Missouri Department of Mental Health Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Kansas CityOctober 20, 2015
Great holidays!

Nice place to work!

Management treats you like equals.

The hardest part of the job is deciding which jeans to wear.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the many holidays!
Pros
Holiday
Cons
Office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With high job security and overall friendly work environment
Research Analyst III (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJuly 6, 2015
No work overtime. Intelligent executives. High job security and overall friendly work environment. Some job assignments are very challenging to previous knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about documentation and administering policy.
Training Technician II (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 28, 2015
Learned a lot about Family Medical Leave and had several opportunities to answer inquiries for various allegations. This was a wonderful learning ground of fundamentals.
Pros
Wonderful support for consumers.
Cons
No raises. Little positive reinforcement for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful at times, but rewarding.
License Practical Nurse II (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis, MissouriAugust 29, 2015
Some days can be stressful, but everyday is rewarding. Knowing that you were able to help someone is a blessing. Everyday I am able to appreciate the quality of life and having a sound mind. I am able to be push to degrees I never thought was capable since I have been blessed with this job. I appreciate the knowledge I have gained. I realize I work with exceptional direct care staff. The love and care they exhibit to those who are in most need.
Pros
Unit Manager willingness to work with staff.
Cons
Difficult to get promoted or move to other department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career, not a good place to end it.
Account Clerk II, Accounts Payable (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 26, 2012
A typical day for me begins with opening and sorting the mail, dealing with vendors on the telephone, verifying documentation for items and services that were purchased, entering payment information, mailing checks, filing, and reconciling payment disputes. I also do fixed asset control. I have to visit the various sites and verify that they still have the fixed assets on hand. I also enter purchasing and disposal information into our accounting program.
Pros
three weeks vacation starting first year. good health benefits.
Cons
low salary, no raises in five years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Forensic Rehabilitation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MOMay 18, 2015
I would work approximately 12 hours a day even though my shift was 8 hours. Staffing was always a need at the Hospital because it was a low paying job that at times were dangerous. I would assist in the treatment of patients who were deemed by the courts as Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity. I learned how to deal with individuals that had extreme mental health issues and become sensitive to their needs. I was able to take basic medical information from patients as well as using medical instruments to take blood pressure, temperature, and blood sugar of patients. I was also on the Staff Support squad that would immediately respond to emergency anywhere in the hospital.
Pros
Good hours and good people to work with
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. You will never get bored working there
Forensic Rehab Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fulton, MOOctober 31, 2014
Good state agency to work for. The clients at the forensic hospital are awesome.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, client centered
Service Coordinator III (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 3, 2012
focuses on case management and case plans. typically good people who care about their clients welfare. sometimes discouraging when you know a client would benefit from services but they aren't available.
Pros
client centered
Cons
not enough resources available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forensic psyhciatric patients are challenging
LPN II (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MOSeptember 11, 2012
LPN duties centered on medication administration for 2-6 wards of patients which could be up to 120 patients.

This is a large organization operated by the state, emphasis on policies and procedures.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Research Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOFebruary 3, 2014
Main responsibilities - data management, analysis, reporting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Vandiver Driver, Suite100 (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MissouriApril 25, 2014
I enjoyed working mostly out in the field rather than in the office. Working with a variety of families and individuals with developmental disabilities was the best part of my daily job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Support
Direct Support (Former Employee) –  GrandviewJune 11, 2012
Daily communcation with client and there familys
Daily progress notes
Activies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
LPN III (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MissouriMay 16, 2012
Enjoyed working with the state very much. Staff worked very well together. We moviated each other and became like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work product is put out in a short amount of time
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOAugust 19, 2013
very demanding job. The work we do will make other safe. Peers are great to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

Missouri Department of Mental Health Reviews by Location