Minnesota Department of Corrections Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so fun place to work
Correctional Officer II (Former Employee) –  Oak Park Heights, MNAugust 1, 2017
Its a union shop and people get promoted based on seniority and work ethic. The wrong people in the wrong positions makes for a dangerous environment.
Pros
Great long term benifts
Cons
Poor work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Security!
Corrections Officer (Current Employee) –  Faribault, MNMay 19, 2017
Great place to develop experience in Criminal Justice. Can be stressful at times, but is very rewarding in itself. We make a difference in lives of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hhhh
Education Director (Current Employee) –  kkkkMay 10, 2017
This is a great place to work, I would recommend it to anyone. There is a lot of room to advance through the ranks. Do yourself a favor and begin your career today
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for me
Cook Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Faribault, MNFebruary 7, 2017
Co workers were worse than the inmates.
I'd rather have been stabbed in the back with a knife by an inmate, than compared to all the back stabbings I took for my co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, all kinds of people to work with FUN!
Food Service, Cook (Former Employee) –  Lino Lakes, MNOctober 20, 2016
Typical day consists of finding the lead supervisor, pulling food from cooler, and spices from dry storage, finding all equipment needed and working with a team of people in a safe environment. Hardest part was being short of meals so we improvised with leftovers, best part was working with people of different backgrounds.
Pros
free lunch, and adjusting taste
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working for this company.
Health Services Administrator-Intermediate (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 25, 2016
The clients were great. The training the company provided was a wealth of knowledge. Co-workers were great to work with. Management was organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative atmosphere - no support from upper management
Corrections Officer II (Former Employee) –  Rush City, MNJanuary 27, 2016
Very hard place to work. No support from upper quasi Military atmosphere. Micro managed and non-supportive. Not a place to recommend to someone for any reason. Managers only looking to be promoted at all costs. No justification for managers giving discipline other then being directed to by upper management for promotional opportunities.

ahhhh sad, sad, sad. But I hung in until early retirement could happen.
Pros
Fellow Officers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Moose Lake, MNOctober 16, 2015
Working shoulder to shoulder with inmates. Having to watch your back always, including an element of fear. Not knowing what your job might be from day to day. Advancement into a different pay grade might take years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've eve had.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Stillwater Correctional Facility, Stillwater, MNJune 12, 2015
It's a place or job were you sit and wait for emergencies, so one minute your talking to a fellow staff member, and the next you are breaking up a fight between 2-10 offenders. Mace is used a lot!
Pros
None
Cons
You become numb to life's joy's and suffering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large government agency.
Associate Director of Behavioral Health Services (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 25, 2015
Multiple mental health services including general mental health, chemical dependency, psychiatry, mental health hospital and transition programming.
Pros
Government job offering advancement opportunities and stability
Cons
Difficult work environment. Beaurocracy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highest level of PTSD without going to war
Corrections Officer II (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNDecember 4, 2014
This workplace will guarantee you highest level of PTSD without going to war.
This is called modern day civilized slavery.
Schedule is getting worse day by day ..
Guaranteed stress.
More people committed suicide in this job than any in my town.
5 people committed suicide in last 6 years.
And another thing, your marriage is about to end cuz you work at the prison.
everyone in my academy got divorce except one. 5 out of 6.
Union is an ultimate joke with the collaboration of the administration.
Pros
State benefits and some good friends
Cons
everything else. esp. stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Office of Special Investigations Intern (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, MNNovember 3, 2014
It was okay. It was part of my internship for my degree. Provided insight into the world of corrections.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but a "Boys Club"
CO-I (Former Employee) –  Faribault, MNSeptember 11, 2014
If you are one of those people that can ignore what happens around you cause it's only about a paycheck....then this is the job for you. Well I was not one of those people, and when you make waves for the "Boys Club" then they make your life unbearable. So although you are told to watch your back regarding the offenders....the real ones trying to set you up are your co-workers, the Officers. SO trust nobody and keep a journal of your every day to day happenings and email it to your personal email address.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Daily stress/Hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
LPN (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, MNSeptember 3, 2014
Very stressful place to work, not good management. I would not recommend anyone there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of travel between prisons
Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lino Lakes, MNJuly 2, 2014
I liked it, it was only a one year contract, but I enjoyed collecting and analyzing data while I was there
Pros
Interesting enviroment
Cons
Too much travel between prisons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job, great co workers
Corrections Officer (Current Employee) –  shakopeeFebruary 13, 2014
Great job security, very product environment that keeps you busy all day, which is also a con. Very stressful repetitive atmosphere.
Pros
job security, good benefits
Cons
short to no breaks, fast pace and high pressure job, very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Correctional Sergeant (Current Employee) –  MCF-ShakopeeJuly 30, 2013
Since I've been with the MN DOC I have learned what it means to be stressed out to the max. Trying to balance life with shift work is not easy and doing it while working in a prison is even tougher. I feel that having gone through that has made me a stronger, better worker. I do enjoy the job itself and the benefits. Most of my co workers and subordinates are good people to work with. Just like every where else there are some disgruntled individuals who make everyone else's jobs that much tougher.
I'm looking to leave corrections and do something that has a little more meaning to me. I want to learn a new skill or trade and maybe work with the "normal" population.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it an ok job
Correctional Officer II (Current Employee) –  Bayport, MNSeptember 17, 2012
if you don't do much in your personal life, this is an ok job. The admin is a pain. getting vacation is very hard to get the first 8-9 years you work there.
Pros
union
Cons
union
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Campus
Assist offenders (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJuly 27, 2012
Counseling juvenile offenders in a group setting. Learned that a group setting holds offenders accountable for actions. Co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job is the negative culture. Most enjoyable was seeing results in people.
Pros
beautiful campus
Cons
negative culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep the offenders close but your co-workers closer
Corrections Officer II (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNMay 1, 2012
I dont have many positive things to say about that job...so I chalk it up to a good learning experience and have since moved on to earning my paralegal certificate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Minnesota Department of Corrections. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.4
Culture
2.6

Minnesota Department of Corrections Reviews by Location