Find companies:
Michael's Arts and Crafts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

Michael's Arts and Crafts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job seeing designs completed
Certified Custom Framer (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLAugust 18, 2014
Learned how to design and complete custom framing orders. A lot of emphasis placed on up-selling rather than design. Management sometimes left something to be desired. Mostly communication issues. Co-workers for the most part were enjoyable people with a good work ethic. The hardest part of the job would typically be trying to fix problem orders, or – more... trying to frame something custom or a customer that's difficult to mount. The most enjoyable part being, seeing a design that you've done come into fruition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Floral Designer (Current Employee), Sumter, SCAugust 1, 2014
I like working there, the co-workers are great, the hours and pay are not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: poor flexibility
Michael's arts and crafts was an interesting place to work. They allow you to get in touch with your creative side. A typical day at work was either cleaning up the aisles or helping customers out at the cash registers. The hardest part of the job was knowing where all of the items went. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my fellow – more... employees and being able to communicate over the headphones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun frame shop
Certified Framer (Former Employee), Ocean City, MDJuly 27, 2014
Pros: in store discount
Didn't love the corporate culture, but the staff members were great people. Not much room for upward mobility, even when presented that way before I started. Some staff were less motivated than others. I found myself getting lots of positive feedback and praise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 23, 2014
I only volunteer with this company, however, I am not able to compare and simplify my experience!! It is simply amazing! The morals and values and respect for employees that this company upholds is nothing short of amazing. It's healthcare professionals, office staff, social workers, chaplains,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michaels was a fun place to work
Front End Supervisor/Office Assistant/Bookkeeper (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: cross training opportunities
Cons: short lunch, low compensation
A typical day at work involved handling customer service issues and attending to cash register. My coworkers were not so bad to work with and management did not really have to micromanage. The hardest part of the job was peak seasons like the holidays. It was extremely busy and at times demanding of additional time. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was the discount and being cross trained in most areas of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative Outlet but Nowhere to Go
Custom Framing Associate (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 17, 2014
Pros: creative environment, meeting new people
Cons: lack of advancement available, lack of consistent scheduling, hostile management
The day starts with the customers. Creating framing designs, handling pickups, assembling orders while answering customer questions, coworker questions and handling any and all issues that come up on the sales floor.

There is little support from management when things get busy at the framing counter and no desire it seems to see that there are properly – more... trained people to help when help is needed.

I enjoy working with most of my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needed more care for their patients
Store Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 11, 2014
not enough staff to care properly for the patients. lots of patients to care for and not enough staff to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Craft Store
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Aliso Viejo, CAJuly 7, 2014
The management and workload was too stressful and not work the compensation. Coworkers were the best part of the job. Management typically hired are low life people who are looking for a mindless job to boss people around. I learned how to deal with different customer types within the Orange County area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and customer friendly atmosphere
Cashier and Replen. worker (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNJune 24, 2014
Pros: food often provided for replenishment staff in mornings
Cons: early hours, heavy lifting, non self sustainable pay rate
* Flexible hours
*Fun and Professional Management
* an Active atmosphere
* creative and knowledgeable co-workers
*highly active and detailed oriented work
* somewhat difficult for individuals with leg or back issues (lots of kneeling, bending, lifting, and turning)
* Fair wages
* available employee health coverage
* Possibility for product demonstrations – more... and crafting demos
*Monthly bonus of free cake left over from decorating classes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXJune 23, 2014
I was promoted 4 times working for this company. Great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and help others
Customer Experience Manager (Current Employee), Greenville, NCJune 18, 2014
Pros: great healthcare plans
Cons: not being able to participate in my son's school activities
I was hired at Michael's in October of 2011 as a temporary part-time associate. By May of 2012 I earned a full time position as a manager. The work environment is a little hostile, yet worth the effort. Helping people is one of the things that interest me most. The customers keep me coming back, just as my customer service keeps them coming back. I – more... have learned many computer operations as well as people relations in learning how to professionally lead others and maintain a smooth workplace. The hardest part of the job is having to be responsible for the actions of others. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping so many people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job Away from Home
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Westbury, NYJune 13, 2014
It was the first job I had away from home. Therefore, I learned a lot about what goes into being a retail associate. From answering the phone to how to read labels and even associate jargon, I learned all I needed. The job isn't hard and the co-workers and management were easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Store Associate- Seasonal (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 11, 2014
Typical day was boring but easy

learned how to unlaod materials properly

management was hard woring and nice

Hardest part was trucks days
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Place to work at
Cashier (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAJune 3, 2014
Mainly on your feet all day and helping customers find items and then you do a walkthrough of the store at night and put away items in their right area. Communication is a big part of this job too and being punctual is required. Some drama can happen and points are given against you if something was done wrong or you didn't call into work. I really – more... enjoyed interacting with all the customers and find out about new crafts and just be creative. This place is a great starting point and understanding the hard work people put out for their stores to be organized and welcoming. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized management
Supervisor (Former Employee), Whittier, CAMay 16, 2014
There is room for promotion if you are willing to work for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with clean and organized workspace
Cashier (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSMay 13, 2014
Management was friendly and always made sure their employees were taken care of. They were very flexible with me being a student athlete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Replenishment Associate/Seasonal (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDMay 11, 2014
Great job and great team, however my employment was seasonal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience if you like to work!
Custom Framer (Former Employee), Sicklerville, NJMay 11, 2014
I started as a seasonal cashier but was moved off of the front line and trained in the custom framing department. I loved being as creative as I wanted and being able to interact with customers constantly. There was always something to build, cut, wire, hook, tape, draw, and drill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Perfect Work Environment
o Customer service (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 9, 2014
Pros: great managers, good hours, repeat customers
Cons: few benefits for part time
Michael's Arts and Crafts is as close to a perfect job as I have ever gotten. From the work type to the hours to the people working with me, few work experiences have been nearly as rewarding.

As my first formal job, Michael's taught me a lot about retail. It taught me the importance and satisfaction of a job well done, money handling skills, general – more... job skills, and how to handle people. In a typical day, I would have to run register, stock merchandise, and perhaps most crucial of all, provide customer service. From returns to giving directions to just politely listening and giving advice on what materials to use for projects, this was by far my favorite part of the job.

The hardest part of the job was balancing it with my school work. At the time I was working, I was also in high school, and therefore needed to work nights and still manage to get my homework done. It was a challenge, but I managed to close out my senior year with a 3.4 average.

One of the best parts of the job was the people I got to work with. I loved everyone I worked with, be it day shift, night shift, or management. Truly, being able to get along with everyone and form dynamic teams to accomplish goals made working at Michael's a wonderful experience. I got along fantastically with all the members of management, and remain friends with some of them even though our professional relationship has ended. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Michael's Arts and Crafts

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operates¬†about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more