Find companies:
MHM Services, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

MHM Services, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Day
Bachelors Social Worker (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great learning experiences
Cons: poor budgets
A general day for me consist of gauging my surroundings. I have been able to avoid the big blow ups and horrible days by gauging my peers, clients and adjusting the person they need at that moment, to help them succeed. After I determine the mileu I then began to implement my plans. I follow the implementation of my plans with positive gestures and – more... attentive mindset. I like to let both my peers and clients know they are priority. What I learned by doing that is people tend to respect you more and show confidence in your abilities. The hardest part of my job would be those times when a client has a problem that even i cant' solve (Committed a Crime). The most enjoyable part of my job is just listening and learning what people from all walks of life do and don't have in common. I am a learner of people and their behaviors. it really interest me. I believe that is why I have had success over the last 15 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A den of Snakes
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 8, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: deplorable work conditions, unresponsive, lying management.
The managers are a bunch of conniving liars, who get their jobs by back-stabbing and stepping over whomever had the job before them. They hire and fire at whim, and do nothing to train the people adequately once they bring them on-board. No one really cares about the inmates. It is a sad place to work, if you became a healthcare professional to really – more... help others. The jail itself is disgusting. Mice and rat infested. Trash, urine and blood everywhere. It's freezing in one building, and sweltering in the next. They tell you one thing when you are hired, and it is a totally different story once you are on board. These people would make great used car sales persons. Do yourself a favor......KEEP LOOKING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Consult Coordinator (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 23, 2014
Working at Everglades Correctional Facility was a fun place to work but it was a prison and the hardest part was interacting with inmates throughout my day.

Co-workers were very helpful in showing new employees policies and how to work with the inmate population which is quite different from working in the outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!!!
Counselor (Former Employee), Downtown BaltimoreMay 9, 2014
Cons: low pay, high turnover, hostile environment.
Conditions are inhumane on inpatient unit. This unit should be shut down by DOJ!! Hostile environment. Managers that lie and make false promises. Turnover is the highest I've ever seen in a company. MHM and hope health are terrible to their employees. Racist environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Muncy, PAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great co workers, great management
Cons: pay rate
A typical day at work consists of caring for patients experiencing acute mental distress or who have an enduring mental illness. My job as a mental health worker is to assess and talk to patients about their problems and discuss the best way to plan and deliver the best care possible. MHM works as a team each day to teach patients healthy coping skills – more... and de-escalation techniques to help them manage their emotion and behavior. I prepare and participate in therapeutic groups/and or one on one sessions with patients. We produce care plans and risk assessments for each individual patient and monitor treatment on a day to day basis. Good place to work, can be stressful at times but the staff make it worth the while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIgh standard of quality led to over emphasis on stats
Booking/crisis Worker (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: strong support for maintaining quality and resource material
Cons: contractor isolated therapist from institution
This employer makes a lot of promises with benefits. PDO days are not usable because of severe understaffing and unrealistic workloads. Unused days are not paid out when the company left employees high and dry. Management is so absorbed in statistics that therapists and patients are forgotten.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Workplace
Psychology Associate (Former Employee), Vienna, VAJune 29, 2013
Chief Psychologist, Dr. M; is allowed to create a hostile work environment for staff because she is on a Visa and cannot freely leave to seek employment at will.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work
Schedulers (Former Employee), Pa.March 25, 2013
Pa-Doc as MHM calls it is the worst place I have ever worked. I have never worked in such a poorly run place. Management was rude and inexperienced. This included the PA's human resource Rep. This company does not care about their employees at all and it shows in the manner in which they are treated.
