Find companies:
MModal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

MModal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic expectations
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee), TennesseeJuly 25, 2014
Pros: computer and equipment supplied, competent tech support 24/7, 401k
Cons: schedule changes, bullying by supervisors, not paid for waiting for work, low pay for long reports, no pto for part-time
Supervisor will change your "set" work hours at any time and expect you to comply with the new schedule or else get put on corrective action and fired. Will expect you to quit your other jobs if they interfere with your new forced work schedule, so if you work multiple part-time jobs and can't rearrange your schedule to meet the demands of your supervisor – more... you will be in a dilemma. A bad supervisor makes work life miserable. With a good supervisor, this job is pleasant. The pay is not bad in pathology ($2 per report) unless you get an hour or more long autopsy. Then you will only make $2 per hour or less, even less in radiology ($1.25 per report) where reports can be long and complicated. Many times forced to work on a weekend and wait around for work, unpaid, until a job or two comes through. How can this be legal? No way to communicate with other employees. No PTO for part-time employees. HIM compensation is very low.

For pathology and radiology computers and equipment are supplied by the company. Tech support is always available and is competent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have for experience.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, TNApril 30, 2014
Pros: worked from home.
Cons: sometimes work would be slow getting to me, sitting with nothing to type.
Set your own schedule. Plenty of work to be typed. Help when you needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), At homeMarch 5, 2014
A typical day would be transcribing dictated medical reports and editing reports. I learned a lot of short cuts in editing and also transcribing. The management was extremely understanding concerning unavoidable family situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impersonal. "Productivity outweighs accuracy and quality of patient records" as relates to long-term employment with MModal.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, TNFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: not applicable
Cons: machine oriented
Corporate "News Letters" were primarily aimed at informing employees regarding the rise in the rank of MModal in Medical Technology as pertains to "corporate status" in lieu of world wide employment opportunities they provided to oversea countries, (ie. India/Pakistan) and technology gains as far as the "Fluency/MModal transcription platform and ASR/Automated – more... Speech Recognition Training Platform to which they based productivity/performance management evaluations and provided "Tips and Tricks" Reminders for increasing productivity, yet could not be applied/implemented within the transcription platform which I was assigned. With regard to "quality assurance" - MTs are subjected to random QA audits which is crucial in physician/patient care and after demonstrating 99.55 and 99.85% QA audits at Tier Level 3 ... productivity/TAT is the ultimate factor as to employment longevity with MModal.

Strongly urging employees to participate in Employee Surveys as relates to employee satisfaction, "MT Rewards Plan" to which again I could not personally relate to and ultimately be considered for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding job requiring full concentration and accurancy
Medical transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, PANovember 11, 2013
Pros: working from home
Cons: no variety
I learned to focus my attention on the job at hand, stay productive and accurate, and take small breaks to maintain that focus. Best part of the job is being able to work from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and challenging job every day.
Medical Transcriptionist/Editor (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLNovember 10, 2013
Pros: work at home!
Cons: not enough income to support me/kids financially.
Quite simply, I love my job. I would enjoy performing my job every day for the rest of my life. The easiest part of the job is that I can do it in the comfort of my home. The hardest part is transcribing/editing difficult dictators. I have learned much with my job in terms of the medical field such as when it is appropriate to go to an emergency room – more... or to see the doctor, and when it is not really necessary. I have saved much money and traveling having had 4 kids. However, as much as I love my job and would never want to leave it, I find it necessary financially to look down other avenues of income because of the cost of living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard at times to do work
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, TNNovember 5, 2013
Pros: you could work the hours that you wanted to.
Cons: no benefits
The hardest part of the job was understanding the doctors that you did not know how to do or the doctors you could not understand because they were from another country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Logistics and Facilities Manager (Former Employee), Franklin, TNSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: high energy growth
Cons: did not appreciate the history of those that had been around for years.
This company was a combination of multiple company that was in the process of changing the product line and holding down expenses. Unfortunately I was caught up in the cost containment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed learning to be a very good and productive transcriptionist, medical language specialist and medical text editor.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, TNSeptember 18, 2013
This was a most enjoyable job where I was able to use my skills and receive further training on several different platforms. I loved that I could set my own hours and had a flexible schedule. I loved that I could manage my own office environment. I enjoyed having my co-workers live in all different states in the country. One of the cons is that I had – more... no co-workers in the same office if I had questions. I loved developing and maintaining my own personal Shorthand 10.0 dictionary so I could improve my production on a daily basis. A con for me is that several medical transcriptionists were leaving MModal due to lack of work only to find that MModal was, and is, employing people who live in India. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was great to work for until they laid off all part-time employees without any notice.
Tier 2 Medical Transcriptionist/Editor (Former Employee), Franklin, TNSeptember 10, 2013
I loved working for them. I was dedicated. Produced quality work. I was proud of what I did. Unfortunately, without warning, I got a phone call one morning telling me they no longer needed my service. I dedicated 14 years to this company and got nothing. It didn't matter how long you worked there, your quality, your dedication - they let every part – more... time person go across the country with no option to go full time. Unfortunately, I was just a number to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average treatment of employees in a competitive field
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Franklin, TNAugust 16, 2013
Pros: ability to work at home
Cons: none that i can think of. low pay, perhaps, but that's a function of the industry.
I was somewhat surprised to be laid off in a telephone call after 19 years of working for this company, but I was given to understand that my job category (flexible part-time) was being eliminated. I also understand that a significant portion of the work that had previously been done in the U.S. was being outsourced to India.

Prior to my abrupt dismissal, – more... I felt I was very well treated by the company. My skills and productivity were appreciated. Although I had to request performance reviews rather than their being conducted automatically, I was always rewarded with an increase in compensation.

