Mississippi Blood Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Donor Tech
Donor Technician II (Current Employee) –  Flowood, MSMay 23, 2017
 Screen donors prior to blood collection and/or donation
 Enter donor’s information into computer and completes the registration process
 Perform vital sign assessments (e.g. weight, pulse, temperature, height, and etc.)
 Collect blood samples for blood donation and lab testing
 Label blood sample vials with correct donor information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful work place
Phlebotomy Technologist (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MSMay 9, 2017
Mississippi Blood Services is a wonderful place to work for. The pay from the Benefits are GREAT!!! If anyone decide to work with this place will fill right at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 10, 2017
Calling donors to donate blood. I learn how important it is to donate blood. The management was good everybody worked together. The hardest thing about the job when you cant get the donors in to donate.
Pros
Meeting your goals
Cons
Not getting donors to donate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Appointment Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSMarch 9, 2017
I loved my time at Mississippi Blood Services. It's the easiest job I've had. My day consisted of contacting donors within the state to donate blood for hosipitals and patients in need.
Pros
Ease of job, management, co-workers and commute to work
Cons
Short hours(wish I could have been employeed there full time) and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family and caring environment
Manager of Hospital Services (Current Employee) –  Flowood, MSJanuary 24, 2017
MBS is a family oriented company. Friendly environment with caring coworkers. Hospital setting and schedule coincides with hospitals. Hospital Services is 24 hours 7 days a week to include holidays and weekends.
Pros
Saving lives daily
Cons
Hospital setting, advancement is slow, pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job ever
Public Relations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSJuly 12, 2016
I absolutely loved working for MBS. Everyone, and I mean every single person was wonderful. Great learning experience, great hours, and great people. I really enjoyed the non-profit aspect. Everyone just wanted to help those who were in need including myself. I would love to work that job for the rest of my days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caller to recruit blood donors
Telephone Operator recruiting blood donors (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 18, 2016
I called from a list of former donors to recruit blood donors. It was a part-time job and a bit monotonous. I didn't really get to know my fellow workers very much. We only worked three nights a week and there was no incentive to be moved up higher in the company.
Pros
Knowing that I was helping get blood for those who needed it
Cons
Not many hours, no real motivation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Past Employee (Former Employee) –  Flowood MSMay 26, 2016
Typical day - Nasty, hateful co-workers
Hardest part of the job - Dealing with the management
Labeled non-profit---The CEO and management make 6 figures

Most enjoyable - 5:00
Pros
I can't think of any
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a Great Place to work
Donor Technician III (Current Employee) –  Flowood, MSSeptember 22, 2015
Great place to work and learn the many aspects of blood products and its culture.
Meet many people and travel many areas and locations.
Cons
healthcare and sanitation area
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experince
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, mississippiJanuary 16, 2015
it was my first time giving blood , so of course I was very nervous. after I gave blood I volunteered to help the workers and just give insight and what to expect to each person who came to donate. it's something that I will do again and I will recommend it to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about Mississippi Blood Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful company to work for
Phlebotomist/Donor Technician (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MSSeptember 24, 2014
Mississippi Blood Services is a wonderful company to work for. MBS has in center employees as well as employees that travel to various blood drives day to day. You get to meet various types of people on a day to day basis and you become close to the donor's that donate on a regular basis. MBS strives for the best! MBS also has great opportunities and benefits. I have loved working with this company and have learned so much about myself as a team player and an individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy place to work
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Oxford, MSMay 19, 2014
This is a good company to work for. A typical work day can be anytime or morning or night, and consists of packing and loading for the work day. Donors are the main priority at Ms Blood Services. The hours is the hardest part of this job to adjust to. It can be enjoyable for those who like to travel.
Pros
Full time
Cons
Work hours and schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place with problems with management
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSApril 26, 2013
I worked as a Lab assistant with the Medical Laboratory Scientist in the blood bank laboratory. The job required a lot of precision and tactfulness. My coworkers worked well with one another but we unfortunately had a micromanager that had a hard time getting through to the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 17, 2012
The day started with inventory reconcilliation. and finishing any work left by the previous shift.
I learned how to identify rare blood antibodies.
Mangement was very effective while being understanding.
My co-workers were well-trained and easy to work with.
Screening multiple blood units for multiple antigens was the hardest part of the job.
We had very enjoyable Christmas parties.
Pros
bonuses were great.
Cons
being on-call wasn't easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mississippi Blood Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Mississippi Blood Services Reviews by Location