My advice to anyone thinking of working there don't – more... you will be miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, treat employees poorly
MH Services (Former Employee), Salt Lake City UtahMarch 13, 2013
Management values profit over employee relations. Reports of hostile work environment issues and blatant sexual harassment were disregarded. "Investigations" into these allegations did not include interviewing witnesses. Local management is unethical and outright hostile toward employees. MHM lost the contract with Salt Lake County. Do not work for – more... MHM. Be warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and people were friendly
Receptionist answering (Former Employee), Vienna, VAJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: free drinks and free lunch once a month
Cons: no healthcare
Answering 30 line telephone and routing calls to correct department, handling mass mail outs,putting together training material, ordering lunch for executive meetings. The management was very upfront on what needed to be done and how they wanted it done, and the co-workers were always eager to help. The hardest part of the job was leaving when the assignment – more... was over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical, unprofessional, non-supportive, miserly
Behavioral Health (Current Employee), USJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: generous xmas bonus of $25.00
Cons: see review
Told one set of expectations, reviewed harshly on items never talked about. Company motto when approached for assistance: "Stay in your lane!" Incredible turnover, always can get a job because no one wants to stay with profit-driven employer who is unbelievably cheap. Substandard pay, ***NO RAISES***, atrocious benefits, can build up days off then if – more... you want to take them, you actually have to find your own coverage! No one is happy, very difficult to work as a team, staff turn on each other with vicious gossip and harassing behavior. Working conditions are filthy, YOU are responsible to supply your own office supplies like pens, staples, light bulbs. Run, dont walk, away from this. Check out what happened in Delaware. They hire a lot of personel that have license restrictions, keep that in mind, corrections is the one field that might take them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They quit faster than they can hire.
Therapist (Former Employee), BaltimoreJanuary 8, 2013
Cons: pay lower then average, management is cut-throat.
Let's just say that when a company is short-staffed because people quit faster than they can hire replacements, it should tell you something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and adaptable staff
Special Projects Manager, GDOC Program (Current Employee), Atlanta, GaDecember 28, 2012
Pros: egos don't get in the way, its a team effort
Cons: salaries based on specific contract budget, so raises are few and far between
It is not an unusual day when individuals are required to quickly change directions due to changes in deadlines and requests from clients. Given this frequent change in directions, individuals must be able to quickly adapt to any new situation, including being able to research areas with which individuals may have had no previous experience. This also – more... helps to maintain the team approach in that individuals frequently share knowledge and experience with each other in order to make adaptability possible with there being unneeded pain associated with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't let them reel YOU in...
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee), BaltimoreNovember 21, 2012
Pros: they will hire you...
Cons: too many to list, see review.
I was totally unaware of the extremely low employee morale upon hire. My first day there I was confronted with disgruntled employees who were responsible for "training" me. ¬†Everyone has issues with the direct supervisor as well as with regional management. Almost every employee there was actively seeking other employment. In the shirt ¬†number of months – more... I was there, 5 employees departed. Compensation is extremely poor, considering YOU must be licensed, experienced, knowledgable, and willing to work in an at risk environment. However, YOU will be supervised by unlicensed persons. You earn a generous amount of leave, but will have difficulty when you try to use it. You will be hired for the position because they are always in desperate need of someone to fill a shift for the moment, hour, day, or week. Know that you are dispensable and when you showthat you have a backbone you will be considered unvooperative and targeted. If you attempt to get any issues resolved utilizing regional management, they will inform the other party (direct supervisor) and collectively go against you. Many employees express feeling threatened (to lose their jobs) on a basis. The tension amongst the staff is unbelievable. Neither are you or the clientele are valued. MHM's only concern is meeting the minimum requirements of their contract. Know, they recently LOST their contract for the Delaware corrections facility due to their poor performance. Best of luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a poor reputation
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee), Baltimore CityNovember 19, 2012
Pros: the poor morale makes an already challenging environment unbearable. filthy work conditions
Cons: poor employee morale, poor compensation, unlicensed supervisor, inexperienced management...
After having been employed by this company I learned from almost every other employee that I should have run the other way. Others say they are there until they secure other employment due to the poor economy. All colleagues have grievances with poor management and human resources. When you attempt to have your issue resolved by management they inform – more... the other party and "team up" on you. They often give employees the option to resign or be fired. This is a for-profit company that is truly only concerned with their profit. No genuine concern for the well-being or ethical treatment of clientele or employees. Everyone is dispensable. They will turn against you the moment you show them you have a backbone. Be careful... the supervisor will discuss other employees' work habits with you, but understand the same will be done to you. Good luck! Almost forgot, understand it is a jail; very unsanitary, no adequate work space or amount of equipment for employees: computers, desks, fax, copier...
