MIAMI-DADE COLLEGE Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Again, second review.... Best school ever! In all levels!
Nuclear Medicine Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 15, 2015
Better than going to a "fancy" private school where you spend more than you ever planned. They teach you and focus on all your every needs. Willing to always accommodate their schedules for their students and holidays! Tuition is the best part. But, I walked away knowing everything for my career. Will most likely pursue my bachelors here!!!!
Pros
Best school, no more to say!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in an office environment with internal auditors as department secretary.
Internal Audit Department, Secretary (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 14, 2015
I enjoyed working as the department secretary for the internal auditors. I learned detailed tasks and enjoyed the office environment.
Pros
It was a great full time office job with benefits.
Cons
I can't think of one as the job was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
PART-TIME CLERK (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 10, 2015
When you do something wrong they are willing to get rid of you without questions asked. They do not even give you a verbal warning. At least a write up but they do not even do that.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place a learning experience
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 11, 2012
A typical day at work requires you to run up and down stairs, to open classrooms for teacher's and students. I've learned how to work on hard tasks by myself and with other's. I've learned that i cannot please everyone with the hard work i do. Management do their best at guiding me through my things i don't understand. Some of my co-workers i am very close with and they are awesome. The hardest part about my job is to watch someone you considered family get terminated/retire from the job. I enjoy all the students and because they are the ones that make your day when you talk to them.
Pros
i get overtime
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Pretty Good
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 7, 2012
Overall Pretty Good. It has a Union for faculty, so individual performance is not really rewarded, this is my main reason for leaving. All faculty get the same raise regardless of performance.
Pros
lots of freedom, good hours
Cons
union & compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy working for the Advisement team in Homestead Florida
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  FLJuly 9, 2015
Great place to work. I have learned a lot working with the Advisement division. It is a very peaceful working environment. The team really wants to teach you everything they know.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school
English and Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 26, 2013
MDC has always established good workplace ethics within the school. I have learned to truly target the learning needs of a multicultural student body. It has good management. Co-workers are highly professional. The hardest part of the job is teaching beginning language learners. The most enjoyable part of the job is realizing how your student make good progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Institution
Prg Coordinator-Assist. Dean, Network Services (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 10, 2012
I am who I am, and I am where I am today, due to the outstanding academic and employment skills I gained while I was at MDC. I recommend MDC to everything I know!

Culture/Values rating was not working, I give 5 start!!!
Pros
all, administration, faculty, student services, scholarships/grants
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FloridaMarch 5, 2012
My experience at Miami Dade College was quite interesting and productive since I was able to learn the basics of financial aid. Thanks to this opportunity I was able to get my job at Keiser University.
Pros
schedule
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful department - No growth opportunity
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 23, 2014
The Earth Ethics Institute is a wonderful place to work if you are passionate about education in sustainability. There is a lot of freedom and independence and creativity is always welcome.
There is also room for skill development in coordination, administration, and customer relations. The most important thing is that the employee's strength is highly considered and encouraged to be applied towards the organization's programming.
Pros
constant learning opportunities via workshops, conferences, etc.
Cons
only part time opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I learned how to be a Strength and Conditioning Coach
Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 1, 2012
Assisted with the implementation of strength and conditioning
programs for intercollegiate sports teams; provided direct training
to athletes and monitored their performance with respect to proper form
and technique in order to optimize their training and performance,
maintenance of the weight room and general
day to day operations. I learned how to be a Strength and Conditioning Coach there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work at
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 14, 2013
It was a wonderful work experience. I learned how to enter and update information, which I have experience for. The people I worked with were wonderful people and I had the great pleasure of working with them. I enjoyed mostly entering data. The hardest part was multi-tasking, but I was able to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Director of Security (Former Employee) –  Kendall MiamiOctober 2, 2011
My experience was awful because of my supervisor Gloria Baez. I love Miami-Dade but the way I was treated by her was very unprofessional. As a result, my tenure as Security Director was short lived.
Pros
everyone in upper positions loved working there.
Cons
gloria baez and martha garridy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture at Miami Dade College. Talented and professional colleagues.
Full-Time Instructor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 23, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job is teaching my students and seeing the actual moment when they acquire success.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 6, 2013
The most enjoyable place to work. The staff made me feel like family. I also developed my key strengths while working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for teaching economic courses
Economics Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 14, 2013
This job enables me to teach Macro and Microeconomic courses while making the subject matter interesting to the average student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Professor
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 14, 2014
Excellent school. Gives emphasis on student development.
Pros
uses professionals in the field to teach students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to teach
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 24, 2014
The working environment is very pleasant and your reward is the feedback you get from your students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library
Library Technician II (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 3, 2012
Work in a Library is my passion in life.
Shelving books, assiting patrons, serials, ILL.
Circulation Desk, ansering phone calls.
Pros
work in a library.
Cons
part-time job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Communication Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 12, 2014
I have no comments. No applicable. I have nothing else to say.
Pros
no comments
Cons
no comments
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

MIAMI-DADE COLLEGE Reviews by Location