Microsemi Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, growth oriented.
IT Intern (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAJune 24, 2017
Good IT team to learn and grow from. I believe a lot of changes have taken place since I've left. As an Intern I learned a lot and was given real projects to work on and felt productive within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Senior Product Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Camarillo, CAMarch 1, 2017
Strong drive to grow by acquisitions. Opportunity to learn new technologies and products. Definitely many synergistic businesses to leverage upon making the company more relevant to customers
Pros
Christmas shut down
Cons
no ESPP
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Microsemi
Wafer Fab operator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 15, 2015
Not much to say I worked there for a little over a year, learned a lot about micro wafer production then they had a huge lay off and moved.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
No comunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good clean workplace.
Electronic Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 27, 2015
Good place to work. Management & co-workers great people. Learned that team work means everything when it comes to great quality production. The most enjoyable part of the job was testing & troubleshooting pcb's down to component level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well known and respected company in the industry
Precision Assembler III (Current Employee) –  Beverly, MAFebruary 1, 2015
Microsemi recently acquired my Symmetricom , my previous company. Since then I have seen how much potential it has added to their employees to grow within the company and get ahead in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance and easy culture
STAFF ANALOG DESIGN ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CaJanuary 30, 2015
Good for non experienced professionals

Projects need to be more challenging

Overall a good company to work for.

Good work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Quality Assurance/Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MASeptember 16, 2014
being with good friends. helping each other.team work
make most of your day
Pros
breaks
Cons
it is what it is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodctive and nice place wth nice persons and manager's team
Electronic Assembler 3 (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CA95630August 27, 2013
i can do different type of soldering jobs followprocedure,drawing,BOM
redline drawing and verbal,such as solder feedthru into thehouse,build
new PCB by hand,,rework all PCB board done the components level
(0402.30+pins IC board).substrate attach and gap weiding.
l have excellent working skill ,i know how to management my working
time,that finsh tasks faster.and good quality.
i glade worked with nice co-worker.tachnicianengineer and manager.
at end of quater,allways very busy and need overtime.i never have problem coming in early or staying late.
i am very enjoy doing challenge jobs,like replace 30+pins IC boaed,
components(0402.0201 etc.),build new PBC boards etc.
Pros
free month birthday cakes for every one
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment. Great place to learn
Staff Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 14, 2013
Microsemi has a great culture and friendly environment. Cross-functional teams are easy to work with and so are the co-workers. Everyone works together to meet the company goals. Microsemi growth currently is all in India, so it's difficult to grow in this company. The company itself is not growing locally, therefore you will reach a plateau at some point.
Pros
Friendly enironment. Great place to learn. Flexible hours
Cons
Difficult to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Woburn, MAJune 24, 2013
Well organized accounts payable system. Good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Product marketing and business development (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 11, 2013
Strong management skills with top executives and leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met good peole in this company
Senior Product Engineer (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJune 9, 2013
Company needs to redirect its goals and improve benefits, As market conditions improve the working environment should improve as well.
Pros
good work and personal balance
Cons
poor benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company on Verge to becoming a big player in the Aerospace Industry
HR Coordinator/Compensation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAJanuary 24, 2013
Microsemi is a place where an employee can learn the core competencies of a job and gain the opportunities to grow within the organization.

I learned most of my compensation abilities in this role without any previous experience. Through mentoring and guidance, I have become proficient in gathering surveys and analyzing the data to gather the knowledge needed to provide recommendations to upper management in a timely fashion.

The hardest part of the position is dealing with constant revamping of projects in short notice. Although hard, it is very rewarding once the job is completed. The most enjoyable part of the position is learning more about the compensation aspect of human resources and seeing the recommendations you provided lead to decisions being made.
Pros
constant learning and great manager
Cons
long commute and lack of benefits due to being a temporary employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
wafers fab diffusion operator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 19, 2012
i have been working at microsemi for 28 years,it was a great place to work,the management was so friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company if you are one of the "right" people.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 25, 2012
Many people working at Micro were very hard workers. This encouraged the management team to just dump more on that person. Work not evenly distributed, bad workers just "hidden" in another area - not disciplined or removed. Friends and family advanced faster, (whether they performed well or not) than people who were hard workers only. Hours are good, no work most weekends. Hours could be flexible depending on your boss.
Pros
most weekends off, advancement opportunities, flexible hours
Cons
have to be one of the gang to get anywhere, hard work (above and beyond) not rewarded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAJuly 5, 2012
I'd go back there in a hot minute but I think things ran their course and possibly rubbed the 1 person the wrong way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an a great place to work.
Operator and assembly (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 2, 2012
I came in check my work orders,and start working on them.I learned to Test components X-Rax tac probe assembly and other areas.my co workers where great we had a great team,we all ways help each other,the hardest part was to have a work order or lot fail.at was money loss for the company I work for.and most enjoyable part was Knowing the we did a great job we achieved our goals that made me feel great.
Pros
the company give us free lunches, when ever we did our goals.
Cons
we had 2 15 minutes break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes happening all at once.
Finance (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJune 4, 2012
Busy 8 hours each day. Almost no time to take breaks with the workload.

New management was not good in communicating, therefore much confusion in some areas.
Pros
good pay
Cons
healthcare, negative environment, blaming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A combination of old silicon technology and novel hexagonal Si Carbide HEXFET technology.
CVD Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bend, OregonMay 28, 2012
This is a company with some really wonderful people and some that are not so. The HEXFET technology is really fascinating. It has a larger bandgap. It is harder to oxidize, diffuse and implant. They have one implanter with a heated end station(1000 degrees C).
This is a company for those who are late in their careers as was I when I joined. There is virtually no opportunity for upward advancement.
In fact if you indicate a desire for advancement it will be viewed as a negative. This is true of the Bend facility. Microsemi is a collection of acquisitions.
Pros
bend is beautiful.
Cons
the work environment is not professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAApril 3, 2012
Exciting and challenging work tasks, which makes you extended your capabilities and remain competitive. Good set of coworkers that are helpful and knowledgeable. This creates a good work environment
Pros
good benefit package, good work environment
Cons
sometimes feel a little too conservative
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Microsemi Corporation reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microsemi Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Microsemi Corporation Reviews by Location