Find companies:
Microsoft
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,127 reviews

Microsoft United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team
Business Systems Analyst (Consultant) (Former Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 13, 2015
Microsoft is a huge company, and I was fortunate to have a great manager and excellent coworkers. I had some very interesting projects to work on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fast paced environment.
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: great team to work for
Cons: currently on a vendor contract
A typical work day involves calendar management and support for 2 busy General Managers along with their team. Respond to email, approve expenses, work on projects, make travel arrangements, book conference rooms and order food & beverages for scheduled meeting. Will sometimes provide support to other GM's and VP if administrative support is out of office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work for a sales team that travels extensively
Executive Business Administrator (Current Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: i like my managers and co workers
Cons: this is a temp position with no headcount for permanent position
I manage calendars for a VP, GM and Sr Director, book international travel, put together weekly bullet points from the team, order supplies for the team, order catering for meetings, book conf rooms. the hardest part of the job is that it isn't challenging enough and their isn't enough work to keep busy. did learn to manage budget which is a great skill to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your on your own
Software Engineer Level 1 - Contractor (Former Employee), Fargo, NDFebruary 7, 2015
Pros: you get to put microsoft on your resume
Cons: you get virtually no help. no one helps you. you are on your own.
I thought working at microsoft I would learn a lot. I was disappointed. The technology is limited because you are only allowed to use microsoft products. The culture is quiet. You can't get up and talk to another person in the next cubicle. You have to instant message everyone and then you get into trouble when you miss a message or email.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Program Manager (Current Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 7, 2015
awesome culture, interesting and challenging work, smart people but not so great management. lot of bureaucracy

Good benefits package especially medical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, culture is challenging
Web Art Director (Current Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 6, 2015
Great company, culture is challenging, lots of opportunities but its more about who you know, than what you know.

I highly recommend working at Microsoft, you will learn and grow in a culture that can be both energizing and frustrating depending on the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SharePoint
SharePoint Developer and Portal Manager (Former Employee), Redmond, WAFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: garage events
Cons: over time hours
Working on latest technologies and tools. Cross team colaboration and customer facing team. Designed and developed eRecord Center management application for digitalization of employee, customers and
Acquisition’s physical files into electronic digitalized record for 280K plus employees spread across 100 plus
countries Microsoft offices across the globe. Contributed in Global Migration, Merger & Acquisitions project
for data migration and issue resolution at Tier 3 support for external customers related issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company culture, great benefits and great people
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: great company values, great people and great benefits
Cons: the job is demanding and challenging but consequently a great place to learn and grow.
Microsoft is a company that really cares and invests in its employees and the community. Every day was a learning curve and a new different great adventure. My colleagues and management were absolutely fantastic! Cross-group collaboration is one of the greatest competencies required to be successful in Microsoft and people genuinely takes pride in helping each other succeeding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-pressure environment, good compensation
Director, Sales Marketing (Former Employee), redmond, WAFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: compensation, intelligent people, driven culture
Cons: internal politics, hierarchical decision-making
Scale of organization, and company culture of high achievement and measureable results, offers the opportunity to take on big challenges.

Compensation plan, which has been undergoing changes in recent years, has warped internal company processes to emphasize individual achievement (or "hero" culture) over team dynamics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft
SENIOR PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee), redmond, waFebruary 4, 2015
Pros: flexibility
Cons: review culture
I worked at Microsoft for 18 years. Like anything else that lasts for 18 years, there were good days and bad days. In the end, Microsoft was a good fit for me. It allowed me to pursue my passions, demonstrate my capabilities, be creative, learn, and grow in all aspects of my career.

The hardest day I ever had at Microsoft was due to employee issues. The best day I ever had was because of the impact I had with an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative, team environment that values hard work, but relaxed office feel.
Striker - University Recruiting Team (Current Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 3, 2015
Microsoft is all about team work and a collaborative environment. A work life balance isn't just valued, it is expected of each employee. Employees are given the opportunities to excel in their job while maintaining a relaxed working environment and enjoying their time away from the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
headoffice has a good atmosphere, cafteria and a garden
Inside sales account manager (Former Employee), cairoFebruary 3, 2015
i used to work on my own although i was a part of a big team.

i learned to deal with different cultures

i had 3 managers one in south africa other in saui arabia and other in cairo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Paralegal (Former Employee), WAFebruary 3, 2015
Fun work environment. Work load is high due to the fast-paced. So many new processes to learn. Great opportunity for a self-growth and move up the ladder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft Store
Consumer Product Advisor (Current Employee), Los AngelesFebruary 1, 2015
This is such an amazing company to work for. The culture here is not simply about selling a product or service but pairing people and businesses with the types of products that suit their specific needs. They are dedicated to work/life balance and have some of the most amazing benefit packages, even for part time employees.

This is a great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Manager Intern (Former Employee), Reno, NVJanuary 31, 2015
As an intern I had a unique experience to be involved with the Windows Phone launch.

"Work hard play hard," was their motto and they definitely lived by it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to work for
Sr. Lead Sales Support Administrator (Contract) (Former Employee), Denver, COJanuary 30, 2015
Promotes balance between work and home life. Supports personal growth within the company and hires from within. I would accept if asked to return to Microsoft.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company to work for
Proj. Coordinator / Xbox Live Div. (Former Employee), Redmond, WAJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: great facilities and management
Cons: wish contract work was extended without 6 month break
Atmosphere was very employee friendly and well equipped with everything needed to get the job done. Manager / Project coordinator was always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its Microsoft impire
Software Design Engineer (Former Employee), Redmond, WAJanuary 30, 2015
tasks were boring. weak planning, far from a commercial software shop. heavy on agile. manager is not experienced. culture is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's like university
Software Design Engineer in Test (Former Employee), Redmond, WAJanuary 29, 2015
Pros: you will learn
you will find different technologies in Microsoft and you won't find yourself bored

internal transition is pretty simple in Microsoft and it encourages employee to try different project and learn via career

co workers is nice

management is reasonable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft Business
Mobility Devices Specialist (Current Employee), Independence, OHJanuary 28, 2015
- Contacting Schools and Institutions to evangelize Windows devices
- Grew communication skills and pipeline management
- Co-Workers spread across country, so tele-communication is a must
- Hardest part was meeting number expectations
- Enjoyable part was travel and working with Public Sector

About Microsoft

Microsoft Corporation India Private Limited is a subsidiary of US software giant Microsoft Corporation headquartered in New Delhi. – Read more

Microsoft Salaries

Program Manager
$110,000 per year
Senior Program Manager
$144,000 per year
Project Manager
$90,000 per year
Support Engineer
$78,000 per year
Account Manager
$82,000 per year