Find companies:
Michigan Works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Michigan Works Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Mt. Clemens, MIMarch 23, 2015
Considering the stress they were under on a daily basis, the Managers were grateful for all the work done for them, and respectful of all individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee), Manistique, MIMarch 22, 2015
Pros: hour long lunches, working outside
Cons: it was only a summer job
The day would start off with us sitting at a table where we'd come up with ideas for the day. Once we came up with a full schedule, we'd go out and complete the tasks that were given to us.
I learned to – more... deal with other coworkers during times of frustration.
My manager was a very nice guy. He'd buy us lunch or ice cream if it was a very long day at work. He'd take us to our locations that needed work.
Most of my coworkers were very fun to be around. We joked around a lot while working. I did have issues with one coworker who was very rude in his ways, but I ignored him.
The hardest part was dealing with a coworker of mine. He made the job stressful for other coworkers and myself.
I loved that we worked outdoors. That was the best thing about my job. Also having field days for children, such as playing kickball, wiffleball, opening up a roller rink for the kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 10, 2015
I have worked for this company twice and each time was a great experience. I enjoyed the family oriented feeling of the office and the attention that was shown to each individual that entered the facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIFebruary 19, 2015
I always had a smile of my face walking in these great doors. We were a family orientated environment. I have no regrets working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Team Member (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJanuary 7, 2015
This job was a fun and productive place to work. The other employees were nice and very kind to get along with, also they were a team player. If I needed to go to my supervisor about anything it was always followed up on at a good period of time. I would defiently recommend this job to anyone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every factory is different
Temporary Assignments (Former Employee), Ludington, MIDecember 1, 2014
Pros: i got to learn new skills, meet new people, work at many different places and i would love to learn more.
Cons: it all depends on mi works you work for ludington mi, mi works only does what they have to not what they need to for there employees
In my personal opinion Chassix of Montague, MI is to this day my favorite places to work I met a lot of new people and I was treated like I was Family there they would always try to work with me if I need – more... time off but the overtime Is ALWAYS there if I needed it Mario Salis is the best supervisor I have ever had and one of my very good friends the only issue I had was it was to far of a drive. But I still miss it so much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a job that required a very thick skin.
Job Placement Specialist (Former Employee), Gladwin, MINovember 17, 2014
Pros: no evenings or weekends. fair money.
Cons: duties and expectations were unfulfilling and unrealistic.
Most of the time I enjoyed the work as a Placement Specialist. But there were many things about this job, and this Organization in Particular that were unbearable. I primarily worked at finding jobs for – more... Welfare Recipients. The Work First Program had many flaws. I spent a lot of time trying to convince local business owners to employ my clientele. I had at my disposal some useful tools and incentives, mostly via the funding from the Federal Government. The J.T.P.A. funded many programs that were given to the agency that I worked for (among others). The Job Training Partnership Act allowed me to write employment Contracts for workers that compensated Employers with up to 1/2 of the worker's wages for up to 6 months, with the provision that said worker was offered regular employment at the end of this 6 month term. Money from this Federal Grant also provided things to the worker to assist them with success, such as Auto repair as needed, paid fuel vouchers for the first 30 days of employment, and assistance purchasing clothes for work.
As much as this sounds like a good thing, it oft times failed. The local business folk had a bad experience with workers, or the workers quit. The attention give to this program to me felt like it was underdeveloped, and doomed to fail.
When the Government de-regulated this agency and the programs went out to the lowest bidder, it was time for a change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistant at Delton Kellogg High School
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Hastings, MIOctober 27, 2014
Answering phones, checking emails, disposing of confidential records, and papers. As siting the principle with any tasks he had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A heartwarming place to work for the children
Job Coach/Teacher Aide (Former Employee), Mount Clemens, MIOctober 8, 2014
I would supervise teenagers who were peer pals to elementary students. The teacher would consult with me, go over the students learning ability and what each peer pal's responsibility was to the elementary – more... student. I would also help the teacher with lesson plans. The co-workers were great and treated me with respect. The hardest part of the job was seeing and knowing the dsyfunctional life style these children and teenagers came from. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing their smile from any accomplishment or enjoyable time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Office Clerk (Current Employee), Harrison, MIOctober 8, 2014
Pros: nice people to work with
Helpful, I answer phones, direct customers, and help to put in resumes and profile material..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Auburn Hills, MISeptember 17, 2014
Good environment, and great benefits. liked working as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work, school setting
Support services Workforce Specialist (Former Employee), Muskegon, MISeptember 10, 2014
Pros: was kept informed with weekly meetings loved the job
Cons: part-time so no benefits
start my day with meeting young people for employment encounters,Taking them on job interviews. Got along well with co- workers. Hardest part of job was consoling persons who didn't get the job when all signs were pointing to acceptance.The most enjoyable part was rejoicing when they got the job. Management was flexible and allowed you to do a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, great program :)
Resource Room Assistant (Current Employee), East Tawas, MISeptember 2, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, good learning environment.
Cons: no perks, pay is low. experience works is staffing employer for this training program.
I have worked at Michigan Works in a job training related program for one year. I have assisted clients on the computers to file for unemployment online, build resume's online. I have done data entry,
made flyers, emailed, and faxed.

Prior this training program I was and still am an LPN and have been one for 22 years with many related skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun
Cook/Janitorial (Former Employee), Heartland MichiganAugust 23, 2014
Pros: fine
Clean school inside and outside, Did land escaping ,Cook food, clean dishes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy going
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Prudenville, MIAugust 12, 2014
Pros: hour paid lunch and pretty easy going people.
Cons: pay is not great.
If you like assisting people, then this is a good place to work. Most were laid back and easy to get along with (co-workers & clients). Supervision is minimal which gives you the freedom to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Resume Writer / Unemployment Help / Job Locator (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 21, 2014
Helping people is my passion I loved being the person that helped someone become self-sufficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Landscaper (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIJuly 17, 2014
a typical day at work we where outside. I learned how to landscape many bulidings. worked with different types of people who were a joy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job Placement and Job Search
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Ionia, MIJuly 16, 2014
Michigan Works helped me a lot in the past. It's a great place to job search and get advice for jobs and interviews. I was in a work experience program that placed me at an Elementary School where I worked – more... as a Teacher Assistant. I enjoyed working with kids and knowing that I taught them something was a great feeling. I would never be able to be a teacher because I would get too attached to the kids. But it was definitely a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
structured
Secretary (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIJuly 3, 2014
it was interesting working in a office but i learned a lot about working in a office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Laborer
General Laborer (Former Employee), Ionia, MIJune 7, 2014
Worked two separate job locations:

Retail Stock Clerk
December 2007 - August 2008
Mel Trotter Industries
Belding, MI

Coordinated donations – sorted, cleaned, and priced incoming inventory
Organized product – more... placement – rearranged stock for better customer access
Provided customer service – responded to customer questions and concerns
Operated cashier drawer – consistently had balanced accounts
Maintained a clean and safe store

Maintenance Worker
May 2007 - August 2007
Bargain Corner Automotive Sales & Repair
Belding, MI

Assisted shop mechanic, cleaned the shop and vehicles, picked up parts
Interacted with customers to ensure quality service
Accompanied mechanic on vehicle pick-ups and tow-ins
Helped with any job or task assigned – less

1 2 3 4