I learned to become an overall better Manager by communication, leadership, attention to detail, motivation, and innovation. The management style was hands off and someone that you would not be afraid to approach with questions. The same with co-workers, this was a company that made sure the employees were appreciated. The hardest part of the job was dealing with suppliers that you had to micro manage. Finally the most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom as a manager to make changes that would benefit the company.
Pros
atmosphere no micro management
Cons
sometimes we all did not work as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metso Minerals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 95 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

81%
33 ratings
Add your rating