Find companies:
Miraca Life Sciences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Miraca Life Sciences Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example of a company going downhill fast
Lab Support Services (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 7, 2014
Pros: all the ot you want for most jobs, but won't know from day to day how much, free coffee
Cons: lousy medical, high deductible, don't get sick.
Miraca is now the typical for profit slide mill laboratory. Productivity is the name of the game. Huge turnover in past six months with lots of long term staff leaving. Sad story compared to when the company was Caris.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere
Transcriptionist/Medical Language Specialist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 5, 2014
Pros: wonderful work group.
Cons: no breaks, micro managed. if you don't perform exactly like your supervisor, you are made to feel incompetent, i have been with the company 7 years with no advancement, they have stopped raises and bonuses. would like to do more medical transcription.
Very hard for advancement. Always changing job duties in our department to more data entry than being a professional medical transcriptionist. Co-workers are great, very professional and hard working. Company does not recognize this. Does not reward employees with raises or bonuses. Company has the funds to buy out other labs but not put into their – more... workforce by rewarding positive performance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Client Account Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 25, 2014
Pros: great team and work environment
Cons: all my skills are not being utilized on a daily basis. no growth potential
I love my job but unfortunately there is no more room for growth within my department.

I am looking to find a company and great team, where I can be a large contributor to it's growth and success.

Salary is not the most important thing to me. Enjoying what I do and knowing my performance will one day lead to promotions is crucial for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest Review
Histotech (Current Employee), TXJune 1, 2014
Pros: monthly birthday sweets, monthly town hall meetings that provide entertainment, workout room, free coffee and tea, nice building
Cons: management, 30 min lunches, serious favoritism from upper management, benefits, lack of training and variety
What to expect:

They sell you a dream. They promote growth, advancement, and variety. You get none of the above. Histotechs do nothing but cut all day. Everything is centered on productivity. There is no variety, no embedding, no special stains. You simply cut all day. Managers show favoritism. They micro manage certain individuals if when they are – more... trying to run them off. The company is currently in a cost savings mode, therefore they are cheap about everything, including benefits (the benefits were good before miraca took over. this place was formerly caris life sciences). They'll suck you dry, and kick you to the curb when they are done with you. The rules change with the wind. No consistency. Expect odd hours (3pm-11pm, 4-1230am, 2-10 pm, etc). 30 min lunch.

The main thing that I have learned from working at Miraca, is to trust no one (especially those in leadership). Words mean nothing, and action is everything. This place is centered on false promises with no action to back it up (policy, training, advancement...talk of ideas 24/7 with no execution).
Co-workers are great. We have a lot of fun. Everyone is pretty friendly with one another.
Hardest part of the job: Lack of variety. Miraca is like a tissue factory. Cut, cut, cut, or embed, embed, embed. That's it. No variety whatsoever.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the unity between the coworkers, the environment is fun.
If you are a veteran and you're looking to only do one thing, (whether it's cutting or embedding) and you are not looking to do all of the duties that a tech generally does (gross, special stains, immunos, etc) then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a place that will provide growth, mental stimulation (zero mental stimulation. no exaggeration), and variety, then Miraca is not a place for you to be. It will be frustrating in the long run. This is not an ideal place to learn and grow as a tech. (I would not recommend this place to new techs). This is my honest review. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place! DO NOT APPLY!!
Histology Technician (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 29, 2014
Pros: the only pro is they have free desserts from time to time.
Cons: short breaks, favoritism, late hours, no bonuses, poorly managed
They have no incentives! Benefits have changed(far worse), they dont want to give raises even if one goes to get their certification. They have all employees work like slaves. They push hours back so don't expect an early shift. They have favorites toward certain people and this lab (especially histology) is poorly ran. They change their rules/guidelines – more... 24/7. If you're looking for a stable career or for growth in a laboratory setting Miraca is not the place to be. They are always hiring and people are always quitting. Please do yourself a favor don't apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very open and fun relaxed environment
IT Support Analyst Level II (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 25, 2014
Miraca was a very personable company and had many employees with the same persona. Open to speak about anything. We jobs and tasks to complete and everyone was welcome to help others almost without asking.

