Midland Credit Management Employee Reviews in United States

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
CHECKS PROCESSOR/FILE CLERK (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 12, 2016
Not much benefits. No promise of hiring me permanently. My job description and title changed everyday. Didn't get along too well with coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
team leader (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIJanuary 5, 2016
Good place to work they don't pay you enough and they never think ahead which is bad for someone like me who was always having to change everything i do and change how me and my team had to do things it makes it hard to train someone to do something when you know that it will change in a few months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 24, 2015
It was a new Industry to me, and I was educated well in their 1st class training class and phase. I was on a team with great compassionate, passionate management team to help guide and teach me.
Pros
great financial incentives
Cons
mandatory late shifts thougought the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement is difficult
Account Manager/Negotiator and Sales (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 15, 2015
The job pays well as an account manager. Management is long hours with less pay. They are very stricked now with breaks, scheduling and work environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Hard to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manager
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 26, 2015
Midland Credit Management Phoenix, AZ April 2004 - October 2005
Account Manager
• Reviewed delinquent account records to determine which customers were contacted for collection of overdue accounts.
• Organized collection work load according to degree and amount of delinquency and assigned accounts to workers for collection (recommended telephone techniques used by collectors).
• Wrote letters and approved form letters for use in collection attempts.
• Assisted subordinates with collection activities in difficult cases.
• Updated and documented work procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career path, your work is more important than you are
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2016
If you have a manager that supports you and wants to help you grow, you'll do great in this company. But the chances of finding such manager outside of the IT department is rare.

The managers have made excuses that because of the field and department, there are no career paths. Unfortunately, this has caused dissatisfaction and a lack of engagement. They have all basically said, if you want to do something else, start looking for a new job.

This phenomenon isn't just localized in the Legal department, but appears to be a company epidemic. Management have not been cruel about in the discussions, however they haven't been helpful historically. It looks like it could change in the future with new HR initiatives, but good luck getting some of the managers to not be selfish. The work is more important than the person, and managers don't really care.

The corporate culture has changed drastically. Senior leadership is very far removed from their respective departments, they don't see how much more work support roles have to do now that that the CEO is pushing for getting more from less. Middle management personnel are on the hunt to please senior leadership so they aren't going to listen to their subordinates.

Pay is slightly below market, you could make much more at a different company doing the exact same thing. The medical benefits are laughable, and the 401k % match was recently LOWERED to meet market standards, but we are allowed a health savings plan. There are no stock options unless you're an executive.

A lot of jobs that were held domestically are now
  more... being shipped to India. Good for India, bad for domestic employees who are dealing with language barriers and cultural differences.

With everything being said, the talent is actually very high. The people, however, are being abused because resources are being stretched so thin that quality is lacking. But, so long as a profit is turned, they won't do anything differently.

Overall, a good place to build a resume, not a good place to call home long term unless you have a phenomenal manager or don't have any aspirations.
  less
Pros
Main office location is in Mission Valley, close to everything. People are generally nice.
Cons
Poor people managers, no career paths, sub-par pay, bad benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and great co-workers
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 16, 2012
A typical day was usually planned ahead. Making a lot of phone
calls, working with the customer talking to them, helping them to
understand why their debt should not be ignored.
I learned to negotiate well with the customer and was promoted
to the Swat team after six months of training which was required
for all employees.
Management and co-workers were available when needed.
The hardest part of any job is when you cannot reach the person
you are calling, therefore spending more time dialing.
The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I did my best
for the company and the customer.
Pros
games, pot luck dinners, and good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support team
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 13, 2012
A typical day you make about 100 calls a day and get like 45 people on the phone who are really unhappy about being in collections and you try to set them up on a payment plan. I have learned a lot about collections and understanding what others go through. Even though collections is one of the hardest jobs out there, and people do not like you. The management and fellow co-workers are there to encourage you and never let you feel like this is your fault. I always enjoyed being one of those collectors that was sympathetic but firm.
Pros
people willing to help you
Cons
people yelling at you over the phone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workload, great working environment
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  United StatesOctober 14, 2013
Great company to be a part of. The people are great here are great fantastic and open and supportive to helping each other when needed. Management is open to new ideas, suggestions provided by the employees. Management takes into consideration the employees opinions and how something may impact them and their workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, feeling of inclusion
Data Entry Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 11, 2012
Sometimes feels like working in the movie OFFICESPACE, yet the employees are great to be around the company shows its appreciation for its employees by routinely buying lunch and providing workshops to improve our value.
Pros
new pool table
Cons
hired as temp, possibly indefinitely until positions become available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Account Manager/Collector (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 19, 2012
Worked on charged-off accounts anywhere between 18-72 mths chargeoff status.
Responsible for achieving monthly targets.
Strict FDCPA Compliance via Witness - Monitoring Software
Great Team Player
Responsible for ACH/Min Calls/day targets
Pros
great environment/fun/financially rewarding/exciting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good $
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNJune 27, 2014
Debt Collection is a very hard job, not only dealing with the customers, but its like your stuck in between management and the customers, so many rules on what you can and can not say its ridiculous.
Pros
good $
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a break room to read or sleep.
Account manager (Former Employee) –  San DiegoFebruary 9, 2013
A great life experience!!!! I meet a lot of great people. This place allowed me to live my life very well. The pay was great because i received salary and bonuses.
Pros
alot of social gatherings
Cons
sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun place to work
Account Manager/ Collections (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2013
I loved working @ MCM, the company was family oriented and it was a very positive environment, plus games and prizes you always got rewarded for your work and efforts....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 18, 2015
Working in 3 party collection was very stressful but I was able to make decent money and made cool friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with very greay people.
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNMay 8, 2012
Hand an awesome training program with very knowledgeable people.
Pros
good work environment.
Cons
very goal oriented, not really people oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Liaison/Consumer Relations (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CaliforniaOctober 18, 2013
Great place to work well with other departments within the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was being great at the tasks that were given.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advancement opportunities
Recovery Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 6, 2013
i learned discipline working for company, i was able to move to different levels of depts
Pros
family atmosphere
Cons
collections
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and company
Legal Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNNovember 24, 2012
great management and good start for beginning of legal career
Pros
great benefits
Cons
tons of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n.a
Account Manager/Collector (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 1, 2012
Great place to work! People and management are easy to talk to no matter what the situation or if you need help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Midland Credit Management Reviews by Location