Find companies:
Mission Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

Mission Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with kids. That is why I love this job.
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Asheville, NCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: some of the deepest bonds are made here
Cons: the week isn't long enough!
The camp is only for one week. It runs like any other camp would run. Three meals a day, sports, rock climbing, swimming, dances, talent shows, fishing, camping. The difference in this camp is that it is specifically for children with diabetes. As the counselor I have to make sure that the campers are taking care of their blood sugar and eating the – more... right foods. In the middle of the night I would have to check their numbers while they are sleeping to monitor them. Along with the regular activities that happen at a summer camp, we also hold diabetes classes with specialists to teach the campers about the latest technologies that help them to manage their diabetes as well as dietitian classes to teach about healthy diets. I absolutely love working with kids and being a person with diabetes myself, I have a better connection with them. I was a camper myself when I was younger and have grown up with my fellow co-workers. Even the directors that put the camp together have been like family to me for years. The hardest thing to with at this camp is dealing with the kids who get home sick. There are not many of them but each one is different when the case occurs. Knowing how to handle it in the best way is very important. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a new RN in the acute care setting
Registered Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: close to home, very flexible hours to meet my educational needs
Very supportive team of Oncology nurses. Small unit of oncology department which allowed me to learn and grow into the professional workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A short lived job
Data Clerk / Office Clerk (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: friendly faces
Cons: temporary jobs
I worked in Managed Care and in Marketing and I met two sets of the finest people on earth. If I had a bad start and I start working and got the job done, I felt I had accomplished something. If coworkers saw me, they would cheer me up. I learned how to be useful to a lot of departments in a short period of time. Management was 5 stars out of 4 stars. – more... Hardest part of the job was, it came to end a lot quicker then I would liked. Most enjoyable part was to meet new faces every day and know how I can be a service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee), Asheville, NCMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: overworked
A typical day would be that you come in prepare all that you need for your shift and start servicing your customers. You smile and deliver excellent customer service.All the while you also prepare for the next shift.
I learned how to cook and grill more so Ill never be hungry
The hardest part of the job would be the fact that you are overworked in a – more... skeletal crew and more times then not you do not get any appreciation by management. There does not lack for drama among the coworkers or backbiting.
Not all is completely back, there will always be a few bad apple in the bunch but for the most part a good deal of the people there are fun to work with and they make the job bearable. The cooks are fun and some coworkers are too. You also get to met some great people that come through there. If you play your cards right, you would be able to transfer to another department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a healing ministry
Manager (Current Employee), Business Intelligence DepartmentMarch 19, 2014
provides many opportunities and educational options. promotes teamwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work great team work
NA 1 (Current Employee), Asheville, NCMarch 17, 2014
Pros: employee lunch discount, opportunity to advance in your career
Cons: n/a
The dept. I work in is wonderful, everyone is always helping each other out. Going that extra mile for each other. The management team in my dept. is really understandable as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy desk, large company
Surgical Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: nice large organization
Cons: management sort of stayed in a cliche and didn't have positive attitude
scheduling surgeries, arranging anesthesiologist's schedules, working closely with RN's and Doctors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great environment
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Asheville, NCFebruary 17, 2014
This job was a very fun loving, a very easy going place. On a day to day I would collect blood specimens from patients and send them back to the lab. I would scan in the patients information into the system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At earlier years it was one of the best hospitals in regard to being service oriented, but from 2009 on the cour values declined and become business o
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: free lunche for employee's birthday, new year luncheon and gifts
Cons: because of the nature of the job and lenthy procedures and meetings short breaks or late lunch.
Mission Hospital was one of the high rated hospitals up to 2009. After that year gradually the services declined and it become a business company rather than a health care. Some of the departments were closed or changed to departments that
bring more money to the hospital. Many experienced employee were layed off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive ,and team work
