Find companies:
Michaels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
385 reviews

Michaels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Douglasville, GADecember 23, 2014
Pros: great business to work for.
Cons: short shifts.
Great management. When asking for back-ups to registers, sales floor associates come right away along with management. The hardest part of my job is saying no to customers who have coupons. We have a strict coupon policy. Customers give us good feedback. Clean store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.....
o Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Aventura, FLDecember 18, 2014
Nice store to shop. Breaks were only 15 minutes. Learned alot about arts and crafts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michaels
Cashier (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 18, 2014
Very successful company and good to work for. My career was a brief 8 months due to concentrating on school but I never had any issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mission Viejo, CADecember 18, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough work hours less tha 8 hours a week
fast paced work day returning stock back to the floor
I have learned to listen to the customer...
The managers are Nice .
My co workers are very helpful and friendly
the hardest part of the Job is leaving for the day.
I enjoy the smiles on peoples faces I have helped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate doesn't care about employees.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLDecember 16, 2014
I love the people I worked with at Michaels. However the hours sucked because corporate only cared about making money for itself instead of hiring full time employees so they didn't have to provide benefits. My manager was constantly under the watch of the district manager because he was doing shady things. The store is always messy and unorganized – more... because of lack of staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee), Tucker, GaDecember 15, 2014
Liked working early morning replenishment, pay rate was very low and hours available to employees were scarce. Management turn over rate was too high. Very nice products. Safe location
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that stays busy
Loader/Sorter (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 11, 2014
I work from 10hrs Loading several trucks.Ive learned that hard work pays off. Management is very nice and they care about the employees. My co workers are friendly and very helpful. The hardest part of my job is taking boxes of the convailer belt befor it piles up. The most enjoyable part of my job is when im done with the truck and load the pallets – more... on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very weird hours
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 4, 2014
Pros: nobody on the road on to work
Cons: weird hours, unreliable team, too many changes in management
I did like working here. It was hard at first getting used to the hours that started at 3 am though. It was hardly impossible to grow into a manager because they always had a change in managers, one would get promoted and work at a different store, so there were frequent changes in management. A lot of the coworkers slacked and hardly showed up for – more... work and were never penalized. very unfair for me showing up each and everyday and being the only one taking the job seriously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where creativity happens
Cashier (Current Employee), 3201 Lawrence RdNovember 27, 2014
Pros: environment, great team members, great supervisors
Cons: not enough hours
Each day is a new day; I usually work the cash register and answer the phone, as well as help customers. The newness is what goes on all the time, but it's always fresh - at least, to me. I work with the kids every Saturday for kids' club and oversee the summer kids program.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere.
The hardest part is it's – more... a retail store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel, Adventure, Responsiblity
Certified Custom Framer (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXNovember 26, 2014
Without a doubt the best 6 years of my life. You can meet anyone from anywhere and at the same time be doing something meaningful and fulfilling. Awesome benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative
Customer Service (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXNovember 25, 2014
Fun working for this company. Creative people would fit in perfectly with this team. Great company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with interactive workers and customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomingdale, ILNovember 25, 2014
I started off as a Sales Associate so I would be on the floor at all times helping customer find the product they needed, answer any questions they had, and do recovery. As a cashier, I would ring customers up in the front in a fast and friendly manner, answer phone calls, keep the front organized and presentable, put the damages away, take the trash – more... out, and also any questions the customer had. My manager and co-workers were friendly and understanding of any situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative workplace focused on customer service
Framing Manager and Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: constant thinking out of the box solutions
Provided leadership for the front end of the store as well as set the standard for customer service. Sought to find the best solution for each customer with dedicated and knowledgeable teammates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brandon, FLNovember 13, 2014
Pros: team members feasts
Working at Michaels is pleasants. The team has been very friendly since I started working here. Anytime I have a question my managers always give me an answer within a hour, if not immediately. The most enjoyable thing about working there is when you answer a customer and their face lights with satisfying glow. You immediately fell good about yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crafts and designs
Laborer (Former Employee), Chambersburg, PANovember 1, 2014
Pros: discounts on purchases
Cons: i didn't get to work with people that much.
Honestly Michaels is a good place to work if you are into crafts. For me i was help setting up the store so it could be opened to public. I learned that there are some different ways to make a blanket with different styles of yarn from fuzzy, to baby fine, to really thick. I enjoyed every aspect of working there and learning the different fabrics, designs, – more... etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michaels
Replenishment Manager (Former Employee), Chicago land areaOctober 29, 2014
It was beneficial to my personal growth, although I would never work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for creative people
manager (Current Employee), South Gate, CAOctober 28, 2014
Fast passed and fun people to work with, great for students flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Team based
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Clifton Park, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
There are many friendly employee's at Michael's. There are two different shifts day and over night replenishment, giving people the option to pick a schedule that suits their lifestyle. It is also encouraged that each employee works with one another. For example if a cashier needs a price tag to scan an item they can call for another employee to retrieve – more... it. When employee's rely on one another it builds our team and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Checkout Operator (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: early hours
Cons: not enough hours
This has been a great place to work. The people are fun and helpful. I have learned more about how to increase sales by suggesting more items for their purchase or project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A people caring environment
Director of Training and Development (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 21, 2014
The place where people shop for the hobbies and holidays. Always enjoyable to help customers who are shopping for fun

1 2 3 4 5

About Michaels

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operatesĀ about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more