MidState Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rn
Registered Nurse-Outpatient (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTMay 21, 2017
busy schedule
management is not familiar with the specific department needs and operations
culture has become negative overtime
hardest part was dealing with difficult physicians behavior
most enjoyable part was working with skilled nursing staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly run ED/hospital
Emergency Room RN (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTJanuary 11, 2017
In the ED there is constantly a staffing shortage, management is never around to help when it is busy and charge nurses set people up to fail. You can never get time off without having to beg the scheduler or beg for favors from your co-workers. There is no sense of team between staff members. Often co-workers will watch each other drown when they are busy and overwhelmed. The pay is less than most other hospitals in the area. Benefits package is ok. There is no opportunity for advancement. Management does not encourage staff to go back to school and the scheduler gives you a hard time if you are going back to school and trying to balance work and school. I would not recommend this facility to anybody. I regret taking a job here.
Pros
Every third weekend and every third holiday
Cons
Often no break, unable to get time off, no team environment, poor scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is really your only support
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTSeptember 24, 2016
Staff is really only support. Management is less than supportive of staff and are often not present during difficult times or when inadequately staffed. Also was not an environment that supported education and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the surgeons happy.
Clinical Information Specialist (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTDecember 4, 2015
Ensuring all patients proper paperwork has ben completed and updated prior to the next days surgery. This was a stressful environment yet everyone worked together greatly as a team. Great place to work. I was sorry to leave due to having to relocate.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTFebruary 27, 2015
Beautiful community hospital with supportive management and staff that enjoys seeing each other succeed. The workload is heavy, but manageable. Overall the environment is pleasant and staff are friendly and appear happy with their jobs.
Pros
Supportive environment
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes33No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love what i do
ED Tech./Phlebotomy (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTNovember 16, 2014
detailed pt. care , assisting Dr. and nurses with all care, going above and beyond with all duties
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Purchasing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTNovember 4, 2014
Great place to call home for a career. Plenty of growth opportunities
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
Cafeteria food not good
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Clinical Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTOctober 7, 2014
Kind staff with patient centered care.
12 Hour work days
great management
Pros
work every third weekend
Cons
12hr work shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes15No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTSeptember 12, 2014
This is great place to work with your fellow employees, but the money is not worth the headache. Management is non existant
Was this review helpful?Yes23No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Midstate is great
ED Technician (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTAugust 20, 2014
I really enjoy working at Midstate. I was new to healthcare, and they really put in the time to make sure I was comfortable with my job before they put me out on the floor by myself. It was really great of Midstate to give someone with no healthcare experience a chance, because most hospitals look for multiple years of experience. The management team is really approachable, and the co-workers are friendly and nice to be around. The hardest part of the job is the long hours (mostly 12 hour shifts), but this is normal for a hospital setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always striving for Best Patient Care
Ultrasound Technologist (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTJuly 26, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my day is helping my patients get the best quality care and knowing that I can make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any employee considering to work at MidState should consider it a temporaty position.
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTJuly 22, 2014
Typical day was to run reports for the day before, to be flexible with various schedules, daily payroll, answer phones, prepare reports.

Midstate is a good place to work but unfortunately the restructuring of Hartford Healthcare has caused many people to lose their jobs including myself thus causing stress on all to pick up the slack of those let go.
Pros
Staff was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The schedule
Cook 2/ Diet Office (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTApril 23, 2014
The schedule of working in a health care facility is great. Especially when you have two little kids, like I do. But, there is no room for advancement here.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient focused and goal oriented
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTApril 4, 2014
•Responsible for administrating routine respiratory care
•Responsible for evaluating patients and ordering/recommending various respiratory therapies
•Responsible for arterial blood gas collection and interpretation
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTAugust 6, 2013
Good place to work, good envirment, proper orientation. Ok ok
Was this review helpful?Yes21No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"I feel that the work I do matters and is appreciated by others."
Clinical Information Associate (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTJanuary 14, 2013
I am learning new things and being positively challenged every day. Te management and employees are all very nice and so are the clients. I am extremely proud to say that I work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTJanuary 2, 2013
I would go in count my register and do some stock. At end of each shift I would have to close out my draw.
Pros
great customers
Cons
managers treated employees bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stand walk bend on your feet 12 hours
Transport/Part Time (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTDecember 20, 2012
push pull bed and stretchers with or with out patients from emergency department to MRI-XRAY-CT to they PAVILLIONS rooms.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Patient Transport Associate (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTOctober 12, 2012
Gets bigger as time goes on but it was an awesome place to work. I miss it dearly
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Dietary Office/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTAugust 23, 2012
I enjoyed working at midstate because you get to know all types of people. You meet doctor's, nurses and pt Fam members.
Pros
learning something new everyday
Cons
had to leave because they didn't have any cna positions open
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MidState Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7

MidState Medical Center Reviews by Location