Miami Dade County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$45,000 salary after 17 years with the district is an insulting salary
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 17, 2017
You will not be able to pay your basic bills, let alone pay off loans, buy house, car, etc. 3% will go to the state for your retirement as well. Healthcare Insurance is the most expensive in the nation.
Pros
You avoid Miami traffic
Cons
Overworked and underpaid. Very stressful job. Not worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work is very interesting
Community Involvement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 16, 2017
I work with children and their families
The most enjoyable part of my job is help the families with necesities
I learn every day from families and their children
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's ok
School Psychologist /School Psychologist Intern (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 15, 2017
it's ok. I can't complain. I loved working with my team and becoming a small little family.I love my job, I just wished the salary was better. Our contract is discouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fulfilling
Teacher, Administrator and Consultant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 7, 2017
A typical day as an educator is not very typical! As a classroom teacher (12 years) each day was a new one. When dealing with elementary school students you are the teacher, nurse, parent and counselor. At the same time, it was one of the most rewarding times in my career.

Administration lent itself to a whole new set of challenges. Again, each day was a different one. Supervising teachers and putting out fires with parents was daily. Dealing with the day to day operations in a school requires flexibility and the ability to multitask as well as delegate.

Witnessing the growth of children's minds is beyond rewarding!
Pros
Teaching a child to read, June, July, and August
Cons
Not enough hours in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 7, 2017
Being an educator is one of the most important jobs that an individual may hold in life. Learning is important and educators are some of the first encounters that our youth face in their path to learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, family working enviroment with good benefits
Food Service Manager II, Cafeteria Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 6, 2017
Great place to work. Great benefits. Good hours for working mothers and/ or single fathers. Family oriented work place. high quality food, salads, and vegetables served on a daily basis
Pros
free breakfast and lunch
Cons
Hight volume paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you know the right people.
Community Liaison Specialist, Project UPSTART (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 5, 2017
A great opportunity to really make a difference in the lives of students in Miami. Unfortunately, until the staff is able to evolve, the chance to perform greatness dwindles. I have hope that with the right innovative team, this will be the the best place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out reach and team winning workforce
Oracle Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 31, 2017
Team spirit filled environment with a characteristic jovial personnel. A one for all and all for one entourage and cheerful management. An environment of diversity and solidarity and a people of tact, ambition and business motivated evolutionists. court yard games and socializing milieu. work, fun, rest, family in a round Robin fashion.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
Healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 29, 2017
Working with Miami Dade County Public School System is an on-going learning adventure. It is a place where you can be challenged. They offer opportunities to advance in the workplace,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job for someone just starting out.
Lead Security (Former Employee) –  Homestead, FLOctober 26, 2017
This job is one that can help the students become outstanding adults. You interact with the teachers, to teach life skills so the success rate be higher. Provide security for the students and faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Miami Dade County Public Schools?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
Contracts Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 24, 2017
Employees have been switched to new management without notice.
Dealing with new management is hardest part of job.
Most enjoyable part is immediate coworkers.
The culture is not what I would describe as desirable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miami dade
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 23, 2017
Great School system to work for. Lots of diversity in teaching experiences, student choices and professional growth. You don't appreciate the diversity of education for students and work environment for educators that is a big plus for Miami Dade, until you work in a backwards place like Georgia.
Pros
Diversity, Unionized, Professional development
Cons
Could be who you know or who you do situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching A Lost Art
Elementary Instructor (Former Employee) –  South Florida, FLOctober 22, 2017
Sadly the Education system has become a business which mainly focuses on the funding and what takes to acquire it....not the fundamental education of our children.
Pros
Preparing the next generation to lead America.
Cons
Pay, benefits and resources for teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant place to work
Chief Budget Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 21, 2017
The executive staff are highly educated and interested in the organizational performance of the school district. The school district has undergone a management transformation over the past several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 18, 2017
I love my job I been here sooo many years ... My co workers and the kids love me... Its so hard not to love this job I just need a lol part time job ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for meeting different cultures and people.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 17, 2017
Loved to work there. It was a great experience in learning different cultures and people. Interaction between, students, parents, staff and Administration.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
It depends on who you know to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great public school system
High School Math Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 13, 2017
Great place to work with great coworkers. Majority of the work force enjoys working with students and making a difference in their lives.
As a teacher the work load is not light but what career doesn’t have a big workload.
I do not work in a charter school...
Pros
Vacation days are second to none .. summers off
Cons
Lots of hours outside of the classroom
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It didnt go with personality
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 13, 2017
I love doing different things
the world is advancing
It wasn't challenging enough
Lack of work environment
Horrible Pay for the job performed
But it was fun
and something new
used it as a personal experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the educational environment!
Reading Interventionist (Current Employee) –  North Miami, FLOctober 11, 2017
A typical day at work is a very structured and organized atmosphere. I have learned that if you are a true educator, you will enjoy the environment of working with all learners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students to learn.
Assistant Principal (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 11, 2017
Great place to work. Students are always first in Miami Dade County Public Schools. Education is paramount and the employees have opportunities to develop and become all that they can be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miami Dade County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 395 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9