Mills-Peninsula Health Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful but rewarding work place.
Clinical Chemist Scientist (Former Employee) –  Burlingame, CAOctober 14, 2017
A typical day includes maintaining the instruments, running quality controls and samples, reporting and documenting critical results, checking pending lists, cleaning work areas, and endorsing any remaining tasks to co-workers of the next shift.
Teamwork is essential to the efficient operation of the laboratory.
Managers rotate through work stations in respective departments.
The hardest part of the job involves handling constant phone calls from ER and ICU demanding test results; the most enjoyable part is being recognized for "going the extra mile".
Pros
Friendly and helpful co-workers.
Cons
Highly stressful work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Scheduler/Registrar (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 7, 2017
Management is constantly looking to lean every department. This means less employees doing the same amount of work. The pay is not comparable to other healthcare facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Patient Access Representative/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAApril 27, 2017
I love my job I like to keep busy we answer phones and provide care for patients. The hardest part is not able to schedule a patient in a timely manner due to resources not being available. I am the go to person in our department for Billing, registration and scheduling questions. I love a challenge if is a patient or a task. I have learned that sometimes no matter how much you try for some might be enough, however you must always try no matter how hard it is. I love helping people and when you are able to fit in a patient or a doctor for something that is needed right away and you make it possible this is what is so rewarding for me.
We are a very diverse group in my department we all support each other and look out for each other.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and grow. Creativity rewarded.
Director, Security & Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Burlingame, CAApril 22, 2016
I learned a great deal working at Mill-Peninsula Health Services for the 7 years I was there. The team work was greatly emphasized and the new hospital was well thought out and planned to near perfection.
Pros
Positive Associates
Cons
None come to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First class patient care.
Lift Team Partner (Former Employee) –  Burlingame, CAMay 25, 2015
This was a very professional organization. There was always adequate staff. Everyone was very friendly. Management was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAFebruary 28, 2015
Fun work environment, always an opportunity to learn and advance in your nursing skills. The staff were wonderful to work with and the management was consistently encouraging.
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
Can be stressful, sometimes a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy environment
Patient Access Liaison (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAOctober 21, 2014
- Typical day at work are non stop foot traffic and phone calls.
- Learned to multitask, work under pressure, while handling a large call volume.
-Management is poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oncology team’s culture is not as I had expected
Cancer Registrar (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 6, 2014
The environment was a difficult adjustment for me. My performance evaluation was perfect and I always met all my job expectations however, support from the team was not available to me. The group has been working together for many years and a new personality & new ideas was not openly appreciated or accepted.
Pros
Wonderful Organization with amazing benefits
Cons
Young vibrant personalities not opening accepted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An insitution that really cares about their patients.
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMarch 20, 2013
I really enjoy taking care of my patients in a wonderful setting. I have many responsibilities that keep me busy and engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital to work at or have a baby
RN/System Anaylst/consultant/app specialist (Former Employee) –  CAAugust 3, 2012
They allowed me to grow professionally and personally.
I worked here for over 20 years only left when we moved to Las Vegas.
Pros
great place to work, friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Historically a great place to work
Director of Health and Fitness Programs (Former Employee) –  Burlingame, CAMay 8, 2012
Excellent employees that provide very good care.
Workload is reasonable for the most part.
Acute care work teaches you to be flexible.
Hardest part of my job was meeting financial targets and not getting caught up in the political nature of healthcare adminstration.
Most enjoyable part of the job were the employees and the patients.
Pros
the employees and the patients
Cons
too many regulations taking time from care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mills-Peninsula Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5

Mills-Peninsula Health Services Reviews by Location