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAJanuary 20, 2014
everything is good in mission,good staff.RNS and Mds.
not much to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Patient Interaction
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Asheville, NCJanuary 17, 2014
A typical day would start at 0345 and end at 1415. We would go up on the floors and recieve the orders of what blood samples we needed to draw for the specific patient. The patients would range from critically ill, to orthopedic patients, from geriatric to pediatric. The hardest part of the job was being under-staffed. The most enjoyable part was the – more... interaction with the patients and doing my job to the best of my ability. The management was not very great... They did not understand what we went through when understaffed and then they were not reliable to talk to because if you asked them something in confidence the whole lab would know within hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at the end worked like a dog and then dumped
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Asheville, NCDecember 10, 2013
After the turnover of management twice. everyone is scared to death they will loose their job. I lost mine after 22 years of employment, no warning. just written up and fired same day on a lot of little stuff like wearing wrong color scrubs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Security Officer (Former Employee), Asheville, NCNovember 26, 2013
Different each day, good co-workers, management was decent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good hospital to work at.
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CANovember 20, 2013
Pros: nurses week! snacks & a chair massage.
Cons: on your feet a lot, working non-stop sometimes with a late break.
Working in the PACU was interesting with the different surgeries. The staff was helpful & we had ongoing computer testing to keep up with skills and education. We had a charge nurse but worked independently with our patients. It was very stressful with the severity of some of the patient's medical conditions and trauma patients. There was always the – more... possibility of a patient developing post-op complications. The enjoyable part was the satisfaction of helping people during this hard time for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RN, (Former Employee), Asheville NCOctober 29, 2013
worked in OR, good management, good co-workers. Call was worst part of job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've worked at Mission for 29 years and it's been a very good experience
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Asheville, NCOctober 29, 2013
The work has normally been manageable with a great deal of support from my bosses. I've really enjoyed my coworkers over the years and loved direct pt care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Hospital is a wonderful place.
❸ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Asheville, NCOctober 22, 2013
Pros: great employees and patients.
Cons: super heavy workload due to short staffing.
I really enjoyed my former job at Mission Hospital. The workload was very demanding, but satisfying. I worked with some of the best people at Mission, the doctors and nursing staff were for the most part friendly and approachable. Support staff, they are pretty much fabulous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Critical Care transport
Critical Care Paramedic (Former Employee), Asheville NCOctober 10, 2013
Excellent company to work for. Top of the line Critical Care and excellent staff. Strong focus on education and training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Healthcare Center Is A Great Place To Work
Medication Assistance Specialist (Former Employee), Asheville NCSeptember 19, 2013
Mission Health Systems is a regional health care center with its home campus in Asheville NC. The hospital has recently partnered with several small hospitals in WNC to better meet the healthcare needs of NC citizens that live west of the Charlotte metro area.
I worked in Outpatient Clinical Services so my interaction with inpatient staff was limited. – more... My experience is a positive one witnessing a high level of dedication and care for the system's patients as well as co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was accepting that not all people want to be fully accountable for their health. The most enjoyable was knowing the positive impact our program had on the lives of the people we assisted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work enviornment
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Asheville, NCSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: knowing the unit and the people i work with.
Cons: very far away from where i live.
I work in a very challenging Unit where talking care of 2 Pt that are 4+ hours out of OR can be very busy with all the tasks that need to be done not to mention the computer charting, not to say that it is hard but I find it more time consuming then pen to paper, though that may be because of the years that I did that type of charting verses only the – more... few that I have been doing it in the computer. On good nights, with the aides and NUS helping all things flow smoothly, on nights where is 1 or 2 sick pt and the NUS must focus on those, it can be quite challenging to take good care of my patients, which they deserve. The PAs are very supportive when their assistance is needed.
The most challenging is getting it all done without the patient seeing any frustration or lack on my part even with the busiest of assignments.
My goal today as it has always been, is to take the best care of my patients to the best of my ability. CVICU @ Mission allows me to do this. – less

1 2 3 4

About Mission Hospital

Mission Hospital