Find companies:
Ministry Health Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Ministry Health Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been with Ministry a long time.
PATIENT SERVICE (Current Employee), Rhinelander, WINovember 19, 2014
I have worked in several jobs with Ministry totally 24 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Down Fast
RN (Former Employee), Weston, WINovember 11, 2014
I've worked here for nearly 7 years, it used have great managers and morale, but this hospital is taking on water -fast. The managers of the inpatient units are completely incompetent and don't process the job experience to fulfill their role. Staff is quitting at a faster rate than they can be replaced-if they are replaced at all. Working short staffed – more... is a daily occurrence and administration has no idea or doesn't care. The pay and benefits are an industry low, especially the insurance. And don't think you're job is safe, they have favorites and people are walked out frequently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load
ministry health care (Former Employee), stevens pointSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: cowokers
Cons: long hours
a positive experience and was able to learn and grow. Coworkers were great. Hard to find a balance between home and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do yourself a favor--look elsewhere
just another non-exempt castaway (Former Employee), st. michael's and elsewhereSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: some good people
Cons: lots of bad people
there are SOME great people working there (non-management, non-executive, non-HR, you get the picture). use this company as a platform to get a better, more respectable job elsewhere.

its mission statement is a crock. the definition of hypocrites. management, executives, etc. are deadly, deceitful, and absolutely do not live the mission. if you have – more... a problem at work, i strongly encourage you to get a lawyer, because you will not be treated fairly, or with dignity, if you voice your concerns. in other words, expect the mission statement not to apply to you. i wish i had never worked for ministry. patients can get good care (depending), but that is not the result of the company, the organization, upper management, or mid to lower management. ministry's HR caters to: itself (of course), management, and the executives. as a non-exempt employee, here in WI which is at-will employment, and of course without unionization, you have ZERO protection. that company went downhill, kept going, fired lots of good people, spent money in odd ways, outsourced quite a bit, and still doesn't get the best ratings from patients. oh yeah, it's non-exempt employees get paid far less than other hospitals, and for some odd reason its health insurance costs the employees the highest amount in the state. look it up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with wonderful opportunity
FLEX COTA (Current Employee), Appleton, WIAugust 23, 2014
Working along with a great team of multidisciplinary practices, I enjoy the flexibility I have in my work days and schedule. While I can work in different areas of practice within the hospital I enjoy the variety I have and the opportunity to learn something new every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee), Rhinelander, WIAugust 19, 2014
Pros: the cafeteria with wonderful food was open during the day.
Cons: no breaks.
I greet the patient's at the front desk, take their information, page the triage nurse, if there are a few patient's in a line needing to be seen, take their names and call them one at a time to get their information and again page the triage nurse. I then enter their information to make a medical chart to hand to the triage nurse, then verify insurance – more... and when they've seen the doctor and are ready to leave, I collect a co pay if there is one and give them a checkout sheet with numbers and hours of all the clinics in the hospital. The hardest part of that job was when there were patient's coming in constantly with no break in between. My co-workers were great. The nurses, not so great. My favorite time of the job was going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work and your able to be yourself
Scanning Quality Educational Specialist (Former Employee), Rhinelander, WIJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, full filling feeling of accomplishment everyday i left work
Cons: not family oriented
I really enjoyed what I was doing. A lot of my work was audits and teaching others. My days would go by very fast because of so much work to be done on a daily basis. Everyone I worked with was very friendly. The hardest part of my job was having to do an audit on my co-workers every month. I had to just let my feelings go and do my job. I tried to – more... tell myself if I found errors that I least they are given the chance to correct it and it won't interfere with the health of our patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more for less
current patient access (Current Employee), Northeast WisconsinJune 8, 2014
Pros: benefits/ time off
Cons: stress. core beliefs sacrificed. short staffed
Benefits are decent..pay is low...stress high..values sacrificed by amount of patients seen. Expect more and give you less. Rarely work hours hired for. Never enough staff...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family centric work environment
LPN/ charge nurse (Former Employee), Sturgeon Bay, WIMay 1, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn and grow
Cons: older facility that needed some updating.
The skilled nursing facility at the Ministry health care Hospital is a very family oriented, close knit environment. We ranged from 20-35 residents. Most were ling term with the occasional short term for rehab.
The coworkers were all very supportive and many had been with the company for 5+ years. I was an entry level nurse without experience as a nurse. – more... The DON was very supportive and helpful in both implementing current skills as well learning new ones. The CNAs were great with the residents and taught me useful tips for honing my CNA skills. I am thankful to them for their patience and help.
The hardest part of the job was losing a resident. With such a small facility, you really became close to both the resident and many of their family members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pity...Used to be great.
nurse (Former Employee), Saint Clare'sOctober 7, 2013