I enjoyed working Miraca.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Lead Specimen Processing Clerk (Former Employee), Irving, TXFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch, 2 15 minute breaks, very good benefits
Cons: there were none
I really enjoyed working here because I was able to work on different projects and no day was ever the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company starting to fall after Miraca took over
Supervisor (Former Employee), Irving, TXFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: good benefits, flexible when needed
Cons: poor managment and favortism
The typical work day was very busy, but doable. I learned a lot while at Miraca, however the management is not good at all. Co-workers were like my second family. I was there for a long time, and loved the atmosphere. The Billing side is dangerous. They have polices and procedures that cause major problems, which makes the work day hard for many. The – more... managers in the roles in that department haven't a clue how to fix the issues, and don't listen to others. The hardest part of my job was getting things approved for better processes, and working with leadership, as in my opinion we were viewed as "less than", and they didn't seem to care. The most enjoyable part was the people (co-workers). We were a great team, and had each other's backs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They play favorites
Specimen Processing Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Newton, MAJanuary 28, 2014
Not a bad place to work. They do prefer the lab employees over the others (i.e., specimen processing clerks, file clerks, etc).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working at Miraca Life Sciences
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: good benefits, paid holiday time
Cons: too far, not enough pay
I enjoy working at Miraca Life Sciences & love my co-workers but in june the company move Irving which its 50 miles one way from home thats the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Sr. Business Analyst (Current Employee), Irving, TXDecember 6, 2013
Very small company with no process and procedure defined. People out more hours due to resource constraints. Work family balance is not great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is one of the best I have worked at, the staff are outstanding
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Irving, TexasNovember 21, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits
Cons: the negativity from the ceo
A typical day is fast and furious, no day is like the other. I have learned that I can work well with all personality types. I can remain positive and upbeat, even when the intensity level is at its' highest.

My co-workers were outstanding, exhibiting excellent teamwork!

Not breaking in an 8 hour day

Most enjoyable part of my job - Accomplishing – more... the requests of the SVP, VP's, RVP's, Co-workers and the sales team in the field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious Billing Issues
Billing (Former Employee), Irving, TXNovember 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor management
Management needs to get a handle on poor billing habits. Personnel do not care about the jobs they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people; wonderful company
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Irving, TXNovember 15, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed my time at Miraca LS. It is a fast-paced, ever changing environment with great professionals. I learned how sales departments operate. My co-workers were helpful and capable. The hardest part of the job was scheduling time with VP's due to their constantly changing schedules. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with field representatives – more... and meeting their needs. They were always appreciative of everything done on their behalf. Keeping them up-to-date with changes and making sure they had what they needed was rewarding! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Billing Representative (Current Employee), Irving, TXOctober 26, 2013
Miraca is a great company to work for and especially the billing department. We have flexible schedules and casual dressing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Business (Current Employee), Irving, TXAugust 29, 2013
It is a faced paced organization and priorities definitely shift constantly. It is a young organization that has grown fast which has opportunities but also frustration because the maturity is not there yet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
Pathologist Assistant II (Former Employee), Irving txAugust 28, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management . negative atmosphere unfortunately
Was really great at first....then they suck the life out of you. Serious problem in management and favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to be done
Healthcare Insurance Rep III (Current Employee), Irving, TXAugust 21, 2013
Never a dull moment always claims to be called on, accounts to be verified
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miraca
Lead Specimen Processing Clerk (Current Employee), Newton, MAAugust 20, 2013
High volume, deadline driven dermatology and GI lab. Making sure our focus is on patient care and giving our clients the best quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specimen Processing
Specimen Processing (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 12, 2013
Pros: free cakes sometimes lunches
Cons: strict on tardies to some people
Gathering UPS boxes in the morning to opening and sorting packages. Scanning incoming papers and typing the rest of the day. Co-workers were not team players. Supervisor was once a team member and was close friends with other team members and this made it difficult. Too much favortism going on this deparment and nothing was ever done about it. The part – more... I loved about my job was helping the patients. I loved being a specimen processor. – less