Metso Minerals Employee Reviews in United States

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distinguished company globally but has areas that can be improved
Customer Service/Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMay 30, 2016
Well established company with great reputation amongst customers

Communication channels could be improved internally

There are some opportunities for growth within the company, but they seem difficult to obtain

Training needs to me more thorough for those that don't have experience in this industry
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Training could be improved so that it can be more impactful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metso Minerals
Engineering Project Manager (Former Employee) –  York, PAMay 27, 2016
Incompetent management. The least pragmatic group I've ever seen, which is why they continue to have layoffs and struggle beyond comprehension. Stay away from this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful place to work
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  clarksdale, msFebruary 23, 2016
taking care of employees needs.
learned different responsibilities, such as Receiving clerk, shipping clerk, and purchasing.
attend union meetings for the last 25 years
enjoyed assisting co workers
laying employees off
being able to stand in for other co-workers when there was a need.
Pros
the job itself
Cons
seeing the job going away
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
CADD Operator/Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAFebruary 16, 2016
The management was great and personable with knowledge to let you work to accomplish the project goals. The work atmosphere was very pleasing and good natured.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and wonderful work environment
Aftermarket Sales Support Manager NAM & SAM (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 15, 2016
Pay and benefits are great but with the mining industry down right not a lot of opportunities are available. They tend to keep the same people in charge and just move them into different slots. Not open to knew technologies or concepts. Very difficult to get them to invest in new ideas or technology
Pros
Easy to work for
Cons
not a lot of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward
QA/QC Inspector (Current Employee) –  CanonsburgSeptember 22, 2015
Management is confident in the positions held, but with little input on your job performance.
Inspections are received and divided up to inspectors.
Open schedule to plan out the week according to urgency of work.
Fellow employees hard working and friendly.

The job can be very stressful at times when contracted shops have delays in work orders and the vendors have to be contacted.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
not enough inspectors
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, I like the people
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  columbia, scSeptember 11, 2015
People are very helpful to see your success in the company, they are team player, pro-active and generous. I like working with the group of people here at Metso.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I manage technical products such mills, apron feeders, process equipment
Sales Engineer - ETO Products SBL (Current Employee) –  Ghana, Western AfricanAugust 3, 2015
Metso Minerals is leading service provider of mining and construction equipment. We support our clients to achieve their ultimate goal sustainably.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of overall direction by local management
Planning Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 27, 2015
Non-productive environment with lack of direction and overall teamwork. Lack of collaboration between departments and duplication of efforts across teams lead to numerous inefficiencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive fun place to work but work get accomplished
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 3, 2015
A typical day at work would be finishing purchase req's , making sure the scheduler has the parts to maintain the production plan. Contacting my employees and vendors to establish communication. Talking with management for goals to accomplish. I learned to become an overall better Manager by communication, leadership, attention to detail, motivation, and innovation. The management style was hands off and someone that you would not be afraid to approach with questions. The same with co-workers, this was a company that made sure the employees were appreciated. The hardest part of the job was dealing with suppliers that you had to micro manage. Finally the most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom as a manager to make changes that would benefit the company.
Pros
atmosphere no micro management
Cons
sometimes we all did not work as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Metso Minerals?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
FORKLIFT OPERATOR/ORDER EXPEDITOR (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 13, 2015
This was a very fun postion. The co workers were great. I enjoyed operating the heavy machinery.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy as a CSR
CSR OrderDesk (Former Employee) –  Columbia S.CDecember 1, 2014
Stayed busy throughout the day from the phone calls and incoming emails from our distributors. I learned how to produce quotes and place orders on SAP and update the distributors with the information. The hardest part of the day is when nobody wanted to log into the phone logs and they would leave me as the only CSR on the phone to answer all incoming calls.
Pros
did not have to be supervised
Cons
being taken advantage of when they see you work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Project Control Lead/ Master Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 19, 2014
Great company to work for. Great team work, continuing education and willingness to teach employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg PAAugust 22, 2014
Excellent place to work with lots of opportunities to travel.
Pros
travel
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Manufacturing Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 5, 2013
I like Metso a lot and wish the Birmingham facility was still open.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive got temp work done in three weeks
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, MOAugust 19, 2013
My typical day at work was waking up at 4 am and starting work at 5 am. Since I was a temp I never really knew if I was going to have overtime that day or not. That was always a mystery to me. Other than that I loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Gearbox technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 20, 2013
too bad they left the US. I advanced allot their.Liked the people and miss that job.
Pros
good people
Cons
market forced them to reloc outa country
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corporation with family culture and work environment
Sales Data Coordinator (Current Employee) –  York, PAJune 4, 2013
Working at a large corporation such as Metso has been a great experience. Employees work hard and are productive in a fair culture the company has in place. Management travels alot around the world but very willing to aid or be present through other medias. I have learned and utilized the many different forms of computer programs Metso uses on a daily basis. Learning the cloud based sales service is something I feel is neccessary to understand the future of customer relationship mangement.
Pros
company benefits, casual attire
Cons
working with employees around the world with time differences
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working Logistics Team
Logistics Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 12, 2013
Daily Warehouse error data reports, retrieve postage rates, faxing, scanning export docs to freight forwarder, order & distribute office supplies, filing, verifying postal rates. Manager was the greatest never dull day in this department. Always learning new things about the Import/Export business. Co-workers always available of help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You never know what the day holds
Designer/ Engineer (Current Employee) –  Warrenton, MOJanuary 3, 2013
An overall interesting company, you can show up to work in the morning and have to catch a flight by the afternoon to the other side of the country.
You will always be given an opportunity to learn new things.
I see my manager once every two weeks at min, no breathing down your neck.
The co-workers would be classified as characters.
At times there are extremely long hours from 8-27 hrs at times
The most enjoyable part of the job is completing the task at hand.
Pros
you never know what to expect
Cons
you are not rewarded as expected
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metso Minerals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 70 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7