If you have any type of allergies, this is not where you want to be! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a poor reputation
Mental Health Counselor (Current Employee), Baltimore CityNovember 19, 2012
Pros: ends up being a miserable place to work in an already challenging environment.
Cons: poor worker morale, poor management, poor compensation, unlicensed supervisors w/ poor management skills.
After having been employed by this company I learned from almost every other employee that I should have run the other way. Others say they are there until they secure other employment due to the poor economy. All colleagues have grievances with poor management and human resources. When you attempt to have your issue resolved by management they inform – more... the other party and "team up" on you. They often give employees the option to resign or be fired. This is a for-profit company that is truly only concerned with their profit. No genuine concern for the well-being or ethical treatment of clientele or employees. Everyone is dispensable. They will turn against you the moment you show them you have a backbone. Be careful... the supervisor will discuss other employees' work habits with you, but understand the same will be done to you. Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't let the misleading ad fool you...
Mental Health Provider (Former Employee), BaltimoreNovember 18, 2012
Pros: you will be hired because they are in desparate need of employees.
Cons: concerned only with what they can get out of you, not what you can contribute to their company.
Absolutely no job security. If you voice your concerns you are viewed as uncooperative and become a target for dismissal. Unclear policies and procedures that you will be blamed for not following when something goes awry. Generous amount of leave given, but problematic to use. Management is only concerned with the bottom line and not patients/inmates – more... or employees. Extremely low employee morale with most, if not all, seeking other employment. Poor compensation for work in such an environment (corrections/jail). No negotiation of salary, but YOU must be experienced, licensed, and knowledgable. Supervision is provided by non-licensed individuals, however, YOU must be licensed. Cannot retain employees and do not care to. Only concern is getting the job done at that given moment, day or particular week. You've been forewarned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the Company is amazing, fun, and enjoyable people
Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee), Vienna, VANovember 15, 2012
My typical day since I work inthe corporate office. Is maintaining my workload. I always arrive on time. Some days my be longer in the office and most days I always get a head start on my work. I've been through 3 Supervisors in the last year and it has been challenging for me, but I currently respect my Director of HR as sometimes things don't always – more... work out for some of us. I have been the longest employee on the HR team. I have been through 6 other different transitions within my team and have had to work alone sometimes and never once complained just always thought to myself that things will get better. I've gotten along very well with all of my co-workers and I have built a very great reputation for myself here. The hardest part part about my job is finding a way to balance my work with my co-workers as I have taken on plenty of other task that sometimes requires them to complete there work in order for me to complete mines. Very hard, but I maintain a level head and work above and beyond to help them as well. The most enjoyable part of my job is we all find time to have outtings, complaiment each other when doing a great job. I had a wonderful year this year even after going out on LOA to have a baby. They didn't know how much I meant until I was out and just hearing that every once in a while makes a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with room for advancement
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 13, 2012
Pros: experience
Productive and informative.Various ways to address mental health in a prison setting. Management is very professional, Co-workers were professional.The hardest part of the job was dealing with inmates through locked doors.The most enjoyable part of the job was getting experience working in a prison setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not go there, not a good company at this time
nurrsing (Former Employee), alabamaNovember 3, 2012
Pros: can be educational and rewarding if not for the harassment
Cons: no raise past few years, increase cost for the insurance with less coverage. harassment that causes a hostile work place.
This use to be a good place to work. No raises. Increase insurance rates. Insurance pays less. Nothing is done about hostile work place or harrassment. (not talking about the inmates) Most of the people are wonderful to work with. There are some supervisiors that don't know there job, but let being in charge of people really go to their heads and think – more... they can talk to people the way they want and nothing is done when it is reported over and over to regional office. Just be very careful if you decide to work for this company at this time. Goodluck. at present time there are layoffs – less