Mississippi State University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 111 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting educational environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSFebruary 22, 2013
MSU is a fun, enjoyable work-place and learning institution for both students and faculty. I thoroughly enjoyed interacting with undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty during my time as an graduate teaching assistant at MSU. The close-knit community of advisers,students,and faculty made the learning and work environment a pleasure to visit every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State university with over 21,000 students.
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSSeptember 16, 2012
Great engineering school. Worked as a student assistant. Management was very flexible with student schedules, especially when it came to exams and holidays. Not the most challenging job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very good experience
Camp counselor (Former Employee) –  mississippi state, msDecember 17, 2013
It was fun and I learned a great deal. I got to be around children and help them with stuff dealing with wildlife and outdoor sports like fly fishing. It helped me as well. We were outside for the most part. My co-workers were great. I enjoyed the activities. It was just a bit of a struggle getting up so early after having a long previous day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and learning experience
Student Worker- Stacks (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSMay 16, 2012
A typical day at the library was fun. I interacted with people on a daily basis. I worked for the stack department. So everyday, I shelved books and kept them straight throughout the library. It was not a hard job at all. My coworkers and I worked well together and helped each other. My supervisor was helpful and well educated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry Clerk
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Starkville MsNovember 5, 2012
I worked with faculty and staff at Mississippi State universtiy. I organized files, and directed multiple phone lines. This job was a work-study job; therefore I worked there until my budget ended. I loved working at this job because it was convient for me to leave class and go to work; as well as I was able to meet alot of professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a good career in research.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MississippiFebruary 21, 2013
I learned how to conduct research in various aspects involving Biology and other related fields.

Managed a lab and anaerobic chambers, autoclaves, and various incubators.

Created Excel spreadsheets and various papers regarding the research that was conducted by me or my supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and engaging environment
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSDecember 3, 2014
Working with the students was a real pleasure. The students will always be the most engaging part of a faculty position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Grew Up There
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT - R & E CENTER (Former Employee) –  Raymond, MSOctober 10, 2014
I was young and just leaving college when I began working there. It helped me tremendously as a guideline to what a great working environment should be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming Atmosphere
AmeriCorps VISTA (Current Employee) –  Starkville, MSSeptember 25, 2014
Working at MSU as an AmeriCorps VISTA has been a great experience. I feel I have grown both personally and professionally.

Everyone has been extremely welcoming and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSAugust 27, 2012
-4 hour work shift
-learned how to gather data to benefit others
-the hardest part of the job was handling difficult callers
-the most enjoyble part of the job was seeing how the data that was collected helped people
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
short work shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great resume builder as a student
Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSApril 19, 2012
I worked about 4 hours per day as a student for the campus landscape architect. Working here really helped me apply my skills learned as a student and was viewed favorably by potential employers.
Pros
great work experience
Cons
hourly pary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Instructor/Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSDecember 6, 2012
Taught three sections of a class while pursuing master's degree. Support, education, and resources were adequate and appropriate for success on all levels.
Pros
education, teaching, interacting with faculty and students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging and Rewarding Workplace
Director of Annual Giving (Current Employee) –  Starkville, MSApril 17, 2012
Mississippi State University allows employees to grow and learn. While the work is challanging, there is always reward for a job well done.
Pros
positive work environment, encouraging supervisors, flexiable hours, rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and diverse environment
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSOctober 1, 2012
The employees here came from different culture background. People can learn from each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to attend college
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSOctober 9, 2013
the position I held here shaped and molded me into a young professional.

job was demanding yet well worth the overtime put in

I learned how to manage and work with athletic administrators, coaches, and athletes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, serious and professional environment
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSOctober 11, 2012
I had the privilege to work with some incredibly bright thinkers and academics. They challenged my thinking daily and made me a stronger writer and teacher.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college experience
Information Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSJune 6, 2012
While working for the University, I met many great colleagues and was able to balance out my work and school life. I will really miss this position.
Pros
flexible shifts, friendly supervisors, great work environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Administrative Assistant, Kinesiology Department (Former Employee) –  Mississippi State, MSAugust 4, 2014
I love this job, it was a great learning experience. everyone was willing to teach. I loved helping students plan their future.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful learning environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Starkville, MSJune 12, 2014
One of the best place i ever studied. lot of scope to meet several people from various disciples. I have learn a lot during my doctoral program.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day
America Reads-MS, Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSJuly 16, 2014
Had a productive day at work; got all goals accomplished. MSU is a very productive place to work for.
Pros
take free classes up to 6 hrs
Cons
not been able to complete degree
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Mississippi State University Reviews by Location