Midwest Memorial Group Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Midwest Memorial Group staffs cemeteries throughout Michigan
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 10, 2015
Okay experience working here however the salary is not equal to the administrative offices job titles and responsibilities at the cemeteries. A typical day requires most admin staff to eat their lunch while working.
Pros
Low pay for responsibilities required
Cons
Some flexibility in hours for part-time staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Counselor (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, MIOctober 13, 2015
Good working relationship with other employees. Decent commission. You didn't have to bring your work home. Management was great.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
not enough work space for each employee. Building very small
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a cleaner
Advanced Planning Counselor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 29, 2014
i loved this job, you get to know the people in your building and along your cleaning route and most of those people are good people. The job really wasn't all that challenging. the being said, there was no checks or balances for the managers. There was a GREAT deal of favoritism.
Pros
easy job for decent pay
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helping others
Family Service Counselor (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIJune 18, 2014
Great opportunity to learn and help others
Commission pay with hard work
Pros
meeting good people and giving them a piece of mind
Cons
hard to see people loose their loved ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the daily challenges
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Clinton Twp., Berkley, Royal Oak, DetroitMarch 27, 2014
I enjoyed working outside with the different personalities of my crew. The things I liked most were seeing the improvement that my crew was able to make on each different property I supervised. The biggest reward was listening to the families tell me how much of an improvement they see since I have been there. The biggest challenge was always making improvements without having a set budget. I learned to listen more than I speak and to empathize with those I speak to.
Pros
i was provided a company work truck and phone
Cons
almost never was able to take a lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Run Company
Sales Director, Project (Current Employee) –  Farmington, MIDecember 10, 2013
Owners are family, privately held company, treat their employees as such.
Pros
flexible schedules; healthcare, paid training
Cons
to be successful, majority of work time needs to be in the evening and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved helping families at the most challanging time of their life
Success Administrator (Former Employee) –  Berkley, MIJune 23, 2013
I am very well adapt at counceling and gifted at helping people navigate through territory that they have never been before.
Pros
flex hours
Cons
not enough opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family and Professional values are kept in high regard.
SUCCESS ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MIMarch 7, 2013
I sit down every morning with my sales counselors and review the performance from the day before.I have a 1pm conference call that I take part in everyday.I handle office inquiries,help people locate the loved ones that they are here to visit and also look into potential sales opportunities.I am the co manager here.Hardest part of the job is the death of loved ones and the most enjoyable part is helping the families deal with the lost of the loved ones.
Pros
mon-fri and only an occasional sat.
Cons
late nights on mon and wed and we have to work the entire memorial weekend.salary is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Family Service Counselor (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 27, 2012
A typical work consisted of answering the phone accepting a family's request to set an appointment to come in to make final burial arrangements for their deceased family member. Making outbound calls to households to pencil in a date for me to come to visit them and inform the families of the benefit to pe-planning. Final arrangements for burial were to acquire information on the preference of the deceased to see what funds are available for burial-plots, crypts or urns.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
benefits not offered
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales MANAGER
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 4, 2012
I managed the sales and budget of one cemetery. I learned alot about the sales management program.
Pros
one cemetery
Cons
100 % commission
Was this review helpful?Yes6No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture