MINOT STATE UNIVERSITY Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging Chair versus Discouraging Chair
ASSISTANT PROFESSOR (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDJuly 16, 2017
For first three years, everything was ideal under male Chair. Upon his retirement, female Chair took issue with performance and restricted me to research only.
Pros
Encouraging and supportive male Chair
Cons
Discouraging and unsupportive female Chair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Dome Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDJune 4, 2017
Lots of changes this past year at work just made it too much for me. I started under a man that had about 19 years of experience so while still stressful working for someone who knows whats going on made it somewhat easier. Once the major changes happen this man was fired and replaced with someone with no idea about the job and myself only being there a little over a year I was expected to know a lot of the stuff this man knew.
Pros
benefits
Cons
constant stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Certified Athletic Trainer (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 16, 2017
Working at Minot State University was a great experience for a young professional. I was able to work with great professionals that helped me grow in the long run and helped me achieve a level of confidence that I dont think I would have gotten somewhere else.
Pros
good coworkers, fun place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Univesity
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDMarch 30, 2017
I work as a 3rd party contract. Nice people to work with. Challenging student body and location with lots of competition from local business. Service mostly on campus students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place to work but not tied to my current major
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDJanuary 14, 2017
I enjoy working in the Admissions Office at Minot State University because it has given me hands-on experience to certain administrative duties, such as mailing, responding to email, interacting with students and staff, and documentation. Although the job is flexible, I would have preferred to work in a finance capacity so it could enhance my experience in my career. But, I find the management of the Enrollment Services department to be supportive, encouraging, and most importantly, creative.
Pros
More Flexibility, democratic style of leadership
Cons
No breaks, low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Msu
International Recruitment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDNovember 7, 2016
Great place to work! The team work is very important and respected at MSU!
The position requires extensive international travel and is well supported by the team overall. The management is supportive and knowledgeable of the needs of the organization..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for school hours
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minot, ND 58701November 2, 2016
great for school hours, older instruments, not enough space for productive lab work, but perfect for working while going to school.
research instructors were awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minot State University
Assistant Baseball Coach/Recruiting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDSeptember 14, 2016
I worked in both the athletic department, academic council and enrollment/recruiting offices and loved the school, the people and the community. It became my home away from home, however it was time to come back to Victoria for the next chapter of life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural job enivronment
Student Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDMay 29, 2016
During the week, working with Enrollment services is as relaxing as working with any other department. The directors, co-workers, and counselors are very welcoming and flexible, and have a friendly relationship with the student workers and ambassadors. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting visitors and handling their requests. In this job, I learn to be flexible with customers and work peers, develop confidence in public speaking and to be organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice chatting with the supervisors
Business Management Tutor (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 22, 2016
I Collaborate with students, and the power center counselors to determine
student needs, develop tutoring plans or assess student progress.
Prepare lesson plans or learning modules for tutoring sessions according to
students' needs and goals.
Pros
it provides good experiences
Cons
short work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Msu
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDDecember 8, 2015
It has a good work/life balance and I feel comfortable going to other staff members when issues arrive within the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grad assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDOctober 19, 2015
I completed various tasks and was supervised by two professors. I enjoyed the job and the atmosphere was fun and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job as a Graphic Design student
Intern, Freelance Designer (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDMarch 20, 2015
This is a small job I have while I am going to school for Graphic Design. Perfect to make some extra money and get some design experience in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conduct research as required by faculty member
o Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Minot North DakotaJuly 24, 2014
i conducted research that my faculty member required for his research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treats workers terribly
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDJune 22, 2014
treats workers almost as bad as students, plenty of room for improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 10, 2014
provide visitors with general information about the campus. very nice environment. I love my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDMarch 11, 2014
We begin the day by sorting the mail. It usually takes 30 minutes to hours to sort the mail, depends on how much mail we get. After sorting the mail, I sit at the front desk and greet visitors. I also Provide information to the visitors. Part of the job is to sell stamps.
Pros
friendly job environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Handled all aspects of the front office duties, including but not limited to, filing ,faxing, data
Executive Administrative / Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDJune 28, 2012
A typical day at work is general office day to day management tasks.

What I have learned - Teamwork, team Building Skills, Leadership and management skills

My co-workers - believes in teamwork and the mission of the organization

My hardest part of this job - I enjoy my job

My most enjoyable part of this job - teamwork
Pros
teamwork - family closeness
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MINOT STATE UNIVERSITY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

MINOT STATE UNIVERSITY Reviews by Location