Find companies:
Mitchell's Fish Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Mitchell's Fish Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well oiled machine with lots of learning
Server (Former Employee), Brookfield, WINovember 11, 2014
Pros: healthcare and up selling challenges
Cons: lack of team atmosphere and flexibility
A typical shift is coming in well groomed and go directly to table section and prep for the shift. Knowing all specials going on and start side work. Throughout shift serve tables as well as continue side work with team members. At end of shift make sure section is clean as well as accomplished all side work with team members. I learned the intense – more... training of working for a corporate restaurant from all aspects of BOH and FOH. The management was a well oiled machine. most of the co-workers were easy to work with, but it was hard to get them to warm up. The hardest part of the job was getting to know my co-workers and over staffing. The best part was helping all the guests with decision and being so knowledgeable of all the food and drinks! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual upscale dining
Professional Wait staff (Former Employee), Birmingham, MIOctober 28, 2014
Pros: cross train in every position
Cons: long training program
Steady business, nicely priced menu. The training program is more than two weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Busser/Waiter (Former Employee), East Lansing, MIMay 16, 2014
Enjoyable work environment, but budget cuts made at every turn and food quality suffered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, MIApril 27, 2014
Pros: shorter days and more focus on work life balance
Cons: only a few locations
Specific Division Pei Wei Asian Diner, quick causal service
Daily Operations of the Restaurant including supervision of up to 25 people per shift
Ordering, Receiving, & Inventory of product & equipment
Schedules, Evaluations, & Training of Culinary Department
Employee Relations including Open Door Policy
Guest Relations pertaining to dining experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooking
Line cook (Former Employee), Woodmere, OHMarch 31, 2014
Team work
Mulittasking
Fast pace enivironment
Learning new technigues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun fast-paced restaurant
Professional Wait Staff (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 25, 2014
A fine dining establishment that caters to high profile clientele is conveniently located in an upscale community. Whose reputation has been built upon fresh ingredients and superb service. I learned to be patient and developed a very good use of my people skills. Meeting new people everyday was the most enjoyable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume, high energy concept with evolving values
EXECUTIVE CHEF (Current Employee), Newport, KYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great cultrure, high standards
Cons: lack brand direction, poor compesation
My nearly four years with Mitchells has given me many new tools and areas of understanding about the hospitality industry. I was quickly promoted from Sous Chef to Executive Chef due to my level of engagement and lead by example style of management. I have received the 2011 Chef of the Year award. I have operated for most of my time at Mitchells in – more... a store that remains in the top five in the company in sales, ROI, and ROI percentage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of great people
Server Assistant and Server (Current Employee), East Lansing, MIMay 8, 2013
It's the restaurant industry so you will always run into the tables that drive you nuts, but your coworkers and management more than make up for that. Fun, great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people delivering genuine hospitality
SOUS CHEF (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 24, 2012
Part of the Cameron Mitchell Restaurants at the time I worked for them now part of the Ruth's Hospitality Group, Inc., had the best culture I've ever seen to date from a company, their main motto was; "The answer is YES, what is the Question," extraordinary in my opinion.
They considered people coming into the restaurant as "guests" not "customer", – more... very wise in my eye. They truly made everyone feel important, like it should be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Administrative Assistant, Lead Hostess (Former Employee), Woodmere, OHJuly 11, 2012
This company has an amazing culture. I live the managers and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none friendly
prep cook (Former Employee), Newport, KYJune 25, 2012
Cons: no breaks ave healthcars no reviews
hard place to work if you care alot of turn over in manger. always some one new , lot of change for time to time some one new comes in new ways of doing all of your stuff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good restaurant
(GU)Dishwasher (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHApril 30, 2012
Pros: a good resturant
Cons: smell like sea food
a great pace for a restaurant
teamwork
good management
smelling like fish
good business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run, fun work environment
Server's Assistant (Former Employee), Sandestin, FLApril 13, 2012
Pros: flexibility
Cons: benefits
Team work is emphasized and the cohesiveness of the restaurant shows in the service and quality
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Server (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 2, 2012
As an opening team member, I experienced the up’s and downs of opening a new restaurant
•Obtained a vast knowledge of food and wine pairings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work that has allowed a very flexible schedule.
Server & Supervisor (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJanuary 4, 2012
Pros: flexible, good work atmosphere, fun place to work.
Cons: inconsistency
Mitchell's Fish Market has been a great place to work while I was attending school. Very flexible and an overall fun place to work. The people I have worked with has also contributed to the good feeling of this company.

About Mitchell's Fish Market

Founded in 1998, Mitchell's Fish Market has 18 locations - including two Columbus Fish Markets - throughout Florida, Illinois, – Read more