Michigan CAT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits decent pay
Technician (Current Employee) –  Novi, MIJune 25, 2017
Higher paying shop in the area, good benefits due to union. Very hard to advance, management moves at a turtles pace to get anything done, especially for advancements.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Takes a long time to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIApril 19, 2017
Really enjoyed working here. Great people, job security, and benefits. They try to do employee lunches a good amount and have a great sense of community.
Pros
Benefits, Lunches, not too stressful
Cons
Typical Corporate Structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Career choice
Diesel Technician (Current Employee) –  Novi, MIJanuary 5, 2016
Long hours, over-time every week, great co-workers, work/life balance can be tough. Responsible for maintaining rental fleet. usually 10+ hr days.
Pros
Compensation and benefits
Cons
Management is not technically trained
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Failed Startup Trying to Stay Afloat
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Novi, MISeptember 14, 2015
The technical aspect of Michigan CAT or "IT Shared Services" is basically a 10 year old home brewed ERP system that the owner of Michigan CAT and his brother founded, but since have left and sold the company...

The people currently there are simply trying to do anything to keep their jobs afloat, but I would avoid this place like the plague.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engine rebuild and overhauls
Diesel Engine Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 6, 2015
I am a dependable, self motivated employee. I have over 10 years of experience as a heavy duty truck technician. But CAT has allowed me to further my career with Experience in engine rebuild and overhauls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding!
Various (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIMay 11, 2015
Great company to work for because of the dedicated people there. I had the pleasure of being there during the rapid growth. I wouldn't trade those years for anything.
Pros
Comp, recognition and benefits.
Cons
Hard work but isn't everything worthwhile?
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Administrative Assitant (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIMarch 2, 2015
Started everyday at 7:00 am i would get everything in the front office up and running answered phones, greeted and assisted customers, daily i was responsible for processing accounts payable and receivable, store deposits , invoices, maintained the stores novelties stock and pricing. I worked on the computer pretty much the entire day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Comapny to work for
Equipment Detalier (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJanuary 21, 2014
Great benefits and a very professional corporate culture, the company is very large and stretches across Michigan but you get to know everyone in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Service Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brownstown, MIJanuary 23, 2013
Overall great place to work with opportunity for advancement. Insurance and vacation time is good too. Casual dress with breaks & lunch hour. Management is excellant to work with.
Pros
plenty of opportunity for advancement.
Cons
some management was not familiar with heavy equipement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michigan CAT is an excellent place to work with tremendous opportunity for involvement and professional development.
Director, Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Novi, MIMay 29, 2012
Days are combined of dealing with a variety of tactical and strategic issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 41Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michigan CAT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Michigan CAT Reviews by Location