MICRO Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hands on with all the electronics for better product knowledge.
Knowledge Advisor (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 15, 2016
building rapport with customers to satisfy their needs with computer hardware. Most enjoyable part is playing with all the new electronics.
I enjoy working with my co workers. I have made some good friends there. We mostly have the same interests in terms of computers, games, music, etc.

Management can be a little better. Sometimes I feel like some of the managers micro manage when us as employees have it under control. It's makes some of us not want to work our best when someone is always on us. other than that the managers are great.
Pros
hour lunches, constant training on new computer hardware/ components, Free lunches for exceptional sales days.
Cons
healthcare, not enough personal life time, low base salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees All look out for each other
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 9, 2016
I was fairly new and most, if not all, the employees gladly answered my questions. Also they educated me on most thing tech that I didn't know.

Work felt a little less like work due to the comradery present during both in and out of store hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Management (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 4, 2016
Busy Retail Environment
Excellent technology
too many changes in management
co workers are fun & interest almost the same as me
no work/life balance and communication
environment and workers
Cons
Hours; work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked around my school schedule.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 27, 2016
This company was great at being flexible with my availability, they worked about my school schedule. The management team was respectful and brought good energy to the job.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co- Workers Not so Great Compensation
Knowledge Advisor (Current Employee) –  NYAugust 24, 2016
Its a decent place to work my only gripe is the pay structure for a commission sales environment you spend an unreasonable amount of time not selling and doing other projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always leading in the advance electronic control systems
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ft Walton Bch, FLJanuary 12, 2016
Customer satisfaction and on time delivery was our focus. Morning progression meeting and customer altered requirements produced our goals for the day. Electronics are very sensitive and complicated but the engineering team and top management were always informative with planned actions. I learned many techniques from top engineers to assembly operators. There were no secrets among each other but continuous inputs and improvements. The work environment was pleasant due to all that workers and management interaction on the floor or during company parties.
Pros
respected, great pay and benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over view
Major Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 30, 2016
When I started it was a billed as a career; soon after it became just a job. There is not not too much more I can say.... ixxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for beginners
Service Techician 2 (Current Employee) –  Westmont, ILMarch 3, 2016
Great place for those starting out in IT. A great foundation but is a lot of work. The learning curve is not so steep but being quick on your feet and a quick learner is essential.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
quality (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIMarch 1, 2016
did quality @ the end when i got layed off ,worked on the lines learned to make switches different assembly jobs management good to work for
Pros
learned new products
Cons
not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall A Basic Job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mayfield Heights, OHFebruary 8, 2016
Literally Anybody Could Qualify For This Position. Either You Qualify For Cashier/ Customer Service, Or You're A Technician.
Cons
Dresses Very Formerly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about MICRO?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work TIme
Q.A Inspector (Current Employee) –  Fridely, MNNovember 5, 2015
My day at work is okay. It's not to bad or to good.
There is no over time, time is not manage will ( you put your own time card in but you can't work over the mins).
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Operation manager (Former Employee) –  JUANA DIAZ , PRSeptember 18, 2015
 Monitor cleaning jobs grease traps in restaurants around the island.
 Sale of cleaning and maintenance of grease traps.
 Attracting new customers
Cons
I DONT HAVE ANY TIME WITH MY FAMILY
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An expierence
Retail Compliance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  St. DavidsDecember 3, 2014
It was an interesting company to work for, you meet a lot different people (customers & coworkers). There is not much room for advancement within the store itself, but if your willing to relocate there may be other opportunities in the company.
Pros
Discounts, knowledge learned & help with personal electronics
Cons
They over work the employess & the pay does not balance out with the workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Department Lead/ Knowledge Expert (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYApril 12, 2013
Micro Center is a great place to work at in terms of gaining technical knowledge and sharing knowledge with co- workers. Your co-workers are all intelligent. I am proud of how micro center screens and tests applicants. The only problem is, this location I am working for, our general manager is terrible. Too much micro managing that the employee's get suffocated and our morale goes down.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning is state of the Art
Computer Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 28, 2013
You would open the location. we would all have a meeting before actual open to address previous day issue/ questions. We would troubleshoot customer repairs / problems. We would introduce new computer technology and compatability. we would schedule events with AMD/Intel/Microsoft for fun events for all employees to attend and win great prizes.If you own it you understand it was the stores motto.
Pros
People, the experience, the knowledge
Cons
Real long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Peripherls Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAFebruary 2, 2015
A typical day at work would involve checking corporate e-mails, do training and assist customers with products ranging from thermal grease for processors to full scale computer builds.

I learned more of the technical aspects of building and maintaining computers and how to relate that to benefit our customers.

The management was helpful in setting goals for sales as well as training and coaching us to better our sales.

We were a very tight-knight community despite it being a commission driven sales force. There would be events for the employees to maintain morale in the store.Our co-workers were committed to helping each-other out.

The hardest part about the job was the store closing.

Coming to work and helping the customers while being a part of our team was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Great benefits and compensation. Great employee ethic.
Cons
Store Closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i think it would be a great place to work for with lots of room to advance
Manager/Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2013
a typical day for me would be going to my place
of employment,within a friendly enviroment working
well beside my coworkers doing whatever it takes
to the best of my ability to get the job done.l
Pros
friendly enviroment good pay and good benifets
Cons
unfriendly enviroment bad pay, and no benifets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Center
Business Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJanuary 7, 2013
Great place to work to learn technology. A retail store in which consultative selling was taught and recommended to assist customers in larger IT purchases.

Business sales/corporate sales support tied into retail store, but worked corporate hours dealing with larger corporate sales.
Pros
great training
Cons
retail pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job with which i learned about mill work
Electrical Technician Trainee (Former Employee) –  Valley, ALJanuary 18, 2015
Installed monitoring and control systems for monitoring applications; performed conduit and cable pulling for industrial application; trained in the use of soldering and test equipment; trained in electronic circuit repair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced work environment.
Lead Training/Line Leader (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 24, 2014
I start the day by calibrating the machines and setting up lines for the job that has been selected for the day. Placing the team where they need to be depending on what job has to be done. Once my lines are running then I start doing my required paper work. If there is any reworks that need to be fixed I will work on them. I think the hardest thing on my job is trouble shooting the rework because the antennas can fail the same thing yet it will be different components that has gone bad. Some of the components are very delicate and easy to break. So it is always interesting which keeps me from getting bored. I am always learning new things with this company. From ISO training to learning how to read net work analiziers radio frequencies. I like working with my co-workers because they make the days go by fast and makes the day enjoyable. Most co-workers like teaching each other how to do things that they know. So everyone is well rounded.
Pros
Very understanding with personal
Cons
Health Care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MICRO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9