Find companies:
MILITARY SEALIFT COMMAND
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

MILITARY SEALIFT COMMAND Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
MECHANICAL ENGINEER (Current Employee), Norfolk VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: lot of personal growth.
Cons: time away from home.
Good To Work For. Lots of experience.Meeting interesting people.ruteing at work.Increast my skill level
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOVERNMENT!!!
Supply Utility (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: seeing the world!
Cons: being away from your family!
With this job, your job security is secure! I have seen parts of the world that I never even imagined I would!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ABLE BODIED SEAMAN UNLIMITED (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 19, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: distance
long time away from home,
lots of chance for advancement
hard work
must be physically fit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working
Logistics/ Supply Utility (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 5, 2014
Pros: seeing new countries, great money
Cons: your gone to long from ther your family.
I loved working at MSC it's the Government I was able to travel oversea while working for the company. It has given me a great outlook on different aspect on life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Global Sealift Company
Management Analyst (Former Employee), Morris, CTMay 13, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: management was one-sighted with alot of favoritism in job performance.
Managing assets around the globe with 103 supply, prepositioning, and special mission vessels. Superb working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Able Seaman Maintenance (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 23, 2014
Pros: medical insurance and retirement savings plan
Cons: education benefit is not available
A typical day at work will be to perform security duties and forklift operation, moving of cargo from one station to another. Co-workers does work as a team, look out for each other. Perform fire-fighting duties. hardest part of my job was being at sea longer than expected and the fun part of it is traveling oversea to different countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Technical Services Engineer (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 14, 2014
MSC is a very special place as there is always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With my formal education, knowledge, skill and experience I consider myself a highly qualified candidate to perform without limitations the duties and
Chief Radio Electronic Technician (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: travel and great salary
Cons: gone 8 month out of the year and work 7day a week with no days off. been doing the for 11yrs
Working with MCS is part of the DOD, so this means you get chance to see the world and meet a lot of different people and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional travel
JUNIOR ENGINEER (Former Employee), Norfolk, Va.February 4, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: cannot get time off, due to no replacements
Federal Government job, exceptional travel and benefits, long months at sea with time off at different ports around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits & Traveling
Supply Utility (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: poor management
MSC offered great benefits and fun travel around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive. Good work enviroment
Chief Cook (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits, travel
Cons: away from family.
Working for MSC,was a great experience..lots of travel,great working enviroment..plenty of job advancement oportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting work place
Supply Utilityman (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 5, 2013
Pros: free meals and great pay
Cons: never being home long enough with our love one's.
A typical work day is freezing in the morning pulling all the orders for the Galley and all mess decks. I have learned that in every ship out here the work environment is always different in the work place. Management is always changing so it has it's up's and downs. As for shipmates they are always changing and everyone I have met always has different – more... work ethics. The hardest part of this job is always being away from our love ones. The most enjoyable part of this job is meeting new people and seeing different places. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The flexibilty of getting the job done in a timely and professional manner.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: self supervision, enjoying a day's work being around the office workers.
Cons: due to the fact i was on contract, limited benefits.
I was employed with MSC from 9-2003 to 3-20-13. My experience was very interesting and exciting on most days. Although I was employed through housekeeping, I was always treated with dignity and respect by my fellow office workers. If given the opportunity, I would go back to work with MSC!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Engine Utility (Former Employee), Norfolk VirginaSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: learned alot
Standing watch in the engine room...I was he console man i pretty much ran everything down in the fire i had a asistant...i changed speeds,swap potable water tanks, transfer fuel and pretty much keep power to the ship.....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work, spent 25 yrs with them
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good rewards to those hard working employees
Cons: healthcare, good benefits, long breaks
Good and layback place to work. They offered good benefits and good rewards to those hard working employees. Little hard to get promoted. Friendly atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for people starting out, bad for trying to have a life at the same time.
Third Assistant Engineer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 9, 2013
Working for the government has its benefits as well as its downside. The amount of money I witnessed being wasted while working for this company was astonishing, luckily for me I got to enjoy some of that money while working for them. However, due to the assignment lengths (6-8 months) was very draining on my life and made any chance of a personal life – more... non-existent. This company will not think twice about keeping you trapped on their ships an extra month or two due to their inability to find reliefs. At the same time if you ask for more time off for personal reasons you are threatened with disciplinary actions. In order to get more time off I had to go see a doctor tell them that my back hurt, only then would the company give me more time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with full potential for growth.
Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 3, 2013
Very fast paced environment. Learned about the pay system and about what Civilian Mariners do. Wonderful co-workers that are positive and up beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gets no better
Ordinary Seaman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 29, 2013
Pros: government eployment and benifites, 401k, tsp, travel the world, great pay
I loved every minute I was employed here. great opportunity to experience different cultures through deployments over seas. I wish I was still able to sail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great travel benefits
Able Seaman (Current Employee), Norfolk Naval Station, VAJune 25, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: being away from home.
A lot of work and continuous learning. I have learned different rigging technics along with helicopter operations. The management teams are great because they work with you side by side and teach you at the same time. The co-workers are fun and are part of family when you are away from your own family. The hardest part of the job is being away from – more... family for long periods of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Ship Security Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 4, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: not at home a lot
a great job, meeting lots of friends,traveling the world and visiting different countries.