Mike's Carwash Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome place to work with some of the most amazing people ever!
Full Time Associate (Current Employee) –  Granger, INDecember 27, 2015
I have loved working at Mike's for the past two and a half years! They are very picky about who they hire to make sure that everyone fits in and makes a great team. Everyone I have ever worked with has been amazing and the managers are all great. They are VERY good about adjusting to your schedule, whether it be school, a second job, or even if you have plans with a friend! They also pay very well and it is an all over great place to work! They also offer lots of benefits including tuition reimbursement and healthcare!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Managed Company
Associate (Former Employee) –  Noblesville, INNovember 8, 2015
Mike's Carwash is an outstanding company that knows how to run a business. There first priority is always the workers that work on a day to day basis, to further the Mike's vision. There is nothing I could say bad about this company. There is a reason they are extremely successful, and that reason is that they go above and beyond to treat their employees right, which in turn makes their employees want to work for Mike's.
Pros
Good Pay, Great team members.
Cons
Early hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew Carwash is a great place to work!
IS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fishers, INNovember 18, 2015
Upper management team treats everyone like family. We all look out for each other and make sure personal lives are priority.
Pros
Free car washes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to build management experience
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INOctober 27, 2015
It was a good job. The schedule was to random once I had my daughter. I would work until 11pm one day and then have to be in a 4 am the next day at least once a week.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short staffed locations but a company full of fun people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMay 7, 2015
Far and away the best part of working at Mike's is getting to be around some really fun, hard-working people. Mike's is pretty meticulous in their hiring, and it typically results having a team full of jovial, fun-to-be-around teammates.

Another benefit of Mike's is the opportunity for advancement. I can attest to this first-hand, as I moved from a full-time associate to an assistant manager (three promotions) in a 12-month period. If you work hard, go above and beyond for customers and have a desire to move up, they will accommodate you.

For a high-school or college student, Mike's is a fantastic first place of employment. They schedule around classes and are a well-respected company that looks good on a resume. However, it's not an easy job, and the working conditions can be pretty tough in the winter.

As for cons, there are a couple.

Two years ago, Mike's lowered the prices on their unlimited wash packages, where customers pay a flat rate every month and can wash as often as they'd like. It's a great deal for customers, but it's been brutal for employees. Stores are just consistently busier than they used to be, and it wears on employees. Working at Mike's resulted in me gaining a ton of respect for the employees of Starbucks and McDonald's, because they're even busier than we are. Some customers who have an unlimited pass will come through every day -- literally every single day -- whether their car is dirty or not. It's not the customer's fault; they are just taking advantage of the current program. But the constant busyness has resulted in the overworking
  more... of team members, both management and associates.

That has led directly to the second con: short-staffed locations. In the past two years, especially in the Fort Wayne market, managers have been fleeing from Mike's like it's the Black Plague. Every manager has their own reasons for leaving, but for most of us, it was tied to the previous paragraph. In my opinion, lowering the unlimited program was probably the best thing the company's ever done financially, but it was the worst thing for the well-being and morale of their employees. It changed everything, and the company has been a little slow to evolve to the increase in business. With so many managers leaving the company, the managers that are left have been forced to run the store short-handed, which leads to being overworked. Ultimately, it's a snowball effect, because then the managers still there start looking for other jobs and wind up leaving, too.

Lastly, the winters are brutal, and it's our busiest time of the year, with customers wanting to remove salt from their vehicles. Mike's offers some stout winter gear -- jackets, hats, fleeces, etc -- but having to stand outside for 60 consecutive minutes in single-digit temperatures will suck the life out of anyone. As a manager, we are told to "rotate" employees in and out of the cold, which sounds like a stellar plan, but there is hardly ever a time where there is enough staffing at the store to do that. I know there were times where I was honestly uncomfortable working for a company that subjected their employees -- many of which are 17-18 year-old kids -- to that kind of brutal cold. You're probably thinking I'm a whimp, but next winter when you're scraping off the windows of your car in the blistering cold, think about doing that for an hour straight while having to put on a smile to interact with customers. Then, you get a five-minute breather inside before you're back out in the cold. It's just awful; there's no other way to put it.

There are some annoying times when dealing with customers. When you interact with 500-1,000 people in a shift, there are bound to be some situations where a customer is rude, etc. For the most part, though, Mike's customers are great and appreciate and respect Mike's.

I don't want this to sound like I'm ripping my old employer. I'm not, and I told them all of this during my exit interview. At the end of the day, I like Mike's, and I enjoyed my time there. I met some great friends. Mike's is a good company, and I think they will get their current staffing nightmare figured out. It will, however, take a substantial amount of time to get the company fully staffed with managers. I think the company's decision makers are taking to heart what they're hearing in all the exit interviews they've conducted recently. I hope they are, because they have to make some changes or they run the risk of not having enough managers to run their stores.
  less
Pros
Fun teammates, excellent training
Cons
Constantly busy, brutal winters, overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INSeptember 17, 2013
For high school and college students, this is a perfect place to put a solid place of employment on your resume, Plus there's tuition reimbursement opportunities. This company truly listens to what you have to say and will try to apply as many great ideas as possible. Mike's only hires the best of the best and provides amazing training that will help you down the road. The advancement opportunities seem endless till you get to assistant manager, then things slow down a lot. If you enjoy being outside, on your feet, working with your hands and meeting new people everyday then this is a great job for you. Biggest downside and reason why Mike's continues to lose good managers is the nights and weekends schedule combined with the occasional long week. Also staffing has been an issue recently and with manager vacations combined with an increase in business, Many managers have felt overworked.
Pros
great culture, somthing new everyday, tuition reimbursment
Cons
nights/weekends, short staffed locations
Was this review helpful?Yes23No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work and very upbeat
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Loveland, OhioFebruary 5, 2015
1.A typical day at work would set your goals and complete them daily
2.The hardest part of the job was being given task and management not following up on how your process was going.
3.Co-workers friendly and positive energy
Pros
free carwash
Cons
late notifications on changes
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Florence, KYJuly 2, 2014
I would deal with customers in the drive and collect money from them as well as sprey the fronts of vehicle and other customer requests. As far as a management role, I would handle closing and opening the location, training and hiring of new associates, customer complaints and damages, and maintenance tasks. I learned and incredible amount from the managers around me and the ones above me as well from when I first started all the way until now.
Pros
people that i work with
Cons
working in the weather extremes
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Beechmont, OHFebruary 27, 2014
These are the people that know how to treat employee's. Winter is probably the hardest time around their. But being able to work with the great coworkers of mike's makes it all better.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
4.5
Management
4.3
Culture
4.8