Missouri University of Science and Technology Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible morale
Industrial Hygienist (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MONovember 16, 2017
No pay raises and really do treat you like dirt. They are very dishonest about what is actually happening with the university and money and how they plan to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Program
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOOctober 21, 2017
The program I participated in allowed for learning new skills and about new technologies while encouraging personal growth and the development of new skills. I would recommend this program to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOOctober 5, 2017
the working environment is conducive. I work with awesome people and i have always been treated well. there is no discrimination of any type, either racial or any other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and rewarding
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOSeptember 26, 2017
It had a relaxed atmosphere but the work was rewarding.
The supervisors are relaxed but guide you in the right way and are always ready to help in case you get stuck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working on the projects and had a great group of people that surrounded me and helped me to develop every day.
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOAugust 30, 2017
Enjoyed working on the projects and had a great group of people that surrounded me and helped me to develop every day. However, it was only a summer job because once school started I had to go and work at a different place because I had it planned out in early April. However, if I wasn't a man of my word, I could of stayed and worked in the library as student assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn something new
Teaching Assistant for Java GUI (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOAugust 7, 2017
The hardest part of the job was to learn how a student understands the concepts and be able to correct him from his perspective. Unless we step into the student's shoes to understand the problem it is impossible to make them understand.
Pros
Flexible timings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOJuly 24, 2017
I worked closely with the VCC and Dr. Canis to run a virtual classroom and help with instruction to the best of my ability. Fun and easy work, good for a little extra cash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and productive experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOJuly 6, 2017
I worked as a teaching assistant for one year, where research enhanced approach was used to teach a group of undergraduates. This job helped me to enhance my subject knowledge, time management and teaching skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Missouri S&T!
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOJune 22, 2017
Great workplace! I loved working as a Graduate Research Assistant as well as a Graduate Teaching Assistant. Great working environment and amazing people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research takes up your life
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOJune 3, 2017
Research as a whole takes a lot of time, especially as an undergraduate assistant. The work/life balance is difficult. However, if you do hope to work in this field the experience is helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super flexible student job
Campus Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOMay 28, 2017
the hardest part of this job is the continuous training, but it all pays off because you have all this training that other companies/jobs wish their employees had. the most enjoyable part of this job is working with Rolla Police Officers and other students on campus.
Pros
super flexible for students
Cons
shifts may not always be when you want them to be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Management Environment
Testing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOMay 24, 2017
Toxic Managers and suck ups get rewarded good workers get punished.Managment two faced say one thing to you and another to coworkers and does the total opposite
Pros
Job was easy
Cons
Managment horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, relaxed environment
Assistant Equipment Manager (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOApril 25, 2017
I worked there as a work-study student. The manager was a great guy and we got along well. I was in charge of doing the laundry for the sports teams. I was able to do some homework when there was no laundry to do.
Pros
Was able to do homework
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOApril 20, 2017
All the co-workers are friendly and create a nice environment to work and the Managers are so helpful.
The resources here are also good and help you to focus on your work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here as a graduate assistant
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOFebruary 18, 2017
I worked as a graduate research/teaching assistant. The management is great. Grading gets stressful but overall gives great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This school provided great opportunities for part time work.
Teachers Assistant and Grader (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOFebruary 17, 2017
The university is great at making work opportunities available or students. I am able to work on relevant projects and make some money to support my student lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performing research in cyber physical systems
Software Engineer & Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOFebruary 10, 2017
- Developed peer to peer protocol.
- Integrated power simulation software with distributed grid intelligence.
- Code base is in C++ and involves socket programing, peer to peer communication, updating power and load values from all the connected devices.
- DGI Freedm provides interface with real power devices as well as power simulation softwares.
- Learning about cyber security for cyber physical systems and internet of things.
- Developed python scripts to analyse web data and perform analysis of data.
- Implemented euclidean, cosine and Jacard distance matrices.
- Implemented classification algorithms such as K means cluster.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not impressed at all, good pay with degree but racist staff
Senior Student Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 30, 2016
good pay with a degree
some room for advancement
management is horrible
racist staff
Working at the company was not as hyped as people say.
Cons
management, racism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor for chemical engineering courses.
Course Peer Learning Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MONovember 7, 2016
Taught core concepts to students in the chemical engineering major while helping to develop their problem solving skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn Controls and Automation
Student (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MOSeptember 28, 2016
I enrolled for the following courses over the course of my Graduate program - Advanced PLC, Optimal Control and Estimation, Linear Control Systems, Machine Vision and Digital Image Processing. Furthermore, I obtained a PLC short term course certification from Dr.Erickson (Missouri University of Science and Technology) and an Advanced Diploma in Industrial Automation from First Logic Automation, India. Thus, over the course of my professional and
academic career, I have amassed a good amount of comfortability with Ladder Logic, Functional Block Diagrams, Structured Text, Device Net, Control Net, Ethernet, Profibus, HMI and SCADA
systems. I believe that the automation industry is where my interest lies in and this is where I want to be in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Missouri University of Science and Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 78 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Missouri University of Science and Technology Reviews by Location