Milwaukee County Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Economic Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 17, 2018
Income Maintenance Specialist
• Responsible for eligibility determination, re-determination, and financial planning services for applicants participating in public assistance programs for FoodShare, Medical and Wisconsin Shares.
• Conduct interviews and verify relevant information.
• Answer questions regarding public assistance programs.
• Data entry into various computer systems.
• Initiate collateral contacts for information and verification.
• Maintain case records.
• Overseeing a high caseload and working under strict deadlines.
• Knowledge of IM program policies, procedures and laws.
• Verbal and Interpersonal communication skills.
• Identify priorities and research/solve problems independently.
Pros
flexible start time
Cons
hard to get promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 16, 2018
I enjoy working the night shift at the Milwaukee County Jail. Everyone is a great team player. I receive pretty good benefits and my supervisor is awesome.
Pros
Staff members
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the sun summer job
Park Worker 1 (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIJanuary 11, 2018
A typical day at work was to keep pool lobby, showers, changing area, and pool area clean at all times. Sometimes I would have to fill in as cashier but mostly just relax in locker room. The hardest part of job was that the pay was minimum wage. The most enjoyable part of the job was it was fun working at a pool in the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe the hype. It's a scam.
Corrections Officer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee County JailJanuary 8, 2018
Work becomes your life....
Inmates are "testy", management favors some more than others, off days are taken away from you, ridiculous amount of mandatory overtime, put in a Pod before you're "certified" to use a taser or OC spray so your keyboard or any other instrument becomes your deterrent, supposedly need to be "certified" in order to assist with moving inmates throughout the facility but that's NOT true because you are forced to interact with 64 inmates in a pod by yourself AND take inmates to their appointments within the jail if master control can't find a lazy vet to come help out...I can say that if you call for help, your coworkers literally run to help you...but management? You can forget about it. Need a day off because you have some kind of appointment? Forget about it. Want to keep your scheduled post? SURPRISE! You can forget about it because a vet can boohoo about not wanting to be where they are scheduled and you're placed at a random post. Don't be surprised if you get to roll call and they don't say your name, although you're scheduled to work. They'll place you in a random area where you'd literally sit for 8hrs, with another person...like floor control
Pros
The food the cooks make for staff on Tuesdays and Thursdays
Cons
Management, the favoritism, mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
License Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  MilwaukeeJanuary 8, 2018
The Nurses that work through Armour Correctional Facility for the Milwaukee County Jail gets burn out from being over worked,under paid, and unappreciated. There is no team work and lack of communication.
Pros
you can work as many hours as you want
Cons
Burnout, constantly mandated, low pay wages, no team work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milwaukee county
Zoo worker 3 (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 7, 2018
Working for Milwaukee county was really great. I worked for the zoo while in high school. Meet a lot of cool people and really had a good time. It had its days but overall was a great time.
Pros
free food, relaxed
Cons
boring, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Clerical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 1, 2018
training is very chaotic, too many changes with out a reason. No one is crossed trained although they said there would be. Not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zoo review
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 29, 2017
It was fun and engaging. I learned how a large company like the zoo operates and also I got to be outside and see the animals. I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recession
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 21, 2017
This job started as a summer job and grew to more. The job was discontinued when the recession happened, but I received more affirmation and collaborative support than ever before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milwaukee County gave me alot of experience with the public
Clerk Typist II (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 16, 2017
At Milwaukee County Courts I learned a lot about help the public open up child-support and small claims cases, on a typical day it was very busy and you had to keep up with the pace, which I did successfully. This was a enjoyable job, and their was nothing hard about learning here.
Pros
Keeping up with the pace of the job
Cons
love the time off and breaks we receive if a emergency arosed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice plasce to work
ENROLLMENT COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 12, 2017
At Milwaukee County you will experience a family environment. The flexibility of scheduling was great and the compassion the peers have for one another make this a great play to work.
Pros
Family environment
Cons
Location inside the building
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a team always
CLINICAL SYSTEM COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIDecember 11, 2017
As long as you are working with a good team your day will go great the minute you in your co workers are not on the same page the patients will notice and take advantage Team work is everything.
Pros
pool
Cons
no beneifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary: what I learned
Parks Concessions Worker (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 5, 2017
What I learned was that hard work and dedication to the job pays
off, even when it is very hectic. The workplace was a relaxing atmos-
phere with customers that were generally very fun and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 14, 2017
This position was a very busy fast pace postion that kept me going from start to finsh. I worked very hard a made sure the job was done fast and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Correctional Officer 1 (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 8, 2017
A typical day at the jail consisted of first reporting to Roll Call, then reporting to your housing assignment. Once in the housing unit you must monitor the activities of the inmates. What I learned from working at the jail is that you must always be aware of your surroundings.
Pros
The pay
Cons
The overtime hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
WETLAND MONITORING VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 7, 2017
This was volunteer opportunity, but it was still a rewarding experience. I learned a lot about the Parks Department and on how to identify wetland amphibians.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot summers
unloading associate (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 25, 2017
this job was a good fit for me because of the pleasures i receive from landscaping. i enjoyed maintaining the well-being of a public place that many people would attend each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement environment within a medium sized agency
Detective (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 24, 2017
The Milwaukee County Sheriff's department was a full-service law enforcement agency. Opportunities for assignment included jail, courts, civil process, patrol, airport, detective bureau and administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Desktop Support Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 20, 2017
Experience was pretty good. A lot of different system with the transit. Very fast pace, things happen fast. Management is new but pretty good. Some of the people can be hard to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, educational
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 17, 2017
Enjoyed working at the county. Support staff were great. They had yearly educational training. Great benefits and I enjoyed helping psych crisis patients. I Had to leave due to relocated to Bonduel my fiancée at the time bought a house up here.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Pay cut over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Milwaukee County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 333 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4