Find companies:
Michigan Works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Michigan Works Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Laborer
General Laborer (Former Employee), Ionia, MIJune 7, 2014
Worked two separate job locations:

Retail Stock Clerk
December 2007 - August 2008
Mel Trotter Industries
Belding, MI

Coordinated donations – sorted, cleaned, and priced incoming inventory
Organized product placement – rearranged stock for better customer access
Provided customer service – responded to customer questions and concerns
Operated cashier – more... drawer – consistently had balanced accounts
Maintained a clean and safe store

Maintenance Worker
May 2007 - August 2007
Bargain Corner Automotive Sales & Repair
Belding, MI

Assisted shop mechanic, cleaned the shop and vehicles, picked up parts
Interacted with customers to ensure quality service
Accompanied mechanic on vehicle pick-ups and tow-ins
Helped with any job or task assigned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Temporary Employee (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIMay 27, 2014
My overall review, I am thankful that the Michigan Works staff has help me with getting my first permanent job. They are willing to help anyone that needs help with finding and a job. Michigan Works has great resources for people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community resource for all things related to workforce.
Current (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MIMay 22, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: longer hours would be helpful
Offers many programs to help in career development and transition. Great staff and opportunities for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, Awesome Job Placement
Civil File Room Employee (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 21, 2014
I loved working at 36th District Court
Michigan Works is very fast at finding person permanent and temporary employment and most of them best fits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Laborer (Former Employee), Reed City, MIApril 23, 2014
Fun time and got to learn differnet ways of doing part for the differnet factory in the area and management was excellent and love my co workers and there was nothing hard about the job and love the job they gave me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and flexibility
Team Lead & Office Assistant (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIFebruary 27, 2014
This was a contract job where I worked different locations doing different things. I was given the opporunity to do many positions and gain exposure to so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful career advancement
Crew Member for Lego Robotics Youth service. (Former Employee), Escanaba, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Michigan works! is a great equal oppurtunity employment service with many helpful resources, whether its employment help, education, or career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Battle Creek, MIJanuary 31, 2014
A typical day is filled with many customers and data entry. At least 300 people a day, every need has to be met. Having knowledgeable co-workers softens the blow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Clientelle
Work Experience (Current Employee), Fremont, MIJanuary 16, 2014
I Learned new skills I can use at a future employer.I can now use a copier,printer,fax,stappler,shredder,can prepare a cover letter resume and refeerence page and can navigate job search websites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace ever
Clerical Aide (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIDecember 16, 2013
I would go in and check my work day which included going through files and checking making sure they were put were they are suppose to go and helping students are doing there job and working for school credit and sometimes hire and fire someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent job for a people person.
Customer Service (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 12, 2013
Michigan Works is offers an excellent opportunity to advance in the field of customer service for those interested in making this a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michigan Works Review
Construction Assistant (Former Employee), Allegan, MIDecember 6, 2013
Pros: very good at what they do.
Cons: none that i can think of.
While I was going through the Summer learn and earn program I learned employable skills, and interviewing skills. I was placed to work in Wayland for a small construction project on a historical building in the downtown area of Wayland. We remodeled the inside, re-did the roof, and made planter boxes for the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Instructional Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Chesaning, MINovember 6, 2013
Learned a lot about myself and others. My typical day started with getting new clients and starting new client paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mentoring kid
Mentor for kids (Former Employee), Muskegon, MINovember 6, 2013
you got to have patients and active because working with kids can sometimes be tiring or make you feel wore out. but i love working with kids and most kids enjoy me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MISeptember 26, 2013
Pros: have of meals
Cons: break when you can
we learned great team work a day where your always doing something you stay with work my coworkers was the best and i just enjoyed getting up going to work everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Student Worker (Former Employee), Oak Park, MIJuly 9, 2013
Pros: easy of assignments
Cons: not knowing where you would be assigned
A typical day at work depended on where I was assigned for that summer. The job changed each summer. I learned many interoffice skills, how to deal with people and clerical skills. The management was burnt out. She had to assign many sudents to different jobs and it seemed like she was overworked. My co-workers were great. I didn't have an assignment – more... that I didn't enjoy. The hardest part of my job was not knowing where I would be assigned each summer and the easiest part of my job was the job itself. I didn't have difficult jobs. I enjoyed each one of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job had great pay and good hours
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIJune 26, 2013
i enjoyed working with this company the pay was good and it was a good feeling to get up and go to work everday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Burdick St Kalamazoo, MIJune 6, 2013
Since the beginning of my employment at Lake Michigan County (Michigan Works!) Prisoner ReEntry program, I have learned a great deal about a world completely nonexistent to my life. I learned a great deal about how how grant funded programs work. The viability depends on several parties coming together for one common goal. Workforce Development is the – more... section of Prisoner ReEntry I work for. Here we are able to help those returning to society become gainfully employed. I have thus far been a part of a forever changing program. I have become a part of video in-reaches where we meet with prisoners before release and orientate them on our services. I have also had the opportunity to visit a prison to discuss our services. This program has opened my eyes to a new "helping" world.
I am currently taking the GCDF course to obtain a certification. I am in high hopes to continue my work in helping people succeed in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and straight to the point
Apartment Maintenance/ Cleaner (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MIMay 28, 2013
Pros: job counseltaition
Cons: long process
I'm just registered in their older youth work first program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They weren't helpful at all really.
Line Worker (Former Employee), Cadillac, MIMay 23, 2013
Pros: good training and different experiences
Cons: short breaks, horrible pay, no one was ever helpful or in the office, etc.
The work was incredibly hard, and long hours, which I normally don't mind. But for the pay they gave me it was ridiculous. And you're always a "temp" so you have a trail period and they decide when they want to hire you in or not. Some people have to wait 2 years. And that's never being able to make a mistake, never being late, and never calling in. – more... Which yes, can happen, but so does life. – less

1 2 3