Find companies:
Micron Technology, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

Micron Technology, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture, everyone loves their job there, pride in the Micron group
DRAM Product Engineer - Co-op (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 16, 2014
relaxed pace of work, great company culture, lots of opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micron has good future if certain changes are made
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), Manassas, VAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: 401k match, coworkers, learning a new business
Cons: 12 hour shifts, poor training, poor cafeteria
Micron is an excellent company in its product production. However,
their reputation for poor management is partly earned with its poor training programs. The 12 hour shifts are difficult and there is a large turnover. The supervisors have few management skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting or beating production goals. I learned, again, – more... how important training and leadership are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience in Micron and skill learned
Senior Technician (Current Employee), Aguadilla,PRJanuary 9, 2014
I'm a technician my principal duties are attend process and mechanical problems in the SMT area and give support too in the test area diagnostic product fails and test machinery and do PM. I support engineer in machine programming, NPI and help to identify process improvement. Order parts for equipment down or need some future replacement. My experience – more... in Micron and my 20 years working as technician gives me a lot of learn by outside training and in house situation. That I learn capability me so personal working with people customer satisfaction, like technical knowledge to understand machinery schematic, functionally and feel comfortable with new equipment when the situation is presented.
In the management my supervisor I consider my friend we have a good relation and trust. My partners we are like friends too, we work together for 10 years in Micron and some of them for more time because work in previous job.
In my job the most difficult is had a machine down or with problems and I know is important for the company the equipment need is ready soon without problems to can meet the production targets. I enjoy fixing things and be recognizing like the best technician of the site. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in the semiconductor idustry I learned how to run expensive high tech. equipment and the importance of team work and and followin S.O.P.
Yield Analysis Technician (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 6, 2014
I worked at Micron for 7 years in the fabrication(clean room) area and also in the Quality Control lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits but old culture
Probe Engineer (Former Employee), Boise, IDDecember 22, 2013
There's a lot of freedom given. Managers are all nice and competent, but equipment is outdated and overhead is a bit messy. You may have two or three meetings talking about the exact same issues.

I like how bonuses are given only when there's a major release. Although you are expected to work 40 hrs a week, hours are very flexible.

Overall, this is – more... a world-class company working with the latest in memory which can be exciting, but organization could be poor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven environment
Software Engineering Manager (Current Employee), Boise, IDDecember 6, 2013
Pros: movement potential, good benefits, global interactions
Cons: staffing and other hr messages are mixed - little consistency across the company
Fast paced and a place where you can get a wide variety of experiences. Large corporation with lots of autonomy so your mileage may vary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Production Operator (Current Employee), Boise, IDNovember 22, 2013
Good workplace lots of jobs. 12 hour shifts 3 days on 4 off 4 days on 3 off. Good vacation time and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to get a start in the semiconductor industry after college
Wet Process Shift Engineer (Current Employee), Manassas, VANovember 17, 2013
Micron technology is a great place to gain experience in the semiconductor industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly volitale industry. Lots of great co-workers, lots of diversity.
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Boise, IDNovember 11, 2013
Pros: great health insurance and vacations
Cons: cubicles
Eight to Five in the middle of a cube farm is not for everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if accept compromises
Senior Process Integration Engineer (Current Employee), Boise, IDOctober 28, 2013
Micron is a good place to work, since co-workers are professional and friendly, you can learn a lot of technical skills. Management is not really able to provide a good carrier opportunity, neither challenging with broad responsabilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
DRAM Product Engineer (Former Employee), Boise, IDOctober 3, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: simple
The people are nice and easy going. Good work and life balance. No dinner on-site which means most people go home for dinner for the normal shift. But this is the only company in the area so cutural wise this place is a little poor. However, if you want a secured job and a place to raise a family, this is the place. BTW, the cafeteria kinda sucks, but – more... cheap enough though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits,
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Sterling, ILSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: good bonus, you move up fast
Cons: cant miss any days. first missed day they let you go
good bonus if you never miss a day or call off sick.

3 months $100 bonus
6 months $200 bonus
1 year $1,000

only thing is line pace is fast but you get used to it. also they are harsh on people missing days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice but lacked real leadership
Process Operator (Former Employee), Frazier, paSeptember 12, 2013
Co-workers are the best friends one can ever dream of. Team work was exceptional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work, lots of work to do. Depending on area there can be struggles with management communication and direction
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Boise, IdahoSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: autonomy, and freedom to do your job. a lot of great employees who are hard working and dedicated
Cons: management almost from top to bottom is very poor, mid to sr. level-- very little training w/management
*Because Micron is in a location where there is little to no competition there can be an attitude of the employees being treated as hostages
*A lot of independent thinking and good experience with the company. A lot of hard working dedicated people who care about direction are employed there.
*Seems as if there is a cultural shift in a management that – more... cares for employees to ones that are concerned about numbers-- This has been a theme shared since former CEO Steve Appleton passed away – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting to be a part of the changes that the comany was involved in at the time.
Production Operator (Former Employee), Boise, IDAugust 30, 2013
The hardest part of my job with Micron was that I spent 12 hours doing the same thing over and over again. There was not life there, no one telling you good job, or any incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with ambition
MODULE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Manassas, VAAugust 29, 2013
Good company with some high ambitions, I enjoyed my job responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comparable to other similar sized semiconductor manufacturing facilities.
Process Engineer (Current Employee), Boise, IDAugust 18, 2013
Pros: good work-life balance
Cons: poor compensation
Similar to other places of the same size. Poor compensation due to captive audience (Micron is only semiconductor facility in state).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Poised for Future Growth
Manufacturing Development Engineer (Current Employee), Boise, IDAugust 17, 2013
Pros: casual work environment, great co-workers
Cons: multiple layoffs, feast or famine industry
There are plenty of opportunities for advancement but that may vary by department or location. Working in R&D is great and you are forefront of the most advanced semiconductor processing. I truly enjoy my job, coworkers, and managers. They promote a good work/life balance and do not expect you to work extremely long hours. They also offer ample training – more... and seminars which is a definite bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like Micron's traing and continued education programs.
Manufacture Technician (Former Employee), Manassas, VAAugust 14, 2013
Pros: micron has awesome benefits, great computer based training for all departments, and i enjoy the 12 hour shifts, with 3 to 4 days off a week.
Cons: motivate through negative and stress
I feel over all it's a ok place to work, but I feel like they encourage a corporal punishment. When I was there Management rarely used positive reinforcement. However, once ever two weeks the have a supervisor "one on one" telling you to try harder and do better. Even if you had been exceeding expectations from the previous weeks. One day a I got a – more... R&R (recognition and positive review) that same day the other manager had me in his office telling me my performance was lacking. So , I feel they can improve and be more productive with positive reinforcement. However, the management is trained and expected to limit positive reinforcement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micron Technology
Executive Administrative to President/VPs (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 12, 2013
Overall, a great place to work. People are friendly. Infrastructure is clearly defined. Usual day would include calendaring, expense reports, travel, and other long term projects.

About Micron Technology, Inc.

Micron Technology is one of the largest memory chip makers in the world. It makes DRAM (Dynamic Random Access Memory), NAND Flash, – Read more

Micron Technology, Inc. Photos