Mississippi University for Women Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is productive and hospitable
Summer Conference Advisor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, MSJune 20, 2016
The typical day of work at MUW will consist of preparing residents for move in day or touring students who are preparing to attend MUW.
I learned that being nice can go a long way here at MUW.
The management is very organized and nice.
THrough training, my co-workers and I gain a bond to where we can work well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, MSMay 24, 2016
Great job for a college student that is trying to keep up with their work and work to support theirselves. They are willing to work with you to make sure you get hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience for student workers
Student Worker, EDHS (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJanuary 18, 2016
My experiences as a student worker at MUW were amazing. I highly recommend it to any students who are looking to supplement their income with some low-hours part-time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day is a new and exciting day!
Residence Director (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJuly 23, 2015
I enjoyed working the the unique/diverse group of students, which they made everyday fun and exciting in general. Never a dull moment.
Pros
Meal plan, flexible work hours
Cons
Miscommunication from from students to parents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The enviroment was nice.
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJuly 7, 2015
Overall the environment was nice. Because I was just one of many student workers there were times where I was not trained in some things until I was asked to do something. Most of the work was easy and at times is was mostly a slow work pace.

Part of the student work force means that you never know if the job will be open the next semester or the next school year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mississippi University for Women is an awesome place to work at!
Curriculum Writer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJune 23, 2015
I have worked various positions at Mississippi University for Women. I was always under great leadership and enjoyed my work!
Pros
Great Leadership!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with this company
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSSeptember 5, 2014
Worked in the computer lab and enjoyed every minute helping faculty and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
General Manager, WMUW-FM (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSMarch 27, 2014
Each day was very structured. Enjoyed working with professional staff and students. Learned a great deal about multitasking and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED this JOB and UNIVERSITY!
Community Advisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSNovember 20, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at the W, and I plan to go back to achieve my Master's Degree in Nursing! It always feel like HOME!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for students to work. Great learning experience.
Student Worker/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJanuary 15, 2013
My favorite place to work to date! I miss my coworkers and bosses as well as the facilities. Cleaning and organizational skills are essential. Great flexibility of schedule and opportunities to work special events. A great learning experience!
Pros
free meals, meeting new people, improving culinary skills, opportunities for advancement
Cons
student only positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Microbiology Research Center
Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSDecember 25, 2012
The preparation this lab gives you in the field of Microbiology is great. You will learn many important research techniques and visiting research seminars is a highlight of this position. The hours are flexible, and you only have to work about 5 hours per week. Co-workers are helpful and although the lab is shared, there's plenty of space for everyone.
Pros
will expand your knowledge of math and science
Cons
detail-intensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Teacher Internship (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJuly 9, 2012
Great university where you can build meaningful relationships with everyone. Very laid back and welcoming environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job to be associated with the teachers in the department and the students.
student office worker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, msFebruary 4, 2012
Work study didn't offer any real security. It's for students that want to work their way through school and earn money for essentials.
Pros
short hours
Cons
work was according to funding
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Mississippi University for Women Reviews by Location