Microsoft Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,530 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a sql dba
Database Engineer (Current Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 13, 2016
Good work life balance at Microsoft like nowhere else. Great team and very knowledgeable in the latest technologies.

Flexible hours. Very friendly managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Management
Senior Program Manager, Azure SRE & Live Site (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 13, 2016
Day at work - Always challenged
Learned - Software Lifecycle Management, Consulting, Delivery Excellence, Project and Program Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bing Search QA (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAMay 12, 2016
I worked in both Mountain View and Sunnyvale office in the past. It is a nice and fun place to work.

Each group has its own culture, different work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 11, 2016
Great place to work; challenging; rewarding work; customer service oriented; co-workers are very smart and push you to be the best co-worker you can be
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Social Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 11, 2016
Typical work day was full of interaction with Azure customers via twitter along with posting communications for any Azure related outages. Management was over worked and had quite the disconnect with what went on other then looking at spotting reporting. Co workers were great to work with except for one that seemed to have it out for others. The hardest part of the job was the lack of training on continues changes made for the job. Changes were being made and we were briefly notified about those changes.
Pros
Great learning experience of the Azure Platform
Cons
Lack of work coverage when days off needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New product implementation
Beta Readiness Engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 11, 2016
Supporting customers implementing beta technology to understand and make sure new features are working as designed. Just satisfactory to get a new version of a product that Affects a large number of customer and training internal coworkers on new features/functionality
Pros
New technology
Cons
live the produce
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start and grow your career for years!!!
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 10, 2016
Great benefits and pay.
Super enthusiastic people.
Great career growth.
Gets harder as you go up the chain.
Has problems that come with a big orgs such as things move slowly sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship experience, not the right role for me
Content Publishing Intern (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 10, 2016
As interns, we are treated like kings and queens. We get paid a very high rate per hour and have a travel experiences and housing subsidies included. There's even an intern night where everyone was given a huge product gift (like a laptop or xbox) and they rented out the carnival. There are game nights, hack-a-thons, and labs to improve skills.

The internship experience depends a lot on the team that you're on. I did not enjoy content publishing. I had my own office as an intern, and I was a bit lonely because I was the only intern in my field. Some interns were paired together. I enjoyed working with the people there.

Nearly every intern gets a solid job office.

I'd highly recommend the experience.
Pros
salary, work-life balance, special events
Cons
placed on a team with no other interns
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Manager (Current Employee) –  Metairie, LAMay 9, 2016
Great Place to Work. They are all about work life balance and their benefits are out of sight. The people there and smart and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with large processes
Operations Deployment Program Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 9, 2016
I've worked here for a long time and it's changed from a company with a small company attitude, being fun and creative. No longer agile, exciting company to work for. Became the IBM they originally were fighting against.
Pros
Many different technologies to be involved with
Cons
Hard to get accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
System Engineer (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 9, 2016
I really enjoy the professional atmosphere presented at MS they are a founding leader in IT for a reason and it shows. Anyone working at Microsoft will be challenged consistently to grow and take the risks needed in business when it comes to providing professional services software and support.
Pros
Great experiance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Envrionment
Consumer Product Advisor (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 9, 2016
I love coming into work because everyone is so much fun to work with in all departments. Whether its in inventory, leadership, techs, I absolutely love working in a high energy groups. Making friends and meeting new people is what I am currently experiencing now here at Microsoft. Microsoft provides me many opportunities to gain experience in to better my career future.
Pros
Meeting new people, working in teams, great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for an intern
Graduate Research Internship (Former Employee) –  AmsterdamMay 8, 2016
As an intern, I was given the freedom to work on my thesis and explore various topics. This greatly benefited the learning process.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft is a great company
Sr Product Planner (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 6, 2016
Good company, but it's still in transition. I was there for 20 yrs and I would recommend it. While I didn't leave by choice I still hold no ill will and have full faith in their ability to stay relevant for a very long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Consumer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXMay 4, 2016
This company is now out of business for a good reason. Poorly ran by management and ownership. They expected way to much from you with little compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pay but long hours and you need to keep moving around
Sr. Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 4, 2016
You get paid well for your time but it is a lot of your time if you work global. 6am in the morning and 8pm in the evening. Re-orgs are common so you need to be thinking about your next moves.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 4, 2016
Great place to work, lots of very smart people. A variety of communication skill sets, many people do not know how to communicate their needs. Upper level management are all in, middle management walks the talk but doesn't necessarily agree.
Pros
Great food on campus, smart people
Cons
Lots of departmental reorganization
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Principal Manager of Azure SRE & LiveSite (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAMay 3, 2016
I had been Microsoft 6 years. Very good company:

Good Job Work/Life Balance
Good Compensation/Benefits
Good Job Security/Advancement (if you want to reallocate to Redmond)
Good Management
Good Job Culture
Pros
reorg to adjust to the right direction
Cons
too many reorgs
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with shifting directions
Sr. UX Designer (Current Employee) –  Redmond, WAMay 3, 2016
Challenging place with nice people. Feedback from management was quick and helpful. The most difficult aspect was getting consistent information, but it was a very good experience.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Ambiguity
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a vendor not a Microsoft FTE, however I always felt as part of the team.
Support Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAApril 29, 2016
ASSURE Automation, My function was to execute any necessary change requests and provide assistance to developers as they deployed updates to the service. I was also assist developers with access to certain logs they might need to diagnose issues that we were seeing.
Pros
Free beverages, flexible scheduling.
Cons
New 18 month limit on employment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microsoft. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,358 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0