MICHELS Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits otherwise horrible place to work.
Compliance (Former Employee) –  CorporateNovember 29, 2016
Health benefits were great. Otherwise you are under paid and unappreciated. Can't move up unless you sleep with management. They will find any reason to fire you. HR has no backbone. Will make promises to get you hired but won't keep them. Extremely high turnover rate.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Pay, harassment, lies
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the checks cleared
Miner/Foreman (Former Employee) –  new yorkNovember 22, 2016
decent i worked 2nd shift so i did not see the best they had.the work moved slow and i didn't understand there management style.they did keep a very safe work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, great facility to work at, pay structure needs work
Equipment Catalog Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, WIOctober 11, 2016
They treat you well, but they won't pay you what they worth unless you really complain and drive at it or threaten to quit. Other than the pay scale and some lack of communication due to large size it's not a bad place to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
use extreme caution when being recruited by Michels
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIJune 27, 2016
While employed in the yard at Michels earning $20+ per hour, the work environment between supervisors and technicians is mostly good; only the usual minor conflicts which are normal in any workplace occur. My advice to anyone reading this is to understand that the corporate office and the yard in Brownsville, WI have a definite, distinct,"us v. them" attitude. As a yard employee, you are "them." They will manufacture a reason to fire you at any time on their whim. The Michels HR Dept. are helpless jellyfish - you are not protected in the event of a conflict with anybody. Before you accept a job in the Michels yard, you work on thin ice. Even if you are an exemplorary employee, as the author of this review was considered (excellent attendance, work ethic, safety record and highly respected by team members), your position at Michels is always at risk.
Pros
fair wages
Cons
long hours, not enough bathrooms, dangerous safety violations, ineffective HR Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Welders Helper (Former Employee) –  WisconsinMarch 17, 2016
Most jobs were six ten hour days and required traveling. Pipeliners have a great sense of pride! One of the best pipelining companies out there!
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
Very hard work, living out of a hotel nine months a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day hours, hardest part and most enjoyable of job
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee) –  USAJanuary 26, 2016
Can work between 8 to 16 hours a day depending on if home at corporate or in the field.

Hardest part of job is being away from home.

Most enjoyable part of job is the amount and array of people you meet.
Pros
Diverse Company to work for
Cons
Away from home alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
payroll supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2016
Michels is a very friendly place to work. A typical day is process or review payroll. Review benefits or contacting union representative or field engineers,
Pros
free breakfast, holiday partys
Cons
long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Management
Corporate Employee (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIDecember 1, 2015
If you are not being hired as a supervisor or management watch who you talk to and even do favors for. Seemed like everyone was out to stab someone in the back to help advance themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety comes first!
Office Manager/ Payroll and Human Resource (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WISeptember 15, 2015
Being in the Pipeline Division, safety will always come first.

Taught me a lot about life and people's way and different cultures. You take the good with the bad.

This job has taught me to go-go-go and be proficient while doing it! I have tweaked any weakness that I thought I had. People depend on YOU and it feels good to be able to help them and have them appreciate you.
Pros
Met a lot of people along the way
Cons
Travelled with each project
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respect for the job.
Teamster (Former Employee) –  Isheming,Mi.November 23, 2014
I was a teamster driver for the pipeline.I moved equipment and materials to job site. I operated equipment for loading and unloading, dot compliant, safe ,reliable.
Pros
Union scale pay
Cons
shortterm assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Waitress/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2014
I love the people i worked with. Great hours, great compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual office setting.
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lynwood, CAJuly 2, 2013
Set up Bill of materials for furniture runs on a weekly basis. The manager of the department was rude, and unprofessional. Other that that the job was fast paced and challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 19Report

See more MICHELS reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MICHELS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9