MGIC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 7, 2017
It was a good company to work for. Good management, workplace and co-workers. Benefits were minimal for the contractors but overall I did not mind working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work, great employees
Regional Claims Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 20, 2017
In a typical day I answered questions from staff and managers while performing my own tasks. My tasks included approving claim payments which exceeded my staff's authority, and I worked on many task forces which required attendance at many meetings. I assisted other departments when questions regarding claims arose.
The hardest part of the job was finding enough time to train and mentor my staff. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my staff as well as outside customers.
Pros
Excellent company to work for
Cons
not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, complex, demanding and challenging
Claims Examiner I (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 27, 2017
The benefits at MGIC were very good and the pay was decent. There were critical deadlines to meet daily and most of the time we were micromanaged. The workplace was fast pace and extremely challenging and mentally draining each day. The best part of my job is I was able to work from home from 2013 through 2017. This was also the most difficult part of my job because if I had a question, sometimes I wouldn't get an answer for days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Underwriter/CSM Level II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 15, 2017
Very fast paced environment with somewhat high levels of stress associated with certain duties. Overall it was a great place to work near the end things got a bit ridiculous in having to ask to go use the restroom. However anything to do with the mortgage industry is very interesting one day is never like the last.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 23, 2017
Good company to work for. Good culture and people. Benefits were standard as were work hours. Only opportunity for conventional lending available with MI company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, needed company, best job ever!
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Berwyn, PAJanuary 24, 2017
Started as junior underwriter promoted to team underwriter then went on the divisional operations administrator reporting to senior vice president.
Pros
very professional, interested in employees work and home life
Cons
2nd best during 90's BEST DURING MILLINIIUEM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Director (Current Employee) –  OrlandoJune 2, 2015
I liked every moment of it. I learned so much and I recommended to everyone. Over all it, great experience, team is wonderful, my boss very understanding and helpful.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
long distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedules and great benefits
Senior Real Estate Valuation Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 3, 2014
Great place with flexible schedules. Management was hands on and would assist employees in any way possible. Can't go wrong with the benefits package here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot of things working there
Marketing Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 14, 2014
It depends on the manager you work for , but I did enjoy my time at MGIC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company would like to have worked a longer assignment
Contract MI Underwriter / Temporary (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 5, 2014
Worked as a Temp on a short term assignment, seemed like a great company to work for but there was not a permanent position open.
Pros
Friendly people, great company
Cons
was only able to work short term assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short time working
Accounts Payable/Receivables Assistant (Former Employee) –  milwaukee wiJuly 24, 2014
my other two jobs were longer and let me express myself
i was happy working here loved the work and department
learned more about working in an office and getting along with everyone.
year and half after I started they closed our entire department
Pros
working
Cons
not working
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice assignment
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield Hills, MichiganOctober 22, 2013
Contract underwriter to MGIC guidelines as well as FannieMae. The hardest part of the job was when I caught misrep by one of the sales reps and he admitted. It was very difficult as the file had to be escalated to MGIC's QA for further review. Another hard part of the job was knowing that the assignment would be soon ending.
Pros
Very nice parties.
Cons
As a contractor you don't have the same benefits as a FTE i.e. time off, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Contract Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILOctober 22, 2013
Loved my co-workers. Learned allot. Very organized work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The overall company has a great customer service base.
Claim Administrator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 9, 2013
A typical day at work, you are expected to give 100% with a very high level of accuracy as reviewed by QA review results, presented weekly.
The hardest part of the job is the inconsistency with QA reviews & the rebuttal process for paid claims.
The most enjoyable part of the job is paying the claims for the customer and getting them the payment they are due under the terms of the Master Policy.
I have learned more analytical skills and more about foreclosure processes across the nation.
Pros
Excellent cafeteria with reasonable prices, on site. Good benefits, excellent compensation.
Cons
Dental plan does not offer the most coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 1, 2013
great environment, stable company- managers and resource's are readily available. ability for overtime and bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Goal driven work environment
REAL ESTATE ACQUISITION & MARKETING ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Corporate Headquarters - Milwaukee WIApril 30, 2013
Excellent place to work that has allowed me 33 years to be able to provide for my family. Very good benefit plan. Was proud to work and be a part of the MGIC Family/Team.
Pros
Excellent work environment with very good benefit plan for employees
Cons
No cons - A great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 26, 2012
Not a family oriented company. No benefits and vacation is frond upon if taken, regardless if you have the time
Pros
salary
Cons
4 days of vacation a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MGIC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8