Missouri Department of Conservation Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning opportunity
Project Supervisor (Former Employee) –  JeffeFebruary 17, 2016
Was able to acquire valuable skills that I use daily on projects. Hands on experience with wastewater and treatment. Worked with City Engineer and contract engineering firm out of ST. Louis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as intern
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJanuary 5, 2016
Those in operations (fisheries, wildlife, forestry, etc.) are very passionate about their jobs. In HR, it's typical 8 to 5 work in an office, but there were a few field visits to facilities which is always a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MDC Job Review
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kirksville, MOJuly 8, 2013
A typical work day for me at MDC, I would prepare all out going mail, distribute all incoming mail, set up daily cash register, answer incoming calls, help visitors in the visitors center, assist with typing reports, and restocking gift shop items and brochures. As an employee of the MDC i was able to take a workshop class about talking to the public on the phone in a professional way. The people i worked with were wonderful from co-workers to management. The hardest part of my job was people who were upset about things that were out of my control like permit prices or regulations and helping them understand why a change was better for them rather than just MDC. the Most enjoyable part of my job was the kids who would come into the visitor center, they had so many questions about nature it was nice to be able to give back in a positive way to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A constant learning environment
resource assistant (Current Employee) –  Missouri Department of Conservation, GreenRidge MOMarch 4, 2013
Improving habitat for fur, fish, and game for the State of Missouri. Also, maintaining native prairie landscapes, along with prairie reconstruction and old field management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political agenda management!!! The state's natural resources takes second to the politics.
Protection District Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOApril 5, 2012
Learned a lot. Professional atmosphere. Political climate is very "heavy". High stress in managerial/supervisory positions.
Pros
professional atmosphere
Cons
too much political interference, with department's constitutional responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
Aquatic Intern (Former Employee) –  Cape Girardeau, MissouriMay 12, 2015
Everyone here created a family oriented work place. This was only an internship for me, but I made life long connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer entry level position.
Resource Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blind Pony Fish HatcheryJanuary 9, 2014
Good entry level position. Work outdoors 4 to five hours a day. Learned basic hatchery operations.
Pros
Good entry level experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and really fun to work with
Condition Assessment (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJanuary 22, 2014
This was really great experience and thought lots of things
Recommended to all of you
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work day
Area Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Dexter, MONovember 2, 2012
Loved the work & got along with everyone I worked with, still friends with most of them. Pretty easy work, like being outside
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun
Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 25, 2014
I had the opportunity to do a lot of fun things most people don't to do in their life
Pros
working outside on beautiful lakes
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Fisheries Genetic Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOMay 31, 2013
learned laboratory skills
had fun working in the field
great boss
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Part-Time Hourly (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, MOMarch 20, 2013
Learned so much about plant and animal species.
Great place to work.
Everyone treates you with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Missouri Department of Conservation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Missouri Department of Conservation Reviews by Location