Pros: used to be great, maybe can turn it around
Cons: losing staff and not replacing, no breaks, no perks, management poor, morale decreasing
This hospital is going down fast. It used to be a fantastic place to work, with great morale and upper management support. It has completely changed. Upper management wants staff to work with less people, resources, and support, all the while expecting perfect customer service. I have also seen many hypocritical judging actions against good staff for – more... a "Christian" hospital. They need to change the course before patient care starts to suffer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a great deal working at this company. Trained on Varian Linear Accelerators.
Biomed Engineer (Former Employee), Marshfield, WISeptember 23, 2013
It would be easier to state what I did not work on.
I did not work on Nuke medicine or RT equipment.
A typical day I would arrive at work early. 5 am.
Warm up two linear accelerators for Oncology daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high stressed job, with little teamwork.
Clinical LPN/ ENT (Former Employee), Appleton WISeptember 20, 2013
Cons: a lot of days with no lunch breaks, and long hours worked. no teamwork.
A typical day at work included very fast paced clinic setting, with no help from other co-workers on a regular basis. It appears that more and more work is delegated to an employee, and when asking for more staff for help, the answer is, you need to work on your time management, organization, and prioritization. Morale is very low.
"TEAM" is stressed – more... but not carried out. They delegate LEADS that let their job title go to their heads. Found LEAD and Manager to not live by the values of the company. Found them to fabricate and lie about corrective situations. Disappointed with Management, Human Resources, and Corporate Integrity not following through with concerns. Very stressed company to work for. The most enjoyable part of my job there was working for the best Dr I have ever worked for. Very difficult to leave him. I had gained a lot of knowledge and experience from the Dr I worked for. Excellent Drs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer committed to the core values...
Middle Management (Former Employee), WestonSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: commitment to patient.
Cons: back biting culture created by upper management approach to problem solving.
Ministry has changed in response to buyout. Inconsistently applying mission and values, Weston has a high school atmosphere that starts at the top with favoritism. Communication is lacking. Talk of team work is only talk - top down management decisions make middle management puppets vs. team players
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice mixture of technical and clinical projects
Project Manager (Former Employee), Stevens Point WIJuly 29, 2013
Hardest part is increased work load due to layoffs.
You can specialize in technical or clinical projects.
Wide range of hospitals with good on site and remote contact
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ministry Healthcare has a culture of keeping patients first.
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Central WisconsinJuly 3, 2013
The nursing staff goes above and beyond what is needed to help the patient. My mentors have encourage me to become the best nurse possible and to share my knowledge to new nurses as I gain experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization that puts patients first, and works to create a positive culture with the employees.
RN Case Manager/Clinic Nurse (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WisconsinJune 15, 2013
I work with physicians and other nurses to help manage care for patients with chronic diseases. I meet with patients and provide education on the chronic diseases they have and I work with them to help develop a plan of care to prevent the progression of the diseases they have. I learned how to coordinate transitional care for patients being discharged – more... from the hospital needing additional care at home. A part of my job that I enjoy is being on a Chronic Heart Failure Transitional Care Team to improve the transition of our patients from the hospital back to home. It is great to be part of a team of physicians in the hospital, and outpatient clinic, nurses, discharge planners, nurses, and home health representatives to ensure we are doing the best we can to provide care to our patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Service Desk Technician (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIMay 31, 2013
A typical day at work is spent answering phones and troubleshooting user issues. We have remote capability and resolve 80% of our calls. We are not limited in our experience as we have to know how to resolve a vast array of problems ranging from network connectivity and specific application errors to system outages and user access.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management in Weston on all levels, favoritism, not alot of job security, low morale
Medical Staff (Former Employee), Weston WiJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: excellent facilities and co-workers.
Cons: management on all levels is poor. many cost cutting layoffs. no room for advancement. favoritism.
It was a great place and a great company to work for, excellent co workers. HAD great benefits. Not any longer.

I had been employed @ St Clares hospital from nearly day 1. Upper management is totally clueless, and many of the middle managers are incompetent the and all having to follow the "leaders". High school like atmosphere in many departments. – more... I had been there when layoffs happened on more than 1 occasion, with entire departments lets go and current staff to make up for the lost people. At the time I left morale was LOW very LOW. Many people just waiting for the cost cutting axe to fall again. Beware, it will happen again. – less

June 8, 2013

I had been employed @ Appleton I.T Upper management is indeed clueless and feels free to criticize workers in the presence of co-workers. There is a high school like atmosphere in many departments with the exception of a few people of function on the level of grade school bullies. I was not allowed to transfer, was given several projects with no allowance for time to work on them. No additional training is offered. There is no job security, the department I worked in will be closing at the end of this year. I would not recommend this company.