Find companies:
Microsoft
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
613 reviews

Microsoft Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating
Microsoft Office XP, End User (Current Employee), Visual BasicMarch 18, 2014
Pros: always a new day
Cons: update for any and all information, daily
Phone
mail,
set desk

Billing - check que

Sales-
All day, not the same routine accept for change of shift work.

Insurance audit, check phone for que, call or emergency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great starting point
Content Coordinator/Program Manager (Current Employee), Bellevue, WAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: pays well, easy
Cons: contract position, no room for growth
constant interaction with colleagues and account managers, must be able to manage multiple and equally important tasks at once, colleagues are all very smart but fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Compensation & Benefits Were Great, However. . .
Senior Operations Engineer / DC Project Manager (Former Employee), Chevy Chase, MDMarch 15, 2014
Working for Microsoft, I learned that they like to TALK a lot about work/life balance. But in reality, the job always comes first, no matter what. If a project or certain tasks needed to be done in the evenings or over the weekend, then regardless of what else you have planned, you were expected to change or cancel your plans at the drop of a hat and – more... work. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with great team members. The hardest part was watching that team get broken up in what appeared to me to be nothing more than pursuit of the almighty dollar. Prior to being acquired by Microsoft, our team was focused and dedicated to the principles of helping others, saving lives and making the world a better place. We all LOVED what we did, because we knew we were making a difference. However, after the acquisition, the focus quickly changed from helping others to selling software and making as much money as possible. In my opinion, success doesn't come from making empty promises and pushing software on clients. It comes from being genuine in your desire to help them and then delivering what you say you will deliver. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sustained Engineer, MSN Shopping (Former Employee), Redmond, WAMarch 15, 2014
Excellent place to work. Good review system. Great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job experience
Product Advisor (Current Employee), Elmhurst, NYMarch 13, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of daily sales of Xbox and Surface. Customers would come to the store and ask questions about our products or would need help updating their OS on either Surfaces, PC's, Xbox One or Windows Phones. I learned about time management and a lot of leadership. By making sure the store stays on top with sales or promotions – more... I would email the team making sure we stay up to par and making sure we give the right information to our customers. The hardest part of the job could be having slow traffic at our location. Slow traffic could usually occur during the beginning of the week but by having limited customers we would do whatever it takes to get the sale as well as having attachments. Most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers about the Xbox One. Being able to show customers the greatness of the Xbox One and showing them how efficient it can be for our customers really excite me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Stack Ranking
Senior Technical Sales Professional (Former Employee), Chevy Chase, MDMarch 13, 2014
Cons: stack ranking
Great company, challenging work ...

Office politics and stack ranking needs to be controlled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
winning the windows hackathon
Intern (Former Employee), Karachi, PSDMarch 7, 2014
Pros: free pizza, lumia 800
working as an intern at microsoft was always fun, peers were every supportive. The training sessions were always so informative. The hardest part of the job was to create apps over night and presenting it to boss on office 360. The best part was winning the windows hackathon (2012) in our region karachi.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
WW Channel Sales & Marketing (Former Employee), Redmond, WAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: free soda
Cons: poor leaders
Corporate culture kills the employees, does not foster a team environment, the review process kills the spirit of collaboration - everyone is out for themselves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT LOTS OF FUN WORKING WITH CREATIVE LIKE MINDED PEOPLE
Soft \ hardware tech (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 6, 2014
Pros: fun work
Cons: to many lay offs
CSR AGENT SUPPORTED BOTH SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE APPLICATIONS TO HELP CUSTOMERS GET ON LINE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Product Advisor/ Customer Service Support (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: short hours
A good technology company with a friendly atmosphere. The work flow is claim and smooth. The management team is pretty easy going. The best part about the job is helping customers with their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culmination of Dream
SharePoint Evangelist vTSP (Current Employee), Boston MAMarch 4, 2014
Travel is fun if you really want to go places
Challenging project line up
Multi dimensional client profiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Database Engineer - SharePoint - Office 365 (Current Employee), Las Colinas, TXMarch 2, 2014
Pros: resources and people who work with you are very talented.
Cons: large company.
Fast pace, very busy place to work. Learned valuable technical and career skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working team
Program Manager (Former Employee), SingaporeFebruary 28, 2014
Most people I worked with in Microsoft are talented workers, good leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company
Product Advisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: they alway stock the break room with snacks and what not, always makes sure your properly trained on new product and proceeders
This is a fun environment to in. They make sure you trained as well as cross-trained so your not "Not in the know". I would love to work for them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Product Advisor (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 26, 2014
best employer ever has to be best job ever. Have every opportunity to strive and advance in my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally productive and fun xbox gaming
Microsoft Student Partner (Former Employee), Chennai, TNFebruary 26, 2014
Learning Microsoft technologies that too in the awesome microsoft office is too good. Working with other MSP is also joyful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, big rewards
Senior Content Publishing Manager (Current Employee), EastsideFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: challenging work and opportunities to move around to different parts of the company
Cons: high stress, long hours
In order to compete you need to be willing to give everything you have, at all hours, in an often difficult to navigate atmosphere. But, if you succeed, you are richly rewarded and helping change the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DPE, good place to be
Segment Lead, Development & Platform Evangelism (Former Employee), AlgiersFebruary 26, 2014
As the Development & Platform lead at Microsoft, I was responsible of promoting developer tools to secure the future of Windows. I established local metrics, strategies and leverage stakeholders help to increase marketing budget.

I ensured developer tool adoption through mass distribution, workshops, social media and sales.

I was also selected to – more... represent Algeria and participate to a two year young graduate leadership program named Microsoft Academy for College Hires (MACH) which gathered 600 Microsoft employees from 80 countries and through which he gained an international exposure and understood the importance of working in a cross-cultural environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader
Senior Progrm (Current Employee), RedmondFebruary 22, 2014
Lead Enterprise Services Platform and Operation teams that streamline processes, build confidence among stakeholders, and is agile. The critical deliverables done by the teams are directly translated into savings in month end processing timings (Current Revenue and Recognition Process now takes 160 minutes as opposed to 350+ earlier) resulting in the – more... overall process to complete 2-3 hours ahead of 18 hours SLA. Along with this, team also enhanced the month end process to eliminate 100% of blockings in engagement creations, 65% blockings in project creations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive culture in a fast paced environment
Contract Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), RedmondFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, good food, free drinks, unique culture
Cons: lack diversity, organizations change to frequently
Microsoft is an upbeat, very fast paced company to work for. Employees are encouraged to create a work/life balance and take vacation when possible. I worked there in a contract capacity and while I didn't get to take advantage of all the perks full-time employees had, I still enjoyed working there. People are friendly most of the time and outgoing. – more... The hardest part of the job was ramping up fairly quickly, getting the team dynamic down and getting familiar with people and their job functions just to turn around and have to take a 100 day break after a year. In my opinion, Microsoft execs should review the policy for contingent staff and vendors and create longer terms in the contracts to avoid disruption in the organization. I will say, I miss the free soft drinks and hot chocolate! – less

About Microsoft

Microsoft Corporation develops, manufactures, licenses and supports a range of software products for computing devices. The Company's – Read more