Find companies:
Minneapolis Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Minneapolis Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work at
Associate Educator/Family Liaison (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNMay 22, 2014
Good place to at. Good benefit and employee friendly environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced
Security Monitor (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 7, 2014
No consiquences for out of control behavior

The worste school in the district
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Environment
Special Events Coordinator (Former Employee), MinneapolisMarch 29, 2014
Pros: great teachers
Cons: poor vision for future of district
I feel the Minneapolis Public Schools lack a strategic vision. There are a lot of conflicting interests that make it hard to put everyone in the same vision. This to bad because there are some great teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company!
Office Assistant- Health Related Services (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MnMarch 11, 2014
Pros: excellent company
Cons: different structure in departments!
Management is not the greatest, but there is more than one department and not all managers are the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ideal place to work.
School Administrator (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 20, 2014
Working for Minneapolis Public Schools for almost 20 years has been a great experience. Because of the diversity, I have expand my understanding of a global society. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with students, parents and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broken system
Anishinabe Academy, English Teacher (Former Employee), Anishinabe AcademyJanuary 8, 2014
Cons: see the review above
Anishinabe has been identified as one of 16 worst schools in the state for student performances.

To compensate for deficiencies the management has done a disservice to the student population through social promotion and setting incredibly low standards for behavior.

As a member of the staff I often felt that I was not safe.

The management blamed – more... me and the rest of the staff for problems that have exist since long before we worked there.

I would not accept employment with this school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall culture focused on the education and success of children
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 2, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I am able to clean a skinned knee and help a child return to recess after an injury.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was different. bringing different and new challenges
Network Administrator (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 21, 2013
Pros: summers and holidays off
Cons: student fights, technology theft, long distance to travel for me
I loved working with the teachers, The students were wonderful too.
I liked being my own boss and having the entire staff rely on my expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, awful management
Support staff (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 19, 2013
Pros: summers off
Cons: bad management
This is an incompetent bureaucracy. There is no job security. You are expected to work very hard, including numerous unpaid hours, but don't expect any reward or appreciation for this. But the teachers are great; the kids are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 14, 2013
Pros: education solution envirionment.
Cons: budget cuts and job reductions
Was there 14 years. Good place to work with various opportunities for advancement and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work at
Janitor Engineer (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 17, 2013
hardworking staff with great values and good attitudes i miss working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
2nd Grade School Teacher (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNMay 7, 2013
none . I worked there for six years. I did many jobs. I met many good teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No education/ no room for growth
Paraprofessional - Special Education Asst (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 7, 2013
Teachers and Assistants should be valued equally and not treated differently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee), minneapolis, mnFebruary 9, 2013
being a teachers flunky. no fun. changing diapers, etc. they hire a bunch of crazies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited resources especially in North Minneapolis schools
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 11, 2012
Pros: central location
Cons: available resources depend on the economic level of the neighborhood of the school
A struggling school district subjecting teachers to more and more demands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate Educator (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 16, 2012
Very diverse; meet the needs of each child by building on their strengths. Enjoy the people and children I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to say
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee), minneapolis, mnAugust 15, 2012
Pros: summers off
Cons: summers off
you have summers off. There is no place for religion in this setting. The system works for its self
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary opportunity for parents with children ages pre-birth to kindergarten enrollment
Manager, Early Childhood Family Education (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 12, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits, programming, vision for future
Cons: large complicated environment
A typical day at work in Minneapolis Public School's Early Childhood Family Education (ECFE) consisted of everything from budget development, collaborating with community partners, coaching and supervision of staff, and visiting classrooms and talking to parents.

The hardest part of the job was to ensure quality programming and maintaining skilled – more... and knowable staff with downward spiraling budgets.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with skilled, committed staff to ensure that our parents and children received quality educational service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours like the work
Warehouse Specialist (Current Employee), Minneapolis MN.August 10, 2012
I enjoy the work. Unloading trucks and doing the distributing of product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A laid back place to work, with a very nice welcoming staff.
Temp Office Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 19, 2012
Pros: the hourly wage for the work content was more than i had hoped for.
Cons: it was a bummer that it was only a two week temporary position.
My days working at MPS consisted of the same tasks daily for the most part. I was only there for a short two weeks with knowledge of the temporary short willed task at hand. Myself and one other temp worked together daily filing student documents in their correct files. With importance of matching the student ID to the students file in an efficient – more... manner. All this prep work of the paper documents were necessary in order to have them scanned to the updated computer software at MPS. I Learned that I am a very detail oriented employee. I took pride in my work and in knowing that It was ultimately up to the other temp and myself to make sure the students files were accounted for the credits they earned. I really wished that MSP could have had the means available to take us on as full time MSP employees. However it was not in the schools budget. I was honored to have had the time and the experience there. The staff was a delight to have worked with. – less