Milan Institute of Cosmetology Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cosmetologist(student) (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2015
it was fun to go there. Some of the employees where really unprofessional in certain situations. Overall it's good to go learn everything you need to know to get licensed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Students
Regional Dean of Education - Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMay 14, 2015
Great employees at the Amarillo Campuses. The hardest part of the job was never knowing when things were going to change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone for my career, learned a lot and am ready to take on the next challenge
Phase 1 Instructor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 19, 2015
I learned a lot from working with this company, a lot of what not to do and in turn what to do. If you are a structured and "seasoned" instructor who is ready and willing to take the lead and make a change, i recommend this company for you.
Pros
great curriculum
Cons
no team work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a great place to work at!
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CADecember 27, 2014
Great place to teach cosmetology to students, can be Fun sometimes . Like the continued education to instructors . Celebrations are Great .
Would love to go back and teach again !
Pros
great products to use and great teaching methods.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and see the different ages of trends
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAOctober 29, 2014
the hardest part is to understand and learn the programs they use on the computer for different service and know how to use your email to communicate with different co-works in all departments
Pros
free lunches
Cons
discount services
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depend which one you work at
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 15, 2014
Loved this job but disliked the students. But over all great job!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, political and awful
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clovis, CAFebruary 20, 2014
I was basically an underpaid babysitter. very over worked and under appreciated.
Pros
break time
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructor made learning fun an interesting
Student Esthetician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 4, 2013
A typical day at school was theory the first couple hours then hands on, working on clients
Pros
free microdermabrasions, facials, waxing
Cons
uniforms uncomfortable, machines outdated
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Texas Regional Operations Director (Current Employee) –  Amarillo, El Paso, San AntonioApril 26, 2013
Began with Milan in FA and moved up the ladder. Have directed single and multiple campuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun place to work
Maintenance and Dispense Specialist (Current Employee) –  reno nvMarch 22, 2013
Its a busy day every day took care of students needs and maintained a steady work place
Pros
learned different was of hair shaping
Cons
they got rid of my position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company horribly ran in Bakersfield ca
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield caMarch 5, 2013
The owner needs to find a new director and dean. Management runs this place like a dictatorship. Constantly break rules and never following any order. Students never attend and still graduate?!?! Guess it would be great for ratings though!
Pros
graduate without even attending school
Cons
director is a joke and the whole school is a mess
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment working with students finding new career in cosmetology.
Vocational Instructor (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CANovember 14, 2012
We had different Phases in the learning process. I started out in Phase 1, new students, classroom environment teaching basic State cosmetology fundamentals. Phase II, salon floor, meeting and greeting customers teaching students from Phase I how to develop hands on experience. Maintaining a structure environment at all times yet having fun. Guidance provided in customer service, business fundamentals, sales. While on salon floor I enjoyed along with the student customers who came in for services, how a make-over changed their inner and outer appearance. The most enjoyable and challenging was my final Phase 3 process. I prepared students in obtaining their State Cosmetology license and meeting our licensure goals. By having so many different learning styles, I felt honored to have our students not only get licensed but receive that call that they were licensed cosmetologist in the State of California and sharing the joys with them. By being a well rounded individual I took pleasure in working with management and co-workers as a team player.
Pros
nice working environment and on going training.
Cons
3 deans in 3 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn
Student Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAOctober 29, 2012
Great place to learn. Teachers where there to help you when ever you needed there help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic work place but is a school.
Copsmetologist Student (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAOctober 24, 2012
My experiance was a good one. Yes I don't think they were the best and could improve on a lot of things. They prepared me for my state board test. I felt over prepared at state board.
Pros
good teachers
Cons
unorganized salon
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Milan was a great experience.
Dispensary Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 27, 2012
When working for Milan, my days were always busy. I had many responsibilities and dealt with many people. I loved the fact that there was never a slow day. Every day I learned something new. It was exciting being an employee at Milan.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do It!!
Director (Former Employee) –  FairfieldMay 24, 2012
Milan Institute is an expensive school that does not support their students in Fairfield, poor attitudes and definitely they do not care about students and do not value good employees. Culture and team work does not exist at The Milan Institute in Fairfield. This company is not family oriented meaning does not support women who have children in daycare. Be very careful before applying at this money hungry school!
Cons
disgruntled employees, no structure, disorganized and uncaring faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milan Institute...
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clovis, CAApril 26, 2012
Milan Institute is a great company to work for on a corporate level. Being part of the support staff is easy and fun but you aren't supported as much by corporate when it comes to your needs, scheduling and the building is constantly flooding.
Pros
birthday lunches, discounted services.
Cons
mold problems, water damage, building issues that cause everyone to get sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

See more Milan Institute of Cosmetology reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture