Mile High Youth Corps Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive work enviroment
CORPS-MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 13, 2017
Mile high youth corps was a good experience in so many ways. This job / program helped me to be more self sufficient as well as teach me money management and everything else. The staff was amazing. I was all able to earn a OSHA certificate as well as CPR and a 2,000 scholarship through americorps. I definitely would recommend this program for anybody trying to make a change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sawyer
YOUTH MENTOR (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CODecember 1, 2016
This was one of the best jobs I've ever had. I learned about working with a team. Living outside with my fellow employees, we bonded as a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hard working, fun position
Forestry Technician (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COSeptember 23, 2016
I really liked this job. It taught me discipline first and foremost. Had to learn to inclimate weather and move fast in different directions. Always completed the job before leaving by my choice.
Pros
Got to work in nature
Cons
unpredictable weather conditions, tough working outside with the weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sawyer (Current Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 19, 2016
I absolutely love working here! Best job with the best people who are always willing to help. Everytime I have an issue with a chainsaw someones right around the corner to help!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Youth Build Corps member (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 5, 2015
hard working easy going I learned to do better in life and fight for what you want in life an never give up ..

I received my osha 10
where I had to do construction an learn new skills every day ,and we also volunteered at different places like the boys an girls club as well as the old people home to help them out for free..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Trail Worker (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 26, 2015
Very fun and hard working company to work with. You gain an amazing work ethic learning to work and cooperate with others
Pros
Great Experience and Outdoor work
Cons
Weather can sometimes be a pain to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place ever
Corps Member (Former Employee) –  Denver,CoFebruary 8, 2015
Good place for work and made me to know how to look for a job and people there are nice people helping young people to success they have all tools to build your knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YouthBuild Corps Member
YouthBuild Corps Member (Former Employee) –  Denver CoOctober 21, 2014
Performed basic construction including laboring and loading and unloading of materials. Established different techniques in framing backing and placing of studs. Assisted in placing of insulation and firewall. Operated a variety of power tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its hard work.
Forest Fire Mitigation Sawyer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COOctober 10, 2014
Its hard work. you either thrive or die here. some management issues. they flip out over being a minute late. no real security. depending on your crew and the crew leader, you are likely to either have an awesome time or a horrible time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and great educational value.
corps member (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 12, 2014
As a crew you are given jobs such as fire mitigation, trail building, log erosion barriers. Depending on your crew you will have to camp or you will be a day crew. I was on a hybrid crew so I did both. my day would begin at 6 or 6:30am and would end around 5pm. At the beginning I was much weaker than I am now that I have completed on season with them. At the beginning I had to rely a plethora on my crew members to help me accomplish my signed tasks. The hardest part of the job is that you are doing hard work all day, but if you are doing it right all the way through you are able to see the reward by the end of your time on the given project. Throughout the season I have begun to learned how to communicate effectively with those i am working with. On a weekly basis we would do education for a total of ten hours. This education made it so that we could qualify for a scholarship at the end of our season.
Pros
Scholarship at the end of the season. Grow in strength throughout the season.
Cons
you will be tired at the end of the day. No benefits other than workmens comp.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Non-Profit, an Outdoor Challenge
Sr. Crew Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 24, 2014
No typical workday. The work changes from day to day.
Management and co-workers are great.
The hardest part of the job is balance between work and life. Being gone for 10 days at a time is difficult for families.
The best part of the job is working with young people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job
Youth Build Corpsmember (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 29, 2014
A typical day at work would be figuring out your assignment and once finished start the next one
Pros
Free PPE
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, and awesome staff
Data Entry & troubleshooting (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 2, 2013
Typical day would be us coming in at 7:30 and beginning with a stretch and safety circle, and then loading up product and heading out to or scheduled appointments.
Pros
great supervisors, willing work with when it comes to transportation, great job to start out for student between ages 18-24, education award provide on completion of the term.
Cons
you can only work as a corps member until you are 24
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mile High Youth Corps is the best non-profit organization to learn and grow from.
Pre Apprentice Construction Training (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 30, 2013
At Mile High Youth Corps we alternate from the construction site one week to the class room the next week. When it's the construction week a typical day at work starts off at 7:30 am where we find out what our job for the day is. We get lunch at 12:00, and after that we work untill 3:30 pm. On the school week the hours are the same but instead of doing construction were in the classroom studing for the GED
Cons
Short brakes during school week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at MHYC
Water Conservation Crew Corpsmember (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 29, 2012
Had a lot of fun at this company. Made friends and learned a trade as well in the process.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mile High Youth Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.7
Culture
4.7

Mile High Youth Corps Reviews by Location