I can't comment on co-workers -- or even superiors -- since I worked at home and interacted only rarely with other employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work. No appreciation. Corporate greed.
Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Home based.August 14, 2013
Pros: work from home.
Cons: low pay, work all holidays, no appreciation.
Worked here for nine years. I had to work all holidays. A lot of time spent sitting waiting for work and not getting paid for it. But when there was a lot of work they expected you to work whenever they would call for extra help. No appreciation. Greedy corporation. Sending most of its work to India now. After being dedicated employee they unexpectedly – more... called me one day and said you are no longer needed as of today. Would not recommend working for MModal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only perk is working from home
Medical Transcriptionist/Editor (Current Employee), ChicagoMarch 2, 2013
Pros: work from home.
Cons: no raises, pay cuts, no appreciation, no understanding by the company of what we do.
Had worked for 20 years as a top-notch transcriptionist, supporting myself well, when my hospital made the unfortunate choice to outsource of department to MedQuist/MModal. Pay immediately was cut in half. Still foolishly kept hoping for raises, but there were none, and then, eventually, pay cuts. They switched their system to speech-recognition, further – more... lowering pay, with the idea that since we don't have to "type," we should be paid even less. Unfortunately, speech-recognition is a disaster, we end up fixing every single word, and it takes 3 times as long to do a report. Our constructive criticism is not welcome. Supervisors know nothing about medical transcription. The company itself knows nothing about medical transcription. Good transcriptionists leave, new ones get hired, but they have no way of learning, since there is no support system. The documents produced by the new transcriptionists are often filled with errors, thus jeopardizing patient care. No benefits. Hires managers who often enjoy scolding us. Very disrespectful of our expertise and knowledge as medical transcriptionists. I have lost my home. I have tried to get other jobs, but with the economy, was only able to get a part-time one. So, for all my years in this career, I have nothing to show for it, thanks to MedQuist/MModal. Oh - and now there are no jobs available, so my paycheck is getting even smaller. They are undoubtedly losing clients, which is no surprise, since doctors are not happy with the quality of the work. We all saw this coming. – less

April 1, 2013

I must agree 100% with the review! They made the rules so that no raises were given and you you were not eligible for medical insurance..Instead, my salary continued to decline drastically. They said that because of speech recognition, we didn't have to work as hard, but yet we had to do what is known as repopulate the demographics, WHICH took time to do. And yes! QA, QA coach, and management were critical to a fault! They were rude and talked to you as if you had a tail! Totally disrespectful of you AND your knowledge of the field. They want speed AND accuracy (99%). Make up your mind. Sometimes you have to decide which is more important! If you faulted on either one... You are chastised severely and given the ax, eventually! I worked my shift and then some when asked...and for what? Because in the end, after 10 years of working for MedQuist/Mmodal, I was terminated.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with excellent benefits and pay
Medical language specialist/VR editor (Former Employee), At homeMarch 1, 2013
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: very little flexibility with schedules and a lack of personal attention
Mmodal is a growing company, having "bought out" many smaller transcription companies in the past few years. My one complaint was the lack of personal attention when I had questions. It was hard to know who your immediate supervisor was, everyone seemed to think it was someone else. Overall, they are a good company with great benefits. I had some family – more... issues that were the main reason for my leaving the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient working from home but has its cons also.
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Franklin, TNFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: work from home, save money on gas, clothes. perfect for someone with kids.
Cons: pay is decreasing too much for what we feel is basically the same work.
I have worked here for 14 years. I have greatly enjoyed my job as a medical transcriptionist. The field unfortunately seems that it will be going away, or will just become an editing position, which is fine, but the salary is much lower. The company has good benefits for FT workers, health, dental, 401K. At this point I just feel there is no opportunity – more... for advancement and paychecks just keep getting smaller for the same work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work at home, not much room to grow
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Franklin, TNFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: no commute
Cons: no room to grow
Learning on the job every day as medicine evolves. Good communication from QA when mistakes are made. The hardest part is not having co-workers to back me up when I am stuck. I enjoy the investigative aspect of filling in blanks when a physician has a difficult accent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE COMPANY
Transcriptionist (Current Employee), HomeNovember 26, 2012
Pros: none that i can think of.
Cons: everything!
Greedy executives run this company and you will be treated like kaka if you work for them. They prize their Indian workers overseas and treat us U.S. workers like kaka. Companies like this one are the undoing of America. Constant threats of termination are in every email communication and morale is VERY LOW at this company, with workers trying to form – more... a union now because of extremely low pay and unfair labor practices. DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY unless you want to have a nervous breakdown. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote
Medical Transcriptionist/Medical Editor (remote) (Current Employee), Franklin, TNSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: working at home
Cons: pay
I have learned a lot working for MModal.

There have been many pay changes in the way we get paid - production/line/hour/time spent on dictation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TREATED BADLY
MT (Current Employee), Home-basedAugust 22, 2012
Cons: you name it.
Do not work for this company. They outsource to India, and treat the workers there wonderfully, while treating us like dirt. Every company email is embedded with the phrase "subject to termination" in it, wonderful for morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at my own pace
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Franklin, TNAugust 21, 2012
Pros: workign from home
Cons: never meeting my supervisor - (she lives in new jersey
Management is not readily available. It is definitively convenient working from home. I liked it because I was a young mother (at the time I started typing) and I didn't have to worry about a babysitter.

I talk to some of my co-workers but the majority of them live out of state - it is nice to talk to people and find out different things about different – more... states.

I think the hardest part of this job is not meeting everybody that I work with.

A typical day at this job is basically sitting in front of my computer typing Radiology